Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Watch recordings before sending DVR back?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:28 AM

We're upgrading 1 DVR to a Genie this week (yeh!).

Before I send the old DVR back to Directv can I still use it to watch what was already recorded? In other words, have old DVR hooked to TV but not to satellite and watch recordings?
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:35 AM

You have some time, but do not power it off. If you power it off, when you power it back on it won't work without a sat signal.

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,226 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:08 AM

Also, if you are deactivating that DVR, disconnect it from the satellite before you deactivate it. You want to avoid having the deactivate signal being sent to the DVR. You also have the option of just keeping the receiver active on your account until you finish watching your recordings.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#4 OFFLINE   netraa

netraa

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 483 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:50 AM

Keep in mind if your having a technician install the genie, he's not supposed to leave without the other DVR.

#5 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,666 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:19 AM

If it is really important to be able to watch those recordings, keep that DVR active on your account until you are done watching them.

If you disconnect it from the dish before deactivating it, and are allowed to keep it by the installer, you may be able to watch recordings for a while. But eventually that ability will go away, and "eventually" could be anywhere from a few hours to a couple of weeks based on reports from many different users in these forums.

#6 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:25 AM

Genie is being shipped to me.

My problem is that if I keep the DVR that I'm swapping out active and attached to sat signal I will be over 8 tuner limit. (I have another DVR I am keeping and a regular receiver). Which box would lose 1 tuner in that battle?
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#7 OFFLINE   chevyguy559

chevyguy559

    Fresno State Bulldog!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 705 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Sep 19, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:39 AM

Genie is being shipped to me.

My problem is that if I keep the DVR that I'm swapping out active and attached to sat signal I will be over 8 tuner limit. (I have another DVR I am keeping and a regular receiver). Which box would lose 1 tuner in that battle?


You can go into the satellite settings on the DVR you want to watch the recordings off of and change it to a single tuner DVR and you'll be fine :D

DirecTV Subscriber Since 11/2008
Choice Ultimate - HD Extra - RZC
(2) HR22-100
(1) HR22-100 (Owned)
(1) HR21-100 (Owned)


#8 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:21 PM

You have some time, but do not power it off. If you power it off, when you power it back on it won't work without a sat signal.


Not sure about what happens when you deactivate an HR, but I take an HR with me when I go on vacation (also bring a 1080p TV with me) and the HR has no power to it while I'm on the road. Always works as far as playing content when I get to the vacation spot. Naturally, I get the 771s, but I just hit the Playlist button and all the content is there to watch.

Rich

#9 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:22 PM

Keep in mind if your having a technician install the genie, he's not supposed to leave without the other DVR.


Unless your old HR is a 20 series.

Rich

#10 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:24 PM

If it is really important to be able to watch those recordings, keep that DVR active on your account until you are done watching them.

If you disconnect it from the dish before deactivating it, and are allowed to keep it by the installer, you may be able to watch recordings for a while. But eventually that ability will go away, and "eventually" could be anywhere from a few hours to a couple of weeks based on reports from many different users in these forums.


Carl, I really don't know how long you can play the content, but I get a week out of them at the beach. Every time.

Rich

#11 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 01:27 PM

You can go into the satellite settings on the DVR you want to watch the recordings off of and change it to a single tuner DVR and you'll be fine :D


So repeat satellite setup?
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#12 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 03 February 2013 - 01:29 PM

Not sure about what happens when you deactivate an HR, but I take an HR with me when I go on vacation (also bring a 1080p TV with me) and the HR has no power to it while I'm on the road. Always works as far as playing content when I get to the vacation spot. Naturally, I get the 771s, but I just hit the Playlist button and all the content is there to watch.

Rich


Thanks Rich; this is the way it always worked with TiVo units but wasn't sure about the HR24 units.
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#13 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 01:53 PM

Thanks Rich; this is the way it always worked with TiVo units but wasn't sure about the HR24 units.


Just remember, I haven't tried them for more than a week. A week I'm sure of, anything past that, I dunno.

Rich

#14 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,666 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 February 2013 - 02:18 PM

The suggestion of reconfiguring it for 1 tuner and keeping it active while you watch the recordings on it is probably the best approach. When you are done with it, call and deactivate it. Then they will send you out a recover box to return it.

#15 OFFLINE   rcork

rcork

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 02:20 PM

Unless your old HR is a 20 series.

Rich


I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.

#16 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,226 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 08:03 PM

I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.


Exactly. And if with the Genie you will be over 8 tuners, you will be upgraded to a SWM16.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#17 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:51 PM

I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.

Exactly. And if with the Genie you will be over 8 tuners, you will be upgraded to a SWM16.

Just make sure the installer knows before hand. If the swm16 isn't on the work order, he may not have an extra one on the truck.

#18 OFFLINE   rcork

rcork

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 11:55 AM

Installer showed up this morning and his work order had to swap and replace the existing DVRs so he had to call DTV and have the work order updated to say Install New. I had already moved all the old DVRs to a central location and connected to my network via Ethernet but not coax so I was still under the 8 tuner limit (no need to install a swm16). He hooked up the new HR34 and two C31s and everything is working as expected. I can still stream the recordings for the old DVRs to any of the new clients.

#19 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 840 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 12:16 PM

I'm having a Genie installed tomorrow and i was told by the CSR that if i keep the old DVR's active on the account, i can keep them and watch the recorded shows and the installer wouldn't take them with him.


If a tech swaps a box they are supposed to get the old box in all cases it doesnt matter if it is an HR20 or an old Sony Sat-B1.

#20 OFFLINE   rcork

rcork

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 04 February 2013 - 01:58 PM

If a tech swaps a box they are supposed to get the old box in all cases it doesnt matter if it is an HR20 or an old Sony Sat-B1.


Well he didn't. He just had to call DTV to have the work order updated to reflect the fact I was keeping the old boxes and that I understood I would be charged $6 for each of the DVRs until I deactivated them.




spam firewall