Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV new features: Far in Advance & Watch Now


  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#76 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,507 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 10 April 2013 - 03:41 PM

Thanks Drew. I'm going to see if King and Maxwell will record. As far as Hiatus shows go, if one hasn't changed the series record options, shouldn't they pick up right where they left off, automagically?

I already have R & I, Perception, F & B, and Major Crimes in series links, just waiting for them to come back.

Many remove hiatus shows from their Series Manager because of the DirecTV limits of only 50 and 100.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#77 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,654 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 April 2013 - 05:45 AM

Many remove hiatus shows from their Series Manager because of the DirecTV limits of only 50 and 100.


Hence my 12 HRs and 600 SLs. I never delete an SL unless I know a show is cancelled for sure. Makes it a lot easier, almost automatic... :lol:

Rich

#78 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 11 April 2013 - 06:36 AM

SInce I use boolean searches for most of my ARSL's, I never take any shows out either unless they are cancelled or I decide to quite watching them. I dont have an exact count, but I expect I record about 130 shows on my main HR2x model.

#79 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,507 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:27 AM

Hence my 12 HRs and 600 SLs. I never delete an SL unless I know a show is cancelled for sure. Makes it a lot easier, almost automatic... :lol:

Rich

Well, I don't. While I haven't had to the hiatus shuffle on my Genie, my two HR24 are another story.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#80 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,088 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 09:20 AM

FIA seems to work only with Premier Showings. 'Are We Alone' looks like a hiatus show when I looked it up at the Science web site.


I successfully programmed series links for Nurse Jackie and Falling Skies even though they were "on hiatus" and no information was in the guide at the time. The Nurse Jackie SL currently has the first 2 episodes of the season in the TO DO list. Since Falling Skies won't be back until June (IIRC) it, of course, has no episodes to record.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#81 OFFLINE   mark40511

mark40511

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 132 posts
  • LocationLexington KY
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:11 PM

I've always hated the shows that are the same, but are titled differently EACH season. For example:

Survivor is not just Survivor. It's Survivor: Palau or Survivor: Indonesia

or Real World is not just real world. It's real world :new Orleans or Seattle, etc. so if you set it once, that's IT for that season.

I just tried the far in advanced search for survivor for (THIS FALL) because I don't know what it's even going to be titled, and nothing comes up at all but the survivor that's currently airing.... Same with real (fake) world.

#82 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,201 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:25 PM

For something like Survivor, I would set it up as a Boolean, maybe nname probst cchans ## where ## is your CBS. It's not perfect, it will also get interviews etc, but not bad. Or ttitle survivor cchans ##




Protected By... spam firewall...And...