Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

SWM/Networking question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   charlie460

charlie460

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 382 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:03 PM

Question... if I was installing in a house that only had one HR24 & one H24, is the Cinema connection kit required to make on demand work?

I know the HR34 can be connected to the internet via the ethernet port and it will share the internet connection with other receivers, but I assume the HR24 doesn't do this.

When SWM is being used does the Ethernet port on these boxes get completely disabled? Or can I still use SWM and MRV via "unsupported" cat5e?

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   charlie460

charlie460

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 382 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:06 PM

Actually, just found out that with a red button reset the Ethernet port will activate.

Here's my "new" question: If I connect *only* the HR24 to the internet via an Ethernet port, will the H24 (without any Ethernet connection) still be able to use MRV and access programming from the HR24, or does connecting an Ethernet cable to the HR24 completely disable MRV over Coax?

#3 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,101 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:11 PM

You cannot use both ethernet and coax networking on those receivers, it only works with the HR34 & 44

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#4 OFFLINE   charlie460

charlie460

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 382 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:16 PM

So, I need a DECA/Cinema Kit in order to have internet connectivity on both of these receivers, without connecting Ethernet to both, correct?

#5 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,101 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:19 PM

Correct.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#6 OFFLINE   charlie460

charlie460

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 382 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:20 PM

Thanks.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...