Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV new features: Far in Advance & Watch Now


  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   kenkahn

kenkahn

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2008

Posted 01 February 2013 - 10:57 AM

What would almost as nice, maybe even nicer, is if this "Far in Advance" came with an associated increase to the limit of 50 season passes. I currently 'push the limit' now with my 2 DVRs. Allowing me to set "future" passes will be useless unless given the ability to add more than 50.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,419 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 01 February 2013 - 11:08 AM

It looks like if anyone has any specific issues with FIA content...they can report those here to get them duly recorded:

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=212515
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#28 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,282 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:07 PM

It has happened to all of my FIA selections that are scheduled on NBC. Once the show appears in the guide, the ABC and CBS default to the local affiliates on sat feed (No OTA). The NBC selections default to the National feed which I don't get.

It is a great concept and I'm sure in the future this will improve.


I'll check to see if any if my FIA selections are for NBC and if not will make one up as a test.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#29 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:51 PM

Looks like the FIA issue I noticed is happening to others as well. Glad I pointed it out.

#30 OFFLINE   ndfan1993

ndfan1993

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2013

Posted 01 February 2013 - 02:11 PM

Any idea when this is being pushed out to Genie?

#31 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 01 February 2013 - 05:34 PM

Any idea when this is being pushed out to Genie?

Genie NR has FiA

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#32 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 01 February 2013 - 07:57 PM

"Far In Advance" is working on my Genie and I love it!
HR34-700, HR22-100

#33 OFFLINE   BuffaloDenny

BuffaloDenny

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 691 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 01 February 2013 - 08:31 PM

Nice add. Although I had already built my series links over the course of a year, so when the shows come back on they'll get automatically picked up. But I like it - especially if I ever have hard drive issues, I won't have to wait for all my shows to actually show up in the guide before I record the series link.

#34 OFFLINE   txfeinbergs

txfeinbergs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 February 2013 - 09:42 PM

Far in advance is great concept, but in reality it doesnt appear to work correctly yet for local networks. It sees the far in advance station as the channels in the 390's, and says I'm not authorized and it cant record, instead of picking my local cbs, nbc, fox, etc....


Actually, this problem happened to me as well when trying to set up Touch on Fox. I was wondering what the heck was happening (not to mention I hadn't even heard about the Far in Advance feature and was wondering what the hell the "Coming Soon" was. Thanks Ccarncross for the heads up.

#35 OFFLINE   ndfan1993

ndfan1993

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2013

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:12 AM

I am seeing it work for big named shows/programs but some of my wife shows on TLC or stuff on PBS are not showing up.

#36 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:36 AM

Far in advance is great concept, but in reality it doesnt appear to work correctly yet for local networks. It sees the far in advance station as the channels in the 390's, and says I'm not authorized and it cant record, instead of picking my local cbs, nbc, fox, etc....


Perfect for us on the road full time. We don't get the locals but we do get the 39X feeds.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#37 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 02 February 2013 - 09:28 AM

I am seeing it work for big named shows/programs but some of my wife shows on TLC or stuff on PBS are not showing up.

Last week, I did searches for AMC Freakshow & Immortalized and neither was found. Did another search last night and both were found.

Without knowing the source for FiA data, this could be an hit or miss feature on finding a future program.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#38 OFFLINE   ndfan1993

ndfan1993

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2013

Posted 02 February 2013 - 09:48 AM

Last week, I did searches for AMC Freakshow & Immortalized and neither was found. Did another search last night and both were found.

Without knowing the source for FiA data, this could be an hit or miss feature on finding a future program.


Ok, will keep trying.

#39 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 11:36 AM

Well done Gents!


Finally! Something I want... :lol:

Rich

#40 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,106 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 11:44 AM

Well done Gents!


Finally! Something I want... :lol:

Rich

Better well done than medium rare? :lol:

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#41 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 12:14 PM

Better well done than medium rare? :lol:


In this case. I do like my steaks bleeding!

Rich

#42 OFFLINE   dsm

dsm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2004

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:03 PM

I get about 55Mb/s download speeds and can get full HD from a variety of internet streaming sites, but DirecTV's Watch Now should be called Wait Now. Even if I buffer 10 minutes before I start the recording I can't get through a 1 hour movie without running out of buffer. The D* servers must be really underpowered or their network connection does not have enough bandwidth. Seems in poor taste to allow Watch Now on HD channels that their servers can't deliver.

steve

#43 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    CUTTING EDGE

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 9,440 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:54 PM

I get about 55Mb/s download speeds and can get full HD from a variety of internet streaming sites, but DirecTV's Watch Now should be called Wait Now. Even if I buffer 10 minutes before I start the recording I can't get through a 1 hour movie without running out of buffer. The D* servers must be really underpowered or their network connection does not have enough bandwidth. Seems in poor taste to allow Watch Now on HD channels that their servers can't deliver.

steve


That's really odd because I have a quarter of the bandwidth that you do and can use the Watch Now.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#44 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:56 PM

DIY Rescue My Renovation is currently NOT showing up in Far in Advance.

Edited by Drucifer, 13 February 2013 - 03:39 PM.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#45 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 February 2013 - 06:33 PM

Very Nice Dog and Pony Show!!! :D

Thanks for the Info!!! :)
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#46 OFFLINE   jacksonm30354

jacksonm30354

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 618 posts
  • LocationAtlanta
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:23 AM

FIA for Survivor and Amazing Race ended up associated with KCBS instead of the Atlanta local CBS (WGCL 46).

#47 OFFLINE   dsm

dsm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2004

Posted 07 February 2013 - 06:52 AM

That's really odd because I have a quarter of the bandwidth that you do and can use the Watch Now.


Hmm, I forgot to say HD. Does it work well for you on HD?

I wonder if I have a network issue. The network is injected at an hr24 I have closer to my router. Maybe I'll try watch now on that to see if it is better.

Steve

#48 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    CUTTING EDGE

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 9,440 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 07 February 2013 - 07:38 AM

Hmm, I forgot to say HD. Does it work well for you on HD?

I wonder if I have a network issue. The network is injected at an hr24 I have closer to my router. Maybe I'll try watch now on that to see if it is better.

Steve



Only HD here. ;)

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#49 OFFLINE   rcork

rcork

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 06:18 PM

Can someone tell me what the expected behavior is when a show does not have any broadcast airings in the next few weeks but there are VOD airings. I've tried searching for Grimm, which doesn't air new episodes until March 8th, and the VOD episodes are shown in the search results but i don't see a way to schedule FIA recordings of the show. I've also tried with Revolution and Warehouse 13 but i run into the same issue of seeing VOD episodes but can't schedule FIA.

#50 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2013 - 12:17 PM

Can someone tell me what the expected behavior is when a show does not have any broadcast airings in the next few weeks but there are VOD airings. I've tried searching for Grimm, which doesn't air new episodes until March 8th, and the VOD episodes are shown in the search results but i don't see a way to schedule FIA recordings of the show. I've also tried with Revolution and Warehouse 13 but i run into the same issue of seeing VOD episodes but can't schedule FIA.

Looks like you are right. FiA only seem to work for premier shows and not for programs that are on hiatus. Which means, that if hiatus shows must stay in the Series Manager, the Series Manager limit needs to be at least double.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00





Protected By... spam firewall...And...