Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

installation help!


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   selfdbs

selfdbs

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2013

Posted 02 February 2013 - 05:32 PM

im having a problem trying to install a satellite system but i cant seem to drill through the wall with the drill bit im using it only goes so far then it goes reserve on me. Do i need a special drill bit to drill with the wall? or does any drill bit work?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,385 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 05:48 PM

Inside wall, plaster, drywall, panelling? Outside wall, drilling into stucco and hitting the concreete block beneath? Need lots more info.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#3 OFFLINE   selfdbs

selfdbs

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2013

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:11 PM

i believe its drywall

#4 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,385 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:17 PM

Several variations on what might be beneath it, either way you will need a masonary bit if you are trying to drill through the wall. If its is a CBS type home, you may need a fairly long one.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#5 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,089 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:31 PM

Are you drilling into an electrical conduit ??

#6 OFFLINE   selfdbs

selfdbs

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2013

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:57 PM

nope im actually drilling by another cable outlet

#7 OFFLINE   supermod38

supermod38

    Mentor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 62 posts
  • LocationCentral VA.
Joined: Jan 16, 2013

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:33 AM

be afraid...................................very afraid............!!!:nono2:

I'm not here for a long time, just a GOOD time!
HR34 lease- Vizio 26"
C-31-lease-32" Emerson
HR24-owned-RCA 46"

H24- owned- :righton:


#8 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,431 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:04 AM

im having a problem trying to install a satellite system but i cant seem to drill through the wall with the drill bit im using it only goes so far then it goes reserve on me. Do i need a special drill bit to drill with the wall? or does any drill bit work?


When you pull the bit out of the wall does it have a light colored powder on it ?
Is the bit rounded off and not sharp any more ?

If yes, you are probably hitting a Concrete Block ( some call them Cinder Blocks ). They are usually 8 inches thick for outside walls.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,392 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 05:29 PM

some times the insulation wraps around the drill bit making the drill "kick" back. try to move the insulation away from the bit

#10 OFFLINE   cwtech

cwtech

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2012

Posted 03 February 2013 - 06:26 PM

know before you drill what you are getting into. Granted for us to give you a more accurate answer we are going to need tons more information. What are you drilling into, have you looked at a window seal and seen how deep it is, (concrete block, brick, siding, inside walls 2x4, 2x6) ( example if you are drilling in a concrete block plus have a inside wall thats a 2x4 your gong to need minimum a 16 in long drill bit) If by chance you are drilling in next to another parallel wall you need to make sure your not going into that. There is alot of variables need clarified before we can help you better

#11 OFFLINE   netraa

netraa

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 483 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:26 PM

From what i'm seeing here, or actually, not seeing....

1-800-531-5000

that's going to be your safest bet.

#12 OFFLINE   Floyd

Floyd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:21 PM

There are many types of wall material. Wood, steel, concrete, masonry, brick, stone, ect.

Each type has it's own preferred method of drilling.

A masonry bit doesn't go well when you hit wood or steel, and vice versa.

Take a look into the hole you drilled and see what you hit.

#13 OFFLINE   selfdbs

selfdbs

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2013

Posted 04 February 2013 - 10:31 AM

i found out all i needed was a longer drill bit and i was only using a 6" which it was not close to what i needed and lucky i had a little bit of help cause this is my first time really drilling through a wall




spam firewall