Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Updating External Hard Drive: Enclosure Question


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2013 - 11:30 AM

If you left it on 24/7 how would you know it failed? Anyway the answer to your question: There are two ways to power the BlacX up or down.

1.) The cheap and simple way is to yank the power plug out of the wall plug or reinstall it.

2.) The more elegant way, but will cost you a couple of dollars, is that GE makes a small gizmo that you plug into the wall plug and then plug the BlacX into that. The GE gizmo has a small standard wall switch built into it.


You don't need the switch as far as I know. If it fails off (open), you'll know. If it fails on, you'll not see anything different happen that would lead you to believe the switch is broken.

Rich

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2013 - 11:31 AM

As long as the drive isn't stored in a closed off area you don't need a fan. As I said above I used that enclosure for years, fanless, and it never overheated, no drive failure, etc. Fans just create noise that can ruin the viewing experience.


Truth.

Rich

#28 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2013 - 11:41 AM

I might go ahead and try again. I will say though that I returned the first one, because it happened really quickly (>week), and the same thing happened with the second. I saw in reviews/reports here and on Amazon that it wasn't that rare and decided to go back to the Antec. ... Which really doesn't seem like an option now, since the best price I can find via Google search is $65+ outrageous shipping, which is pretty ridiculous for an enclosure.

The way my set-up is, the hard drive will be kept on a shelf that is closed on three sides (open to front). It's not especially crowded, but it's also not totally open, either. There's really no other place for it to be.


Get a new TT dock. Plug it in. If you don't see a power light come on, turn the switch on. If the HR recognizes the HDD in the dock, don't touch the on/off button on the dock ever again. Just pull out the cord to shut it down. I've got one with a failed switch that failed on and I've been using it without problems for a couple years.

You won't have any problems with heat or noise (unless the HDD is noisy). If your location is a problem, make sure when you move things around you don't knock the dock over, if it's on, the HDD may be damaged when it falls.

Rich

#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2013 - 11:55 AM

We've had good luck with these: http://www.amazon.co...ils_o00_s00_i00

We have 3 of them currently, each with a 1TB drive, on 2 HR24s and a HR21.


Assuming you bought the enclosure from Amazon, how do you make a link to them? For about 6 months I haven't been able to do that because I get a line across the top of the page that says I bought this item and gives me the option to buy it again or something like that and when I preview the post the link shows my sign in page at Amazon. Must be a setting on Amazon, but I can't find it.

Rich

#30 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2013 - 12:00 PM

My fanless enclosures don't get that hot. I have no problem putting my hand on them and leaving it there.

And yes, you can hear fans. I can tell a huge difference in room noise if/when I turn off my enclosure that does have a fan.


I put my hands on the HDDs in the TT docks and they're just not hot. Warm, but I expect that. I've never had an MX-1 that I would consider quiet, either. But they did work well.

Rich

#31 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2013 - 12:03 PM

We'll just have to agree to disagree. I have an HR21 with a fanless enclosure in the same room as my HR34 with an enclosure with a fan. There's definitely not a "10-15 degree" difference. More like about 2 or 3, tops.

Like I said previously... As long as the drive isn't stored in a closed off area you don't need a fan.


I think the WD drives are rated at about 150 degrees. They don't get nearly that hot in a dock. Of course, you don't want to stick them in a closed cabinet.

Rich

#32 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,336 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 January 2013 - 12:29 PM

I think the WD drives are rated at about 150 degrees. They don't get nearly that hot in a dock. Of course, you don't want to stick them in a closed cabinet.

Rich


That would be at edge of normal functionality range. Don't bring it to the level.

#33 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:06 PM

That would be at edge of normal functionality range. Don't bring it to the level.


I know, now others do. Thanx for the clarification.

Rich

#34 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 05 February 2013 - 01:39 PM

We've had good luck with these: http://www.amazon.co...ils_o00_s00_i00

We have 3 of them currently, each with a 1TB drive, on 2 HR24s and a HR21.


I did get one of these with a WD20EURS (2 TB Western Digital Hard Drive) and was impressed with how easy it was to set up (slide out drive bay), how quiet the fan was and how solid the enclosure felt. It's only been up and running a few days but so far, so good.

Thanks to everyone who offered advice and assistance!

#35 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 06 February 2013 - 07:41 AM

I did get one of these with a WD20EURS (2 TB Western Digital Hard Drive) and was impressed with how easy it was to set up (slide out drive bay), how quiet the fan was and how solid the enclosure felt. It's only been up and running a few days but so far, so good.

Thanks to everyone who offered advice and assistance!


Are you sure that model even has a fan?

Edited by CCarncross, 06 February 2013 - 11:27 AM.


#36 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,324 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 February 2013 - 08:18 AM

Are you sure that model even has a fan?


It doesn't, I own 2 and they are perfectly fine without a fan.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#37 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:17 AM

It doesn't, I own 2 and they are perfectly fine without a fan.


That explains how quiet the fan is... :lol:

Rich

#38 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,336 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:16 AM

That explains how quiet the fan is... :lol:

Rich


more important, how it's please :D

#39 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,102 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:01 PM

Assuming you bought the enclosure from Amazon, how do you make a link to them? For about 6 months I haven't been able to do that because I get a line across the top of the page that says I bought this item and gives me the option to buy it again or something like that and when I preview the post the link shows my sign in page at Amazon. Must be a setting on Amazon, but I can't find it.

Rich


Beats me Rich...I just looked it up in my order history, clicked on the link in the order and copied and pasted the resulting URL. I get the line at the top about when I last ordered it too, but if I logout I get the same page without the "You purchased this item..." line. I don't remember changing any settings.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#40 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 07 February 2013 - 12:15 PM

It doesn't, I own 2 and they are perfectly fine without a fan.


See, told you it was quiet ;)

Doh! on me though.

#41 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 February 2013 - 12:57 PM

See, told you it was quiet ;)

Doh! on me though.


Easy mistake to make. Those Vantacs are only ~ $25! Found that a bit surprising. If I didn't have so many extra TT docks, I'd buy one. Might buy one just for the halibut.

Rich

#42 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,756 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:03 PM

Assuming you bought the enclosure from Amazon, how do you make a link to them? For about 6 months I haven't been able to do that because I get a line across the top of the page that says I bought this item and gives me the option to buy it again or something like that and when I preview the post the link shows my sign in page at Amazon. Must be a setting on Amazon, but I can't find it.

Rich


I don't know if this is the same for poster you quoted, but when I make links from Amazon I just copy the link shown on the address bar of my browser. No setting was changed.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#43 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,015 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:08 PM

I don't know if this is the same for poster you quoted, but when I make links from Amazon I just copy the link shown on the address bar of my browser. No setting was changed.


I think I've solved my problem, awaiting a PM to confirm it. I do think you're right.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...