Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home playback ... just ..... stops.


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 832 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 10 February 2013 - 12:59 PM

Quick question as to what part may be failing, if any, here.

The system is your basic whole home setup with Cinema Connection Kit. There are two HR24s. ONE of them has an external 1TB drive via the esata connection. There is no indication the external is failing, local playback on this machine is fine.

However, when you try to access any program on the remote DVR, from either DVR, the program will play fine for 5-10 minutes, then simply stop, just as if you'd hit the pause button. At that point, the program may resume after 10-15 seconds, or not. Once this begins it happens repeatedly every five minutes or so.

Another, possibly related, symptom...when trying to download on demand content, there is an occasional warning that there is no connection to the Internet. This lasts for a second or so, then downloading resumes.

All connections have been double checked, all components have been rebooted.

Any thoughts where to begin on this one, folks?


Thanks in advance! Mike Nassour

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,592 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:10 PM

How exactly are the DVRs networked together?
Have you tried resetting all of your WHDVR DVRs and Receivers?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 832 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:18 PM

They are networked through the coax, no ethernet here.

We have reset both HR24s, the CCK, the router and power supply twice in two days and we still have the issue.

#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:36 PM

They are networked through the coax, no ethernet here.

We have reset both HR24s, the CCK, the router and power supply twice in two days and we still have the issue.


Disconnect the CCK and rerun Network Setup in each DVR. The DVRs will revert to APIPA for their IP address (169.254.x.x). After a few minutes (and yes, it will take a few minutes), they will see each other. Give MRV a try and see if the issue persists. If it works fine, the issue is most likely something with how your router is interacting with your DirecTV receivers. Some possible solutions then would be to try DHCP Reservations or Static IPs.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 832 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:49 PM

Great...that will be my project for this evening <grin>. This is the same router I've been using since we installed MRV months ago. I suppose it could fail, but I can't imagine what else could have changed. Many thanks for the tips, will report back tomorrow.

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 05:18 PM

It's not that the router failed, but sometimes routers, DHCP, and DirecTV receivers don't always play along nicely with each other. The solution is to use DHCP Reservations or Static IP Addresses.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 832 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 11 February 2013 - 11:03 PM

Just reporting back....no glitches whatsoever with CCK disconnected. Will test further, then will probably be back for a lesson on DHCP Reservations and Static IP Addresses <grin>.

#8 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,619 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 11 February 2013 - 11:22 PM

Just reporting back....no glitches whatsoever with CCK disconnected. Will test further, then will probably be back for a lesson on DHCP Reservations and Static IP Addresses <grin>.


I'm in no way a tech guru for advance setup to router, so I would like to know as well about Static ip's, But for now my MRV networked dvr's are working fine when i restore defaults instead of just repeating network setup for each receivers, after a router reboot.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#9 OFFLINE   brad2388

brad2388

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2011

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:36 AM

Imma also play with this tonight. For a static ip you just get the gateway ip address from your router and subnet mask and make an ip address one digit off from everything else. Like your lan might be 192.168.0.100. Make the directv reciever say 192.168.0.101 and 192.168.0.101 on a different reciever.

#10 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:53 AM

Imma also play with this tonight. For a static ip you just get the gateway ip address from your router and subnet mask and make an ip address one digit off from everything else. Like your lan might be 192.168.0.100. Make the directv reciever say 192.168.0.101 and 192.168.0.101 on a different reciever.


What you need to be careful when doing this is that you don't want to pick an IP address in the router's DHCP range. Doing so can lead to unexpected results.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,683 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:20 AM

Like your lan might be 192.168.0.100. Make the directv reciever say 192.168.0.101 and 192.168.0.101 on a different reciever.


RIght, is not as easy as just entering "random" numbers on the DirecTV receivers. These static IP addresses must be outside of the DHCP range or at least do a DHCP reservation with the MAc address of the receivers.

#12 OFFLINE   brad2388

brad2388

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2011

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:23 AM

True but the 100 should be high enough to be out of the dhcp range for most people as they start as 1 for most people. If you set the static on the directv the rest will find a new number.

#13 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,826 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:49 AM

True but the 100 should be high enough to be out of the dhcp range for most people as they start as 1 for most people. If you set the static on the directv the rest will find a new number.


Not always...some routers START the DHCP range at 100 by default (IIRC, Linksys works this way).

You need to look at the DHCP configuration page in your router's management interface. It will list the starting or base DHCP address and either an ending address or a number of addresses to make available.

For example, it might list a starting address of "192.168.1.100" and a "number of addresses" of 25. In this case the end of the DHCP pool is 192.168.1.124. You could safely use static IPs of 192.168.1.99 or lower, or 192.168.1.125 or higher.

Other routers will list a starting and an ending pool address. Again, only assign static addresses below the starting address or above the ending address. The maximum number for the last part of the address is 254 (i.e. 192.168.1.254).

In almost every case, you want the first 3 numbers (i.e. "192.168.1") to be the same for all nodes. Some routers use 192.168.1.xxx while others use 192.168.0.xxx. It doesn't matter which is used, but they should be consistent within your local network. There are circumstances where you might have different values in the third position, but those are special cases and not applicable for this discussion.

Edited by Diana C, 12 February 2013 - 09:58 AM.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,905 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:50 AM

True but the 100 should be high enough to be out of the dhcp range for most people as they start as 1 for most people. If you set the static on the directv the rest will find a new number.


Most routers let you specify the dhcp range, or have a published dhcp range. Don't just assume 100 (or any number) is outside the range.

#15 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 12 February 2013 - 01:23 PM

Check out this thread... especially Post #3... :)

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=185713

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#16 OFFLINE   brad2388

brad2388

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2011

Posted 13 February 2013 - 08:50 PM

Well i set static ip address on all the recievers yeaterday and today they disconnect 3 times while watching shows off each reciever. So this is no fix.

#17 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,619 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:02 PM

I'm surprised that MRV works in my setup since I'm doing it wirelessly from my HR22 on W-CCK to the H24 (hardwired directly from router), But that's probably because of the location of the wireless router near the living room from the closest bedroom which is a least 10 to 12 feet away, And using medialink router that I bought from Amazon, But I'm already thinking of hardwiring it directly anyways because sometimes I get dropouts and disconnects.

Edited by acostapimps, 13 February 2013 - 10:38 PM.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#18 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,619 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:16 PM

Sometimes but not always there would be IP address conflicts after rebooting router, so it's better to reset network setup(meaning restore default values in the advance setup on network settings menu) Where you see the IP address,DNS,Subnet and MAC Address instead of just trying to repeat the network setup, Try on each receiver on MRV, At least that's how it worked for me on DHCP not Static

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#19 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:58 AM

Well i set static ip address on all the recievers yeaterday and today they disconnect 3 times while watching shows off each reciever. So this is no fix.


Try disconnecting your CCK, reset the network settings, and then rerun the network setup. Give that a try and let us know what happens.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#20 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 832 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 17 February 2013 - 09:13 PM

Aw, hell. Well the protection plan folks were spectacularly unhelpful today. The best they could suggest was to make sure I had the latest software in the receivers. As it turns out, I didn't. Forced a download to the most recent and it made no difference whatsoever. The first time the video froze, I yanked the Ethernet cable to the CCK. Video immediately restarted and has been stable since.

So....would anyone care to give me a quick lesson on setting static IPs on each of my two HR24s? Frankly, I've never done this before and would like to give it a shot before popping for a new router.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...