Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Watch recordings before sending DVR back?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:28 AM

We're upgrading 1 DVR to a Genie this week (yeh!).

Before I send the old DVR back to Directv can I still use it to watch what was already recorded? In other words, have old DVR hooked to TV but not to satellite and watch recordings?
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:35 AM

You have some time, but do not power it off. If you power it off, when you power it back on it won't work without a sat signal.

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:08 AM

Also, if you are deactivating that DVR, disconnect it from the satellite before you deactivate it. You want to avoid having the deactivate signal being sent to the DVR. You also have the option of just keeping the receiver active on your account until you finish watching your recordings.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#4 OFFLINE   netraa

netraa

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 483 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:50 AM

Keep in mind if your having a technician install the genie, he's not supposed to leave without the other DVR.

#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,547 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:19 AM

If it is really important to be able to watch those recordings, keep that DVR active on your account until you are done watching them.

If you disconnect it from the dish before deactivating it, and are allowed to keep it by the installer, you may be able to watch recordings for a while. But eventually that ability will go away, and "eventually" could be anywhere from a few hours to a couple of weeks based on reports from many different users in these forums.

#6 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:25 AM

Genie is being shipped to me.

My problem is that if I keep the DVR that I'm swapping out active and attached to sat signal I will be over 8 tuner limit. (I have another DVR I am keeping and a regular receiver). Which box would lose 1 tuner in that battle?
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#7 OFFLINE   chevyguy559

chevyguy559

    Fresno State Bulldog!

  • Registered
  • 720 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Sep 19, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:39 AM

Genie is being shipped to me.

My problem is that if I keep the DVR that I'm swapping out active and attached to sat signal I will be over 8 tuner limit. (I have another DVR I am keeping and a regular receiver). Which box would lose 1 tuner in that battle?


You can go into the satellite settings on the DVR you want to watch the recordings off of and change it to a single tuner DVR and you'll be fine :D

DirecTV Subscriber Since 11/2008
Choice Ultimate - HD Extra - RZC
(2) HR22-100
(1) HR22-100 (Owned)
(1) HR21-100 (Owned)


#8 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 22,346 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:21 PM

You have some time, but do not power it off. If you power it off, when you power it back on it won't work without a sat signal.


Not sure about what happens when you deactivate an HR, but I take an HR with me when I go on vacation (also bring a 1080p TV with me) and the HR has no power to it while I'm on the road. Always works as far as playing content when I get to the vacation spot. Naturally, I get the 771s, but I just hit the Playlist button and all the content is there to watch.

Rich

#9 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 22,346 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:22 PM

Keep in mind if your having a technician install the genie, he's not supposed to leave without the other DVR.


Unless your old HR is a 20 series.

Rich

#10 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 22,346 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:24 PM

If it is really important to be able to watch those recordings, keep that DVR active on your account until you are done watching them.

If you disconnect it from the dish before deactivating it, and are allowed to keep it by the installer, you may be able to watch recordings for a while. But eventually that ability will go away, and "eventually" could be anywhere from a few hours to a couple of weeks based on reports from many different users in these forums.


Carl, I really don't know how long you can play the content, but I get a week out of them at the beach. Every time.

Rich

#11 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 01:27 PM

You can go into the satellite settings on the DVR you want to watch the recordings off of and change it to a single tuner DVR and you'll be fine :D


So repeat satellite setup?
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#12 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 01:29 PM

Not sure about what happens when you deactivate an HR, but I take an HR with me when I go on vacation (also bring a 1080p TV with me) and the HR has no power to it while I'm on the road. Always works as far as playing content when I get to the vacation spot. Naturally, I get the 771s, but I just hit the Playlist button and all the content is there to watch.

Rich


Thanks Rich; this is the way it always worked with TiVo units but wasn't sure about the HR24 units.
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#13 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 22,346 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 01:53 PM

Thanks Rich; this is the way it always worked with TiVo units but wasn't sure about the HR24 units.


Just remember, I haven't tried them for more than a week. A week I'm sure of, anything past that, I dunno.

Rich

#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,547 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 February 2013 - 02:18 PM

The suggestion of reconfiguring it for 1 tuner and keeping it active while you watch the recordings on it is probably the best approach. When you are done with it, call and deactivate it. Then they will send you out a recover box to return it.

#15 OFFLINE   rcork

rcork

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 02:20 PM

Unless your old HR is a 20 series.

Rich


I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.

#16 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:03 PM

I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.


Exactly. And if with the Genie you will be over 8 tuners, you will be upgraded to a SWM16.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#17 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:51 PM

I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.

Exactly. And if with the Genie you will be over 8 tuners, you will be upgraded to a SWM16.

Just make sure the installer knows before hand. If the swm16 isn't on the work order, he may not have an extra one on the truck.

#18 OFFLINE   rcork

rcork

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 11:55 AM

Installer showed up this morning and his work order had to swap and replace the existing DVRs so he had to call DTV and have the work order updated to say Install New. I had already moved all the old DVRs to a central location and connected to my network via Ethernet but not coax so I was still under the 8 tuner limit (no need to install a swm16). He hooked up the new HR34 and two C31s and everything is working as expected. I can still stream the recordings for the old DVRs to any of the new clients.

#19 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,023 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 12:16 PM

I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.


If a tech swaps a box they are supposed to get the old box in all cases it doesnt matter if it is an HR20 or an old Sony Sat-B1.

#20 OFFLINE   rcork

rcork

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 01:58 PM

If a tech swaps a box they are supposed to get the old box in all cases it doesnt matter if it is an HR20 or an old Sony Sat-B1.


Well he didn't. He just had to call DTV to have the work order updated to reflect the fact I was keeping the old boxes and that I understood I would be charged $6 for each of the DVRs until I deactivated them.

#21 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,023 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:36 PM

Well he didn't. He just had to call DTV to have the work order updated to reflect the fact I was keeping the old boxes and that I understood I would be charged $6 for each of the DVRs until I deactivated them.


In your case he did not swap a box he set the new one up as a new outlet. On a swap/replace work order the line item on the order will have the tech pick the access card that is being deactivated (some lines already have the access card picked) and that access card and receiver is expected to be brought back to the warehouse by the tech.

#22 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,486 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:40 PM

Carl, I really don't know how long you can play the content, but I get a week out of them at the beach. Every time.
Rich


Rich I am going to take one of my HR24-500s with me to Hilton Head Island this summer to see how it works because if it does that will be Fantastic to watch my Recordings while on vacation especially if it rains and I can't be outside at the pool or the beach. :hurah:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#23 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,486 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:43 PM

If a tech swaps a box they are supposed to get the old box in all cases it doesnt matter if it is an HR20 or an old Sony Sat-B1.


Well, I have 2 of them in my attic that Directv said they did not want back because they were Legacy DVRs and could no longer to sent back out to other customers.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#24 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,023 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:49 PM

Were these replaced by a tech or mailed to you? If the latter then yes they do not recover them because the cost of mailing back is not worth it. If a tech swapped them then he/she did not do their job properly as they were supposed to recover them from you. The box is recycled and the access cards are scanned for any PPV purchases that were not billed and recycled as well. (some of those cards end up being redeployed).

#25 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,486 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:52 PM

They were mailed to me as Replacement DVRs but I kept them just in case that info was wrong and down the road Directv decided they wanted them back or were going to bill me for them. :nono2:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup




Protected By... spam firewall...And...