Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Observations of 922


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   bgibb1123

bgibb1123

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2004

Posted 17 November 2013 - 02:32 PM

bkress...

 

You are not alone! Not only does my 922 have the same exact problems, I'm on number 5 or 6 - replacement 922, with ea one having the same problems you described. My latest replacement 922 was delivered just last week, and it only took a day to show a blank screen when tv was turned on. Only way to get to guide was to start the one dvr program I recorded as a test the day before. Common sense tells me there is a batch of 922's that were programed WRONG! And those ones are being sent out to loyal DISH customers as functioning 922's.


  • Rduce likes this

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Rduce

Rduce

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 337 posts
Joined: May 15, 2008

Posted 19 November 2013 - 11:41 AM

bkress...

 

You are not alone! Not only does my 922 have the same exact problems, I'm on number 5 or 6 - replacement 922, with ea one having the same problems you described. My latest replacement 922 was delivered just last week, and it only took a day to show a blank screen when tv was turned on. Only way to get to guide was to start the one dvr program I recorded as a test the day before. Common sense tells me there is a batch of 922's that were programed WRONG! And those ones are being sent out to loyal DISH customers as functioning 922's.

I am currently on my fifth 922, the longest one lasted was a little over 6 months, the other's were down and out within two weeks. Incidentally, my latest replacement is now two weeks old and it is beginning to act up as well. I am really disappointed with them, but when they work I really like them!



#28 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 449 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 19 November 2013 - 10:25 PM

Upgrade to a Hopper/Joey system. Its far superior to the older Dish DVRs'.



#29 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,389 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 November 2013 - 12:52 AM

there is whole forum dedicated to H/H2/J

 

if you could start reading there, you would become an expert

 

also look at www.dishuser.org/hopper.php



#30 OFFLINE   Rduce

Rduce

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 337 posts
Joined: May 15, 2008

Posted 20 November 2013 - 12:25 PM

Upgrade to a Hopper/Joey system. Its far superior to the older Dish DVRs'.

Such a system also costs considerably more than the $55 per month I am currently paying for the 922 which controls my HD television in my family room and my small bedroom set that really matters little that it is only SD. I would drop back to a 722K that I have in the closet, before investing in another two year commitment. 



#31 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,633 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 20 November 2013 - 06:53 PM

I am on my second 922...  I lost track of how long my first one lasted.  I haven't had nearly the troubles that some have had... though I did lose one that one time and trashed a bunch of recordings... still, in the scheme of things, something to be expected eventually.


  • Rduce likes this

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#32 OFFLINE   Rduce

Rduce

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 337 posts
Joined: May 15, 2008

Posted 19 December 2013 - 10:00 PM

My month old replacement went nuts, froze up on a black screen while I was watching a recorded program. Had to do a power plug reboot to get it back, as the front panel red button did not want to restart the system. Once it rebooted it did not show any recordings on the my recordings screen, even though it showed that the unit had a 4% full hard drive. Contacted tech support via online chat and stated it needs to be replaced, which will make for number 6 since February. Love the unit when it works, but will not upgrade to a Hopper no matter what anyone says. Do not want the added expense, so as long as Dish keeps replacing these, I will keep sending back the broken one!






Protected By... spam firewall...And...