Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Logitech looks to sell the Harmony business


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,911 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 07:27 PM

http://forums.logite...ers/td-p/967579

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:20 PM

Hope someone buys it who has some innovators on the staff.
Great remote, but missing some really needed upgrades.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,911 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:42 PM

I was actually surprised, making a change on my 620, it said there was a firmware update. No idea what it did.

Part of the problem is, not many people replace them. My 620 does everything I need it to, and have no real reason to get another one.

#4 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,439 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:53 PM

I was actually surprised, making a change on my 620, it said there was a firmware update. No idea what it did.

Part of the problem is, not many people replace them. My 620 does everything I need it to, and have no real reason to get another one.


With my kids constantly dropping them on the hardwood floor, I go through 2-3 per year (the screen on the bedroom remote went kaput on Monday when it fell off the bed). The 620 and 670 are getting harder and harder to find.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#5 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,736 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 24 January 2013 - 10:07 PM

Part of the problem is, not many people replace them. My 620 does everything I need it to, and have no real reason to get another one.

Same here. I still have a 688, and with the exception of a few faded buttons, it still works great.

Who do you think will buy Harmony?

#6 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 558 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:19 AM

Hopefully the new owners will completely revamp the software (what a disaster) and use real rubber other than coated plastic and painted buttons. Well, just use real quality materials and create logical (not logitech) software.

Fingers Crossed.

I'm on my fourth H1 and sixth MX Revolution that have identical faulty build and materials. Otherwise, the concept is fantastic.

Edited by FarmerBob, 25 January 2013 - 12:24 AM.


#7 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,911 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 06:17 AM

Same here. I still have a 688, and with the exception of a few faded buttons, it still works great.

Who do you think will buy Harmony?


Interesting question. Just as long as its not Monster (who had a Harmony based remote at one point, might still.)

I wouldn't think it would be URC either.

#8 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,736 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 25 January 2013 - 06:43 AM

I wouldn't think it would be URC either.

Why not, have the best of both worlds?

#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,868 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 08:57 AM

A shame that they really haven't driven the Harmony product anywhere in the last 5 years. Good stuff, just needs some upgrading.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,448 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:51 AM

I have a 676 that works well enough and the software in general supports most of the hardware I want to control. However, There are issues with much of the device support at the same time -- generic support for my Panasonic 3D DVD player and my Vizio 3D TV, for example.

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Sony KDFE-55A20 55" LCD RPTV; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVoRoamio Plus, LG BH200 HD DVD/Blu-ray player via HDMI to AVR
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#11 OFFLINE   smiddy

smiddy

    Tain't ogre til its ogre

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,286 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:59 AM

I have two Harmony remotes, one is not being used and the other has its quirks, the 890's main quirk is the recharging base to remote interface. Evertyhing else works pretty much as I want it too and my family is totally used to it. I look forward to seeing newer models in the near future, but was unaware that they were about to sell off this portion of the business.
Aaron 'smiddy' Smith

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,911 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 20 June 2013 - 07:40 PM

Logitech has changed their mind on selling

http://news.cnet.com...motes-division/

#13 OFFLINE   fmcomputer

fmcomputer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
  • LocationYpungstown. Ohio
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 21 June 2013 - 07:31 PM

I'am still using (2) Harmony H659's with Hopper and Joey setup.



#14 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,736 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 21 June 2013 - 07:33 PM

I'am still using (2) Harmony H659's with Hopper and Joey setup.


I'm still using a 688.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...