Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

no HD picture


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bzmannn

bzmannn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2013

Posted 25 January 2013 - 08:26 AM

I just installed a new 5lnb slimline dish with my H23 receiver from a different property. After some tweaking i awas able to get a signal on sat 101 94% It appears that i am not getting HD picture though.

I bought a p-21 power inserter thinking i needed but told by directtv tech it was not needed.
Only have i tv and receiver any suggestions to get hD picture

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 08:36 AM

I just installed a new 5lnb slimline dish with my H23 receiver from a different property. After some tweaking i awas able to get a signal on sat 101 94% It appears that i am not getting HD picture though.

I bought a p-21 power inserter thinking i needed but told by directtv tech it was not needed.
Only have i tv and receiver any suggestions to get hD picture


If you have a SWM setup then you need a PI. If you don't have a SWM setup, you don't need the PI. In either case, be sure that you don't have a BBC connected to the H23.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 08:42 AM

I just installed a new 5lnb slimline dish with my H23 receiver from a different property. After some tweaking i awas able to get a signal on sat 101 94% It appears that i am not getting HD picture though.

I bought a p-21 power inserter thinking i needed but told by directtv tech it was not needed.
Only have i tv and receiver any suggestions to get hD picture


do you have a signal on any of the other sat locations? most of the hd programming comes from other sat locations. also are the hd channels producing an error code or are they not even showing in the guide? you can hide hd/sd channels in the guide options.
My setup: 3x HR 23-700, 1x HR 24, 1x HR34, 4x C31's, WiFi CCK. Nomad...

#4 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:26 AM

I just installed a new 5lnb slimline dish with my H23 receiver from a different property. After some tweaking i awas able to get a signal on sat 101 94% It appears that i am not getting HD picture though.

I bought a p-21 power inserter thinking i needed but told by directtv tech it was not needed.
Only have i tv and receiver any suggestions to get hD picture


HD is on 99 and 103, 101 is almost all SD. Since you have a 5LNB dish, you should have 80+ signals on 99-101-103-110-119 to get proper HD service.

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,818 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:38 AM

If this dish configuration is an any way different from your other configuration, you'll need to go through the guided setup on the H23 again.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,371 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:07 PM

Does your dish LNB have one or four coax output connectors on it? If it has one, it's a SWM LNB and requires the power inserter.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish





spam firewall