Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Help improve "Far in Advance."


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
58 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 05 June 2013 - 05:28 PM

How it is any different than setting up SL? Don't it show up anyway when it shows up in the guide and records the shows when series recordings are set for future shows on first run setups? Maybe I'm not understanding FIA.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 858 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 06:27 PM

The difference is that you're not restricted to shows airing in the next 10-11 days - DirecTV has added "Coming soon" information for shows not scheduled for a new episode for months. You can then select this and set up a SL for it even with no upcoming showings.

 

I did this yesterday on my new HR44 and it generally worked well - at least the SLs were created. Will have to check on Longmire, which I did enter, but my recollection is that it found one.


Steve

My Setup


#53 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 05 June 2013 - 09:37 PM

Yep, there's no problem setting up a FIA series. It's the recording part that's not working most of the time.


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#54 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 06 June 2013 - 06:26 AM

It works pretty reliably for most stuff but not as well for shows on the big networks due to the multiple versions of network stations that appear in the guide, whether you receive them or not.  Most of the FIA SL's I have setup try to record on the channels in the 390's that of course I dont have because I have my locals via Sat and OTA...stations like FX, USA, or TNT, seem to work pretty flawlessly.



#55 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,914 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 06 June 2013 - 06:48 AM

Is this limited to only shows that have more than one episode?

I tried to set up Skywire Live, it didn't work. http://skywire.discovery.com/

#56 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 06 June 2013 - 11:42 AM

It works pretty reliably for most stuff but not as well for shows on the big networks due to the multiple versions of network stations that appear in the guide, whether you receive them or not.  Most of the FIA SL's I have setup try to record on the channels in the 390's that of course I dont have because I have my locals via Sat and OTA...stations like FX, USA, or TNT, seem to work pretty flawlessly.

It did not work for the two new SyFy shows - Sinbad & Primeval: New World, but I having problems with 'em with the regular Series Manager because of their First Aired Dates which are not their United States First Aired Dates. 


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#57 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 06 June 2013 - 12:08 PM

That would technically not be an FIA problem Drew....I have to setup my SL's for those foreign shows differently due to OAD's as well.



#58 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 06 June 2013 - 12:17 PM

That would technically not be an FIA problem Drew....I have to setup my SL's for those foreign shows differently due to OAD's as well.

Months ago, two FIA Series Manager was setup for 'em. But both remain empty when the shows made into the two week period of the Guide. 


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#59 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,030 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 June 2013 - 10:13 AM

Thank you all for your time. Please report additional issues in the regular issues threads.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...