Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Ethernet MRV 2 HDDVR's, one not seeing the other


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   heebzman

heebzman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2007

Posted 08 February 2013 - 11:51 AM

Hey guys,
Sorry if this has been asked or covered, and search didnt really help as I was having a hard time simplifying what I wanted to ask. Here is my issue.
I have two HR23's connected via wired ethernet running through a DLINK DIR-655. I have had this working for years since the beta testing with no issues.

Recently my living room box does not see the bedroom box. It connects to the internet, and I have restarted the box numerous times but it will not show the other connected HDDVR.

The bedroom box sees the living room box no issue. I can view and play living room recorded shows, etc.

Normally I would say that the living room box is having network issues and go from there but system tests as well as downloading on demand content tells me otherwise. Like I said I had re-run network set up and restarted the box but still it does not see any other networked box. I am kind of at a loss. There has been no changes to my network, everything is running fine (I have numerous wired and wireless items).

Any ideas or something I am forgetting ?

Thanks

Edited by heebzman, 08 February 2013 - 11:55 AM.
added some info


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,148 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 08 February 2013 - 12:29 PM

Are you using static IP or dhcp? If regular dhcp you might try either reserving the IP addresses for your DVRs (in your router), or switching to static IPs. Also make sure you have not turned off sharing in the one DVR (under the whole-home menu in setup). And, make sure your list is not set to local only.

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 February 2013 - 12:32 PM

Also make sure you have not turned off sharing in the one DVR (under the whole-home menu in setup). And, make sure your list is not set to local only.


+1

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 February 2013 - 12:41 PM

I have restarted the box numerous times but it will not show the other connected HDDVR.

Any ideas or something I am forgetting ?

Thanks

Have you restarted the other one yet?
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   heebzman

heebzman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2007

Posted 08 February 2013 - 01:18 PM

sharing is turned on, however I am not using a static IP for them. Like I said I have had these running with literally zero issues since we could beta test MRV.

I thought I did at one point try restarting the bedroom DVR, but maybe not. I am not at home but I will try that as soon as I can.

Thanks

#6 OFFLINE   Rent_Share

Rent_Share

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2011

Posted 08 February 2013 - 01:49 PM

There should be a reset button on the router, requiring a paper clip to depress

Dish Slimline-5 WB68 MRV Enabled (Non Supported) Cat 5
HR20-100 - HR21/100 - HR23-700 - Not Networked DSR708 SD


#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 February 2013 - 06:17 PM

Verify that the bedroom receiver has sharing turned on. Then verify that the living room box is showing the playlist for all receivers and not just the local receiver.

If that is good, try a reset of the router and then rerun network setup on each receiver.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   VelvetUn

VelvetUn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 04 March 2013 - 02:21 PM

I'm having the same problem as the OP. I'm on ethernet, with the family room hardwired and the bedroom on wifi. The bedroom can see the family room, but not vice-versa.

I also have had this setup for awhile, with minimal issues. I have reset the router and re-ran the network setup on both receivers. As of now, the bedroom can still see the family room, but not the other way around. I have quadruple checked, and both dvrs have sharing on.

My family room DVR is on a static IP, but not the bedroom.

Any ideas?

#9 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 March 2013 - 06:40 PM

I'm having the same problem as the OP. I'm on ethernet, with the family room hardwired and the bedroom on wifi. The bedroom can see the family room, but not vice-versa.

I also have had this setup for awhile, with minimal issues. I have reset the router and re-ran the network setup on both receivers. As of now, the bedroom can still see the family room, but not the other way around. I have quadruple checked, and both dvrs have sharing on.

My family room DVR is on a static IP, but not the bedroom.

Any ideas?


Make sure that the Family Room DVR PlayList is not set to show only the local playlist.

Also, why do you have one DVR with a static IP address and the other using DHCP?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#10 OFFLINE   VelvetUn

VelvetUn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:16 AM

I have restored the network setting defaults and re-run the network setup and now I am getting an error 22, but my bedroom DVR can still see the family room list.

I have looked at a few Error 22 threads and tried some of the solutions (no IP conflicts, restarting and running system test) without luck. I can still DOD from the family room and the playlist is still visible on the bedroom. At Merg's suggestion, I removed the static IP on the family room, which is when the Error 22 began.

Here are the network settings.

Family Room:
IP: 192.168.0.5
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
DNS: 192.168.0.1

Bedroom:
IP: 192.168.0.5
Subnet: 255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
DNS: 192.168.0.1

Thank you for the help.

#11 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:22 AM

Here are the network settings.

Family Room:
IP: 192.168.0.5 <----
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
DNS: 192.168.0.1

Bedroom:
IP: 192.168.0.5 <-----
Subnet: 255.255.0 <--- typo?
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
DNS: 192.168.0.1

Thank you for the help.

Two receivers can''t have the same IP address.
A.K.A VOS

#12 OFFLINE   VelvetUn

VelvetUn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:42 AM

You are correct, sorry.

Bedroom is 192.168.0.4.

Subnets are both 255.255.255.0 though.

#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:50 AM

You are correct, sorry.

Bedroom is 192.168.0.4.

Subnets are both 255.255.255.0 though.

So "now we know" what isn't the problem. :eek2: :lol:

It isn't clear if you've rebooted the receivers after resetting the network defaults.
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   VelvetUn

VelvetUn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 05 March 2013 - 10:55 AM

Have now done a reset from the menu (not red button) but still have the 22.

Network info (IP, subnet, etc) all stayed the same.

#15 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 11:07 AM

Have now done a reset from the menu (not red button) but still have the 22.

Network info (IP, subnet, etc) all stayed the same.

I'm "out of tricks"
I've been using DECA for a few years, but back before I had it, there was a time when one DVR couldn't see the others [or the others could see it]. DirecTV2PC had no problem, but MRV did.
It turned out to be my router.
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   waylonrobert

waylonrobert

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2010

Posted 05 March 2013 - 01:20 PM

Do you have other networked devices on the same subnet? If so, are you having any issues with them? If so it could be your router.

#17 OFFLINE   VelvetUn

VelvetUn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 05 March 2013 - 01:48 PM

Do you have other networked devices on the same subnet? If so, are you having any issues with them? If so it could be your router.


As far as I can tell the subnet is the same on the computer I'm using and both DVRs (255.255.255.0). I thought the subnets needed to be the same so each device could be seen on the network, should they be different?

#18 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 01:53 PM

As far as I can tell the subnet is the same on the computer I'm using and both DVRs (255.255.255.0). I thought the subnets needed to be the same so each device could be seen on the network, should they be different?

"no" if they are then they can't see each other.

Do you have a switch "laying around"?

If so, then you could try it instead of your router. Resetting network defaults, or if they're still in default, and rebooting all the receivers will have them change their IPs to 169.xxx, and a subnet of 255.255.0.0
It may take a while for the receivers to find each other, but after a while they will and if you no longer have the problem, it points to it being the router.
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   Vin

Vin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2004

Posted 05 March 2013 - 02:15 PM

Do you have a switch "laying around"?


One of his DVRs is connected via Wi-Fi.
Vin

#20 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,933 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 02:17 PM

One of his DVRs is connected via Wi-Fi.

Well that doesn't help, but was it the one with the problems?
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...