Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Help improve "Far in Advance."


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
58 replies to this topic

#26 ONLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,800 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 23 March 2013 - 06:28 PM

I've had the SL for Orphan Black for weeks, but the 3/30/13 episode does not appear in my HR34 TDL.
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Jacob Braun

Jacob Braun

    King of Awesome

  • Registered
  • 1,031 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 23 March 2013 - 07:26 PM

I've had the SL for Orphan Black for weeks, but the 3/30/13 episode does not appear in my HR34 TDL.


Yeah I just checked mine...Doctor Who is on there (I set that up as a normal SL weeks ago, choosing record First Run Only) but Orphan Black and The Nerdist both show as...well take a look:

Attached Thumbnails

  • image-3086730806.jpg
  • image-2084826872.jpg

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.


#28 OFFLINE   dishinitout

dishinitout

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 04, 2013

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:55 PM

Is there a way to get FIA to work for shows that run on multiple networks? I was trying to transfer some SL's from one DVR to another this evening to balance things out but some aren't in season and reruns are on another channel than the new episodes but Smart Search obviously pulls only the VOD and reruns. This was also issue for another show that didn't have reruns on another network but still had VOD content so couldn't FIA the new content.

#29 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 802 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:24 AM

It either works, (coming soon) at the top, or it doesn't. Nothing you can do about it.

#30 OFFLINE   dishinitout

dishinitout

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 04, 2013

Posted 25 March 2013 - 11:09 AM

Figured... Now I will just have to remember when new seasons come back that they aren't scheduled

SL5, SWM16, 1 HR44, 1 HR34, 2 HR24, 2 C31, 1 C41W

 


#31 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,131 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 11:23 AM

Is there something we can do for shows that don't show up at all? For example, the other night I looked for Parts Unknown, which will be on CBS starting April 14, no FIA results.

#32 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:57 PM

Easy, go to search, type "parts unknown", red button,all ,it may return no results, choose autorecord, and set it up that way until it shows in todo list, then convert to regular SL. Or even better, search, but type "parts unknown cchans xxx", for your local cbs, then red button, etc....that way it will only match on a channel you get it on. You can do this for any show literally months out if you know the title and the channel it will be on.

#33 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,131 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:12 PM

Ok, I think I worded it wrong. I know how I can do it with a boolean. My question is specifically for FIA. I think for a "regular user", they may get frustrated when some things show up, but others don't, especially when a network is running promos for an upcoming series, but more than two weeks out.

#34 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,220 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:14 AM

I just checked my Series Links for "Doctor Who", "Orphan Black" and "The Nerdist" since they start tomorrow and I used Far In Advance to set them up. None had any episodes set to record even though there are 2 new episodes each set to air over the next 2 weeks. Yes, their original air dates are listed as 3/30/13 and setting up a new Series Link for each worked just fine and picked up the new airings that are coming up.

I used one submission for all 3 since they are all on BBCA the same night. Stuart, please let me know if you need 3 separate ones.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#35 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 802 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 31 March 2013 - 06:44 PM

Game of Thrones - HBO-E - FAIL!

For whatever reason the thing has been stuck on HBO2-W since first setting it up weeks ago.
Manually set a separate Series Link yesterday for HBO-E, and gave it higher priority, and it hasn't picked up squat yet. (0)

Had to delete BOTH, just now, and set it up a THIRD time, to make things right.

Edited by Racer88, 31 March 2013 - 06:53 PM.


#36 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,297 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:55 PM

After GoT got recorded as SD, I noted that my other FiA shows (Borgias, Homeland, Mad Men and True Blood) were also set for the SD channel. Deleted all from SL.

Report submitted for GoT. Others redundant.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#37 OFFLINE   Jacob Braun

Jacob Braun

    King of Awesome

  • Registered
  • 1,031 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 31 March 2013 - 10:12 PM

After GoT got recorded as SD, I noted that my other FiA shows (Borgias, Homeland, Mad Men and True Blood) were also set for the SD channel. Deleted all from SL.

Report submitted for GoT. Others redundant.


Yeah I saw that my GoT was going to try to record yesterday so I deleted that and set up an HD series link.
A work in progress!

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.


#38 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,513 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 01 April 2013 - 07:44 AM

Shoot! I didn't check my SL for GoT and it recorded the SD version. Reported on the form in post 1.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#39 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,220 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 01 April 2013 - 08:24 AM

My SL for GoT worked and picked up HD however no FIA SL's are working on BBCA at all.

None of these were caught:
Orphan Black
The Nerdist
Spies Of Warsaw
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#40 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 802 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 01 April 2013 - 08:40 PM

Hannibal - NBC - FAIL!

As it did with "Red Widow" above, it is set to record on the DirecTV provided NBC affiliate(WPMI 15) in the same adjacent market, NOT my actual in market DirecTV provided NBC affiliate. (WXXV NBC 26)

#41 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 802 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 01 April 2013 - 09:10 PM

Da Vinci's Demons - STARZ-E - FAIL!

Is set to record an encore airing on Starz-Black on 4/13 and not the series premiere on Starz East on 4/12.


Also noticed that "Boardwalk Empire" is stuck on HBO2W same as "Game of Thrones" was.

Edited by Racer88, 01 April 2013 - 09:18 PM.


#42 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 802 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 03 April 2013 - 12:59 AM

Covert Affairs - USA
Royal Pains - USA
Burn Notice - USA
Are now showing up via FIA (Coming 06/2013)

As well as Falling Skies - TNT

#43 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,473 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 04 April 2013 - 09:53 AM

Looks like Defiance on SyFy is working, picking up the HD version automatically.
HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#44 OFFLINE   GordonT

GordonT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 02 May 2013 - 02:52 PM

That's a normal search.

Far In Advance is supposed to setup a working Series Manager for shows farther then 15 days away. So far it is failing on the working part as the shows when they get within the 14 days window of the ToDo List are NOT in the list.

Rather than start a new thread, I'm posting here in order to find out more about how Far in Advance is supposed to work. Does it work differently for shows that haven't started yet (i.e. shows that have premieres that are more than 14 days in the future) than it does for currently running shows like Revolution? I have a Series Link set up for Revolution and in the To do list, it only shows the next 2 episodes, but I know from other internet sites like IMDB that there are episodes scheduled to run up to June 3rd. Can someone explain why these future episodes don't show up when I do a search for Revolution? 

 

P.S. I have also done some searches for shows listed earlier in this thread that have premeires scheduled for June (like Perception) and the premeires also don't show up. I have 2 HR24-500's with the current software (0x6bd).



TV's:
Samsung HL-R5078W
Mitsubishi VS-50805
Vizio E371VA
Satellite Dish:
Slimline-3S(SWM)
Receivers:
2 HR24-500 0x6bd
H24-100 0x66d
H21-100 0x466d


#45 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,220 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 03 May 2013 - 07:51 AM

Rather than start a new thread, I'm posting here in order to find out more about how Far in Advance is supposed to work. Does it work differently for shows that haven't started yet (i.e. shows that have premieres that are more than 14 days in the future) than it does for currently running shows like Revolution? I have a Series Link set up for Revolution and in the To do list, it only shows the next 2 episodes, but I know from other internet sites like IMDB that there are episodes scheduled to run up to June 3rd. Can someone explain why these future episodes don't show up when I do a search for Revolution? 

 

P.S. I have also done some searches for shows listed earlier in this thread that have premeires scheduled for June (like Perception) and the premeires also don't show up. I have 2 HR24-500's with the current software (0x6bd).

 

The episodes don't show up because they aren't in the guide data. 


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#46 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,302 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 19 May 2013 - 07:34 PM

I set up 2 series recordings for programs starting this week and next week about 4-6 weeks ago. Just noticed in the series manager list they showed (0) upcoming, but when click on the program name and went to View Upcoming, it showed this week and next (one tomorrow night) - with no recording indication.

 

Had to delete the the program in the series manager and then choose to record the series on tomorrow night's show to work.


4 Warning Points and Climbing.....

#1 on the James Long Most Hated List....

And The Hits just Keep On Coming!


#47 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,480 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 19 May 2013 - 10:55 PM

Far In Advance failed to schedule ABC 'Motive' in the NYC area.

 

Google Report Sent.


Edited by Drucifer, 19 May 2013 - 10:55 PM.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#48 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,402 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:54 PM

Far In Advance failed to schedule ABC 'Motive' in the NYC area.

 

Google Report Sent.

+1 in the Houston, TX area

I have some others that will possibly do the same thing.

The Glades & Longmire on A & E and Copper on the BBCA

I did not send a report.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#49 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 802 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 28 May 2013 - 11:06 AM

Longmire - A&E - Failed miserably. It even shows at this very moment "Coming 05/27/2013" (had to delete and set up manually to catch a re-air later in this week)

 

It appears all of the following are going to work as expected come June 6.

Graceland - USA

Burn Notice - USA

The Hero - TNT



#50 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 802 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 05 June 2013 - 03:53 PM

Magic City 6/14 - Starz - FAIL! - Set to record on Starz Black.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...