Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New Echostar 16 and spot beams-DIRT please


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rlamp1

rlamp1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2008

Posted 28 January 2013 - 10:28 PM

I noticed the new echostar 16 satellite has 70+ spotbeams and many western
DMAs are covered.

Can anyone confirm from DIRT that Dish intends to use these beams for locals?

I have an RV account and at times I can only use EA 1000.4 to receive signals due to line of sight issues with WA.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,720 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 January 2013 - 10:54 PM

Have you did little research here ? Did you read FCC docs ? Seen the post at least ?
http://www.dbstalk.c...23&postcount=38

#3 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,292 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:14 PM

Can anyone confirm from DIRT that Dish intends to use these beams for locals?

Intent is a good question ... the spot beams are there. The more useful spots fall on the east coast and midwest - traditional "Eastern Arc" regions but DISH has not simply ignored the west coast in the design. Most of the western spots on 61.5 would be fed from Spokane.

While it would be possible for someone with the right line of sight to get 61.5 from the west coast or western states the Western Arc works better for most. So I would not expect most of those spots to be used for programming.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,720 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:19 PM

Time will tell.

#5 OFFLINE   rlamp1

rlamp1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2008

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:34 PM

James thanks for the response.

#6 OFFLINE   rlamp1

rlamp1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2008

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:36 PM

I get a very good signal here in Utah on the 61.5 and 72 sats, 77 is somewhat marginal

#7 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:11 AM

I get a very good signal here in Utah on the 61.5 and 72 sats, 77 is somewhat marginal

If you use a 1000.2 EA dish 77 dosen't exist.

#8 OFFLINE   jscudder

jscudder

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:10 PM

When do you think E*16 will be put into service?

#9 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,292 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:29 PM

When do you think E*16 will be put into service?

Two weeks ago. :D
(That is almost like a negative "soon".)

There is still a lot of shuffling needed to move locals off of E*12 to E*16, but the process started on January 15th.

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,720 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:38 PM

When do you think E*16 will be put into service?


add Uplink reports to your favorite's list AND YOU'LL BE UP TO SPEED

#11 OFFLINE   jscudder

jscudder

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 30 January 2013 - 10:01 PM

add Uplink reports to your favorite's list AND YOU'LL BE UP TO SPEED


I do watch that thread and saw moves to 61.5W on Jan 15th but Lyngsat isn't showing anything on E*16. I figured the moves went to either E*12 or E*15. Lyngsat used to be pretty good at keeping current.

#12 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,720 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 January 2013 - 10:38 PM

Christian have hard time to follow reports ... he still did not update 58W tables for four months.

#13 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,292 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 30 January 2013 - 11:30 PM

I probably could have made it clearer that those spots were on E16 ... E12 isn't capable of transmitting on most of the transponders involved (only odd transponders 1-23 and 24) and E15 does not have spots - so they have to be E16 spots.

Generally I leave the satellite names out of the reports. In some cases they are redundant ... Nimiq 5 is everything at 72.7, Ciel 2 is everything at 129, naming the satellite is not needed. In other cases one cannot tell which satellite is being used. Both E15 and E16 can cover the ConUS feeds from 61.5 and use the same transponder numbering for ConUS feeds. The orbital location is known and can be reported.




spam firewall