Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR44 and C41 clients now have a launch date


  • Please log in to reply
107 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,307 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 08:26 PM

But if he can work through Signal Installs and a local installer, new customer deals should apply. They do when you go directly through SS.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,716 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 27 January 2013 - 08:26 PM

They haven't even done a "First Look"on the C41 yet and both it and the HR44 are going to be available to the public in only 11 days?

Certainly not complaining mind you, but sorta hard to believe. :)

#28 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:05 PM

I think it'll be very hard to get D* to reimburse you for an HR44 that you buy from somewhere else.


Yeah thats not what I was asking, or not what I meant to ask. I think I'm just confused. Nevermind my question, I'll just stick with my install and see what I get...lol...unless I can find a local friend who is an installer and can help me find out when they'll have some in their possession.

#29 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:06 PM

But if he can work through Signal Installs and a local installer, new customer deals should apply. They do when you go directly through SS.


But how does one do this? I don't know any local installers? Would SS have a list of them in my area they work with etc?

#30 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,307 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:29 PM

I've heard of them doing it in the past. You might want to talk to them and see if they still do that.

http://signalinstalls.com/

#31 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:34 PM

Just watching this video, near the end where they compare the menu surfing, it looks a lot faster...



#32 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 870 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:41 PM

My HR34 is not that slow. I can just about page as fast as the HR44. I'd take another HR34 anytime they want to give me one to replace my 2 HR21s.

#33 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,307 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:43 PM

For me, I find that I rarely use the guide myself. Of course I also have a much smaller guide than what they are showing. Less than 10 button presses and I've gone through all the channels. I likely could pare it down further. It takes about a second to page down a page if I don't actually want to read anything.

#34 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 595 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:51 PM

Wasn't the HR34 let out Feb. 9th last year??
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#35 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,887 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:51 PM

Dang Scott. I saw the word May first and immediately thought this coming May. :P


Ah, so the launch date is May First, then!


:eek2::nono:
This is how rumors get started. I've bookmarked the page at Solid Signal, and will also be watching for e-mails from them.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#36 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,159 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 28 January 2013 - 10:01 AM

How much do you think it will cost? Do you think Solid Signal is the best route to go about getting one?

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#37 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,887 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:04 AM

I am guessing $400, and yes, Solid Signal is the place to go as far as I know.

I would love such a unit! But overall I am happy with the gear that I have.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#38 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,918 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:51 AM

I am guessing $400, and yes, Solid Signal is the place to go as far as I know.

I would love such a unit! But overall I am happy with the gear that I have.

I thought the article said it would be 1/3 the cost of the current Genie? I'm hoping $249/299.

#39 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:06 PM

I thought the article said it would be 1/3 the cost of the current Genie? I'm hoping $249/299.


I believe that price was referring to the cost of building the things - which has no relationship to what they charge for it!

#40 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:08 PM

Currently no, we were told this May change in the future but that was all that was said.


So, what's the plan? Do they even have one? If they do away with the 2 tuner DVRs I'd need at least 8 of the Genies to feed my 8 plasmas and a non-DVR receiver isn't gonna make anyone in my family happy. Does their plan include, "How do I back up my content?"? (Did I use that second question mark correctly?)

Which brings me to my second question: Why only one on an account?

Rich

#41 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:16 PM

I am guessing $400, and yes, Solid Signal is the place to go as far as I know.

I would love such a unit! But overall I am happy with the gear that I have.


Would you view post# 40 in this thread and tell me if I used the second question mark correctly? Kinda puzzled me. BTW, if I get a 44, I'll only accept it if it is free of cost. I can wait until all the bugs are worked out.

Rich

#42 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:21 PM

So, what's the plan? Do they even have one? If they do away with the 2 tuner DVRs I'd need at least 8 of the Genies to feed my 8 plasmas and a non-DVR receiver isn't gonna make anyone in my family happy. Does their plan include, "How do I back up my content?"? (Did I use that second question mark correctly?)

Which brings me to my second question: Why only one on an account?

Rich


Rich - my money is they don't take the extreme subscriber like you into consideration!:D

I suspect the 1 per account has two reasons - first that automatically means a SWM16 and second - their code-monkeys would have to write code so the clients and HR44s wouldn't get confused.

I'm sure the SWM16 is their first consideration... But I wonder how much trouble having two HR34/44 and 5 or 6 clients would cause in their 'get it out the door yesterday' software engineering environment.

#43 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,716 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:25 PM

So, what's the plan? Do they even have one? If they do away with the 2 tuner DVRs I'd need at least 8 of the Genies to feed my 8 plasmas and a non-DVR receiver isn't gonna make anyone in my family happy. Does their plan include, "How do I back up my content?"? (Did I use that second question mark correctly?)

Which brings me to my second question: Why only one on an account?

Rich


Case in point earlier on the other thread about always noting the context, I think you meant you need at least 8 of the "Genie Clients." ;)

Unless you're saying you need 40 satellite tuners. :D

#44 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,165 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:50 PM

... their code-monkeys would have to write code so the clients and HR44s wouldn't get confused.

Given that each client gets paired to the Genie with a PIN, they don't get "confused".
A.K.A VOS

#45 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,887 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:57 PM

Would you view post# 40 in this thread and tell me if I used the second question mark correctly? Kinda puzzled me. BTW, if I get a 44, I'll only accept it if it is free of cost. I can wait until all the bugs are worked out.

Rich


I think it's O.K. It would be simpler to just say "... does their plan include backing up content?"
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#46 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:58 PM

Are the D* installers they send out like independent contractors or do they show up in a D* Van as you see with the installer forces of AT&T or Cox etc? I can't recall seeing a D* van or not in OKC?

#47 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 01:31 PM

Case in point earlier on the other thread about always noting the context, I think you meant you need at least 8 of the "Genie Clients." ;)

Unless you're saying you need 40 satellite tuners. :D


No, I truly meant the Genies. I also said in that post that nobody in my home wants a non-DVR receiver. That should have clarified it for you, no?

I've got 24 tuners in use now. Another 16 couldn't hurt... :lol:

Rich

#48 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 01:35 PM

I think it's O.K. It would be simpler to just say "... does their plan include backing up content?"


I did that at first and then I thought the sentence in parenthesis had it's own question mark and perhaps it would be proper to add the second question mark. Doesn't look right with both "?" marks, but seemed to need one. I guess I over-thought that one.

Thanx,

Rich

#49 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 01:37 PM

Are the D* installers they send out like independent contractors or do they show up in a D* Van as you see with the installer forces of AT&T or Cox etc? I can't recall seeing a D* van or not in OKC?


We get sub-contractors with D* emblazoned on their trucks. Service on that level has improved very much.

Rich

#50 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,106 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 01:44 PM

Are the D* installers they send out like independent contractors or do they show up in a D* Van as you see with the installer forces of AT&T or Cox etc? I can't recall seeing a D* van or not in OKC?

Local installers are DirecTV employees.
Offices are down on I-240 West of the Base, there is a big electronic sign.
They have done good work since DirecTV took over the contractor a few years ago.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700





Protected By... spam firewall...And...