Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Any particular AVR better than others With DirecTV HDMI ?


  • Please log in to reply
82 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 21 February 2013 - 07:32 AM

Fry's had the V573 for $288 last week.


Well that doesnt do anyone any good this week does it? :lol:

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,071 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 21 February 2013 - 08:15 AM

Well that doesnt do anyone any good this week does it? :lol:


+1 :lol:

DIRECTV customer since 1995.


#53 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,512 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 February 2013 - 08:17 AM

Well that doesnt do anyone any good this week does it? :lol:


No, but typically those deals come around every 4-6 weeks, so it'll be back.

Once I decide on a piece of equipment, I check the lowest price in the last several months via camelcamel or slickdeals and then set up an alert with both and get ready to pounce.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#54 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,081 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 21 February 2013 - 09:56 AM

There is no "Fry's" near me, but I suppose they can ship?

The 473 retails for $450 so I thought $299 was a good deal! Compared to other receivers with AirPlay, that's not a bad price.

I don't need 7.1 or have wiring in my walls for 7 satellites. With a baby and a wife who for sure is going to be yelling "turn it down!!!!" I figured keep it simple.

I have wiring and banana jack wall plate supporting 5.1 setup.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#55 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,512 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 February 2013 - 10:19 AM

Actually, the real retail price on the 473 is $399, and the standard price on Amazon is $299 (this year), although it's been as low as $285 a couple of times this month.

It's a decent price, and if you're happy with it, that's all that matters.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#56 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 21 February 2013 - 10:52 PM

Onkyo believer here, have never run across one that the dtv remote wont control, volume and on and off

Yamaha work, but no on off feature.

Harman Kardon id stay away from, had several of them not do the hdmi handshake and just give black screen, do a search and you will find compatibility issues with dtv and harman. I tried 5 different dtv boxes at one house with a harman avr, no dice.

Onkyo for ease of use and setup. Have run into many recievers where i couldnt changed the audio from optical to coax without special buttons or sequences of buttons that requries a user manual. Onkyo has all buttons on front panel and no secret codes or sequences.

Ive run accross a few denons, very hard to get things setup even with the remote handy.
Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#57 OFFLINE   Bigwayne13

Bigwayne13

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2010

Posted 23 February 2013 - 07:44 AM

I've got a Marantz and have my DTV HR34 connected via HDMI and have had absolutly no issues. ;)

#58 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,081 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 23 February 2013 - 10:09 AM

Well so far no problems with HDMI handshaking to the yamaha 473. On top of that,airplay is amazing. DirecTV only has YouTube and pandora, but with AirPlay I can send audio from Vevo, slacker, siriusxm and others. Pretty slick considering the YouTube search on DirecTV filters out a lot of "official" music videos (most VEVO content actually).

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#59 ONLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,343 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 23 February 2013 - 12:54 PM

I'm going to go against the trend here. On the DirecTV tech support web site, we see more HDMI issues with Denon than with all the others added together. Of course, that could easily be because there are more people with Denon, but it might be worth noting. Least number of issues? Almost certainly with Sony..

#60 OFFLINE   AlanSaysYo

AlanSaysYo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 24 February 2013 - 09:25 AM

I have a Harman Kardon and can't find a remote code to switch inputs from the DirecTV remote. So that's a bummer. Otherwise it works fine - no HDMI issues.

#61 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,081 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:53 AM

The only issue I have is the directv remote codes only do volume. You still have to reach for the yamaha remote to power it on or off. Not sure if there's ever plans to update the remote code database.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#62 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 301 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 25 February 2013 - 02:00 PM

If I get one that has composite (yellow) out, can I run that into my VCR to send a downconverted version of the HDMI input?


Currently when I'm in the bedroom (SDTV) I have to press and hold exit to get a huge windows 8 looking screen that says "your cables or tv is not in HD". Then if I go down to the family room I have to press and hold exit to go back to HD out on the HDMI jack there. The short is both are not enjoyable at the same time.

I use an old VCR solely as a Ch 4 modulator to send a receiver output to the bedroom. I use an IR / RF repeater to bounce remote signals from the bedroom down to the family room where this is setup.

If an AVR fixes this, I'll take the composite feed from it into the VCR rather than the one from the directv box.


The only fix To get Rid of Directv intrusive BLACK BOX in the middle of the screen is use http://www.monoprice...CFUVN4AodWF8AoQ I bought one and it works thru out my house to my older TV's

King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#63 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 301 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 25 February 2013 - 02:02 PM

I have been searching , but came up empty handed has anyone found a AVR with network that allows Video streaming from a PC ? I found alot that will do music but No Video

King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#64 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 25 February 2013 - 02:58 PM

I have been searching , but came up empty handed has anyone found a AVR with network that allows Video streaming from a PC ? I found alot that will do music but No Video


I don't think you'll find one either. Since pretty much every gaming console, tv, or ROKU type device does that already, there is really no need for an AVR to stream video.

#65 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 301 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 26 February 2013 - 07:37 AM

I don't think you'll find one either. Since pretty much every gaming console, tv, or ROKU type device does that already, there is really no need for an AVR to stream video.


I have a Linksys Media Extender. But since im getting a New AVR would like to reduce the equipment on my rack. Now Im looking at new Game console PS4 or Xbox 720 I know the game units will stream also but since I have the AVR on its silly to boot up the game console :( just to watch a movie.

King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#66 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,101 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:11 AM

Had a little nomenclature issue with an Onkyo (and it was my fault).

I wanted an AVR that would pass HDMI on one input to it's output when the receiver was off. Saw a feature called "HDMI pass thru" and figured that was it.

Well, "HDMI pass thru" is a bit for bit passing feature to let 3D signals thru (but with out volume bug, etc) so it didn't really do what I wanted.

I'd swear I heard of an AVR that can pass one HDMI input when off, but of course, I can't find it now.


(why do I want this? have the occasional client that wants to use full surround/subwoofer experience for himself only, but for wifey and kiddlings, just wants the TV to work with out the AVR. Saves some headaches for everybody. I have wired component connections to display directly and HDMI thru AVR, but it would save some wiring and fiddling with the remote if an AVR could pass HDMI Sat input when off)

#67 OFFLINE   moghedien

moghedien

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2007

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:32 AM

Had a little nomenclature issue with an Onkyo (and it was my fault).

I wanted an AVR that would pass HDMI on one input to it's output when the receiver was off. Saw a feature called "HDMI pass thru" and figured that was it.

Well, "HDMI pass thru" is a bit for bit passing feature to let 3D signals thru (but with out volume bug, etc) so it didn't really do what I wanted.

I'd swear I heard of an AVR that can pass one HDMI input when off, but of course, I can't find it now.


The yamaha RX-V473 does this passthru like you want, but I can't believe it is the only model that can do this...

#68 OFFLINE   hancox

hancox

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 457 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:39 AM

One thing to note:

The HR24-500's colorspace might not work with all HDMI ports on a Denon receiver. I needed to fiddle around with it, bit it eventually worked.

I'm assuming some other AVR's might have the same issue.

#69 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,114 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 26 February 2013 - 09:22 AM

HDMI passthru is a pretty common feature now. I have it in my Yamaha RXA1010.

#70 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,101 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:25 AM

Appreciate the help there!

Great feature for what some people want to do. I thought it was a real thing, but I'm getting old and wouldn't be surprised if I mis-heard something.

#71 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:39 PM

Denon has pass thru when off as well.

#72 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,551 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:55 PM

Err... never mind..
http://www.avsforum....problems-thread


Bummer. I really like the feature-set of the 616 and have been contemplating picking it up. I had read the 8/12 firmware update had fixed the bugs. Seeing that issues were reported right up to yesterday, I suppose I'll wait. I'm in the market for an upgrade. I liked that the Onkyo streams Sirius/XM, Spotify and can do bluetooth (with a USB adapter). Lucky for me, I can wait.

#73 OFFLINE   canesice

canesice

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2009

Posted 26 February 2013 - 01:14 PM

I have the pioneer VSX-1122.. It has video pass through, but I havent used it.
I can tell you that I use the qdeo video processing features of the 1122, and the picture is really crisp. I am very pleased with the conversion options on this unit, and quite frankly I bought it for the audio capabilities, without even researching this piece

I am really loving my 7.2 setup, with directv...

#74 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,721 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 27 February 2013 - 05:51 AM

I have the pioneer VSX-1122.. It has video pass through, but I havent used it.
I can tell you that I use the qdeo video processing features of the 1122, and the picture is really crisp. I am very pleased with the conversion options on this unit, and quite frankly I bought it for the audio capabilities, without even researching this piece

I am really loving my 7.2 setup, with directv...

That's a great receiver. I had a VSX-1121 and loved it.

I came across a half-price deal on an SC-1222 the other day, which is basically the same receiver as the 1122, except for a Class D amp. I've only spent a few hours with it so far, but it appears to work great, connected to my Genie.
/steve

#75 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,081 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 27 February 2013 - 09:58 PM

Well I broke down and bought a Logitech harmony 650. I love it!

Got old using two remotes as the directv supplied codes for yamaha cannot power the AVR on/off. It only did volume.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...