Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Another Year without local HD channels


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,541 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 29 April 2013 - 09:59 PM

For about the same price, maybe $50 less, you can get an HD TiVo with lifetime subscription, if you are patient.

 

And the TiVo can iuse the cableco's cable card.


Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Don M

Don M

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2006

Posted 29 April 2013 - 11:51 PM

Although I don't know beforehand when new HD channels are going to be released, we have added new local HD channels recently to our channel lineup. I will submit a program request form for local Rapid City locals in HD. Thanks.

Let me echo what Jim5506 said, only I would very much like the Amarillo locals in HD on DISH. I do get them using the OTA tuner in my 622s, but it would be great to  have them in HD straight from DISH.  Thanks for any help.



#28 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 30 April 2013 - 08:57 AM

Let me echo what Jim5506 said, only I would very much like the Amarillo locals in HD on DISH. I do get them using the OTA tuner in my 622s, but it would be great to  have them in HD straight from DISH.  Thanks for any help.

Now see, Directv finally gave us our locals in HD after about 5 years of promising, and I dont use them, because I record the OTA versions through my dvr just like you can do with the Dish stuff if you have it setup that way.  I never have to worry about weather related outages.



#29 OFFLINE   JWKessler

JWKessler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2004

Posted 01 May 2013 - 05:00 PM

Now see, Directv finally gave us our locals in HD after about 5 years of promising, and I dont use them, because I record the OTA versions through my dvr just like you can do with the Dish stuff if you have it setup that way.  I never have to worry about weather related outages.


Unfortunately I only get the two locals broadcast on high band VHF here. The UHF locals don't come in, even with the expensive UHF antenna and tall mast I bought. So I'm stuck with NBC, ABC and PBS in fuzzy vision. NBC is in wide screen SD within a little box, and has a terrible picture and crappy sound.

I'm giving Dish till the end of May to fix this, then I'll be switching.

#30 OFFLINE   bidger

bidger

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,959 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 02 May 2013 - 06:31 AM

For about the same price, maybe $50 less, you can get an HD TiVo with lifetime subscription, if you are patient.

 

And the TiVo can use the cableco's cable card.

 

The bolded part is important since Cable was granted the ability to encrypt basic cable early this year and would require a CableCard to decrypt the HD locals. May not be happening where you are right now, but it will eventually. 


Ceton 6 tuner eth, Cisco Tuning Adapter 1520, TWC Digital Explorer Pak and Standard Internet, TiVo HD (upgraded to 500 GB) for OTA,TC-P50U50, SONY NSZ-GT1 BD player and Google TV box, Yamaha RX-V373 A/V receiver, Squeezebox Duet music streaming device, Xbox 360 

 

 


#31 OFFLINE   bidger

bidger

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,959 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 02 May 2013 - 06:38 AM

The HD Homerun Dual requires a PC to do the recording. It's intended for viewing on your computer screen.

 

It's intended for viewing on whatever size screen your HTPC is connected to. The PC I'm typing this on is connected to a 46" SONY LCD.

 

It would be so much easier if Dish simply gave us HD locals. DirecTV is looking more attractive every day.

 

I'm pretty certain that PBS is only available in SD through DirecTV, at least that's what I see for the Elmira/Corning market. Binghamton might be different though.


Ceton 6 tuner eth, Cisco Tuning Adapter 1520, TWC Digital Explorer Pak and Standard Internet, TiVo HD (upgraded to 500 GB) for OTA,TC-P50U50, SONY NSZ-GT1 BD player and Google TV box, Yamaha RX-V373 A/V receiver, Squeezebox Duet music streaming device, Xbox 360 

 

 


#32 OFFLINE   JWKessler

JWKessler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2004

Posted 02 May 2013 - 07:10 AM

 
I'm pretty certain that PBS is only available in SD through DirecTV, at least that's what I see for the Elmira/Corning market. Binghamton might be different though.


My friends with DirecTV in the Binghamton DMA assure me that they get WSKG in HD.

#33 OFFLINE   JWKessler

JWKessler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2004

Posted 30 May 2013 - 02:45 PM

Praise Zeus! We got home tonight, the housemate turned on the TV and immediately started complaining. None of his network shows were recording and some channels had vanished from the favorites list. So I went to all channels in the guide and lo and behold, we have HD locals! I happily updated the guide, though at the moment the program data is still unavailable.

 

As a point of interest, even WSKG, our PBS local is listed as HD. I'm curious how these channels will look once actual HD programming is on the air. The locals I've checked so far are still unable to originate HD programming so local stuff and syndicated programming is in fuzzy vision. The actual network programming will be in HD.

 

Thank you Dish for finally coming through on this.



#34 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,186 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 10:11 PM

This just happened with a very recent uplink...  I'm not familiar with the DMA to know how many of the locals they uplinked (if it covers all the available locals or not)... but it was a pretty good list.


-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#35 ONLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,593 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:28 AM

Is The CW in HD?


DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#36 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,774 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 June 2013 - 03:51 PM

Is The CW in HD?


Yes. Whether your market's affiliate carries it in HD is a different question.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#37 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:06 AM

I show the following channels provided in HD from us: 7, 10, 14, 4, and 2 on satellite 61.5.  Thanks.

 

Let me echo what Jim5506 said, only I would very much like the Amarillo locals in HD on DISH. I do get them using the OTA tuner in my 622s, but it would be great to  have them in HD straight from DISH.  Thanks for any help.



#38 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,541 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 01 July 2013 - 07:14 PM

Ray:

Do we get our Lubbock HD locals Wednesday or must we wait another week?

I know you probably have no inside information, but I had to ask.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#39 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 03 July 2013 - 09:54 AM

I haven't seen any new information about HD local channels for Lubbock yet.  I'll keep checking and let you know.  Thanks.

 

Ray:

Do we get our Lubbock HD locals Wednesday or must we wait another week?

I know you probably have no inside information, but I had to ask.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...