Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Data usage & Netzero


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:31 PM

Currently, I have Uverse for my ISP. Due to my disability I use my laptop for everything including phone calls via Skype. Sometimes Uverse craps out requiring a unplugging of a box in our garage that I can't do.

What I need is an internet connection in case I desperately need to make a call via Skype. Netzero offers a small device to act as a hotspot with different data plans...

200 MB - Free for up to a year
500 MB - $9.95
1 GB - $19.95
2 GB - $34.95
4 GB - $49.95

Does anyone know how much data a Skype call (no video, just to a cell) uses so I'll know which plan I need?

Does anyone have any experience with Netzero?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:44 PM

I know that Vonage is 90 kb/s. Skype is similar.

EDIT: Here you go.

If you are signed in to Skype but not making any calls, Skype will use on average 0-4kbps. When you make a call, Skype will use on average between 24-128kbps.


https://support.skyp...does-skype-need

Edited by hilmar2k, 10 February 2013 - 01:54 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:59 PM

I know that Vonage is 90 kb/s. Skype is similar.


Great, now I have to do math. ;)

Worst case scenario ... 4 different 10 minute calls = 2,400 kb/s = 2.34375 MB

Right?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:02 PM

Great, now I have to do math. ;)

Worst case scenario ... 4 different 10 minute calls = 2,400 kb/s = 2.34375 MB

Right?


My math says at the high end of Skype's range, it is about 7.5 Mb per minute call. So 40 total minutes would be 300 Mb.

#5 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:08 PM

My math says at the high end of Skype's range, it is about 7.5 Mb per minute call. So 40 total minutes would be 300 Mb.


We'll go with your math. :)
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#6 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:15 PM

We'll go with your math. :)


Well, it did involve the use of Excel......;)

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,916 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:18 PM

if they are measure in kilo bits per second, then divide your total to 8 or 10 ;)

#8 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:21 PM

if they are measure in kilo bits per second, then divide your total to 8 or 10 ;)


Crap....forgot that step. So my number is off by a factor of 8. That makes the total 37.5 MB.

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,916 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:24 PM

what would lead to FREE service;

actually, if you'll see "spilling of" the limit, you always could buy new plan

#10 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,605 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:35 PM

Currently, I have Uverse for my ISP. Due to my disability I use my laptop for everything including phone calls via Skype. Sometimes Uverse craps out requiring a unplugging of a box in our garage that I can't do.

What I need is an internet connection in case I desperately need to make a call via Skype. Netzero offers a small device to act as a hotspot with different data plans...

200 MB - Free for up to a year
500 MB - $9.95
1 GB - $19.95
2 GB - $34.95
4 GB - $49.95

Does anyone know how much data a Skype call (no video, just to a cell) uses so I'll know which plan I need?

Does anyone have any experience with Netzero?


How much effort / cost would it take to relocate the box that needs resetting to where you can get to it easily.

My son is physically handicapped and can not reach the modem and router on our service. I got him a cheap surge suppressor power strip and plugged each of them into it. Now all he has to do is flip the switch that is easily gotten to ( placed it on top of his desk ) and he can turn them on and off to reset them both at the same time.

My second son had netzero for a couple of years. It is the worst service I have seen. super slow.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#11 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:47 PM

Or even something like this.

http://www.newegg.co...-9SIA1HE0F18391

#12 OFFLINE   kiknwing

kiknwing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 495 posts
  • LocationOgden, UT
Joined: Jun 24, 2009

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:48 PM

For a backup service I use FreedomPop, 500MB for free each month. The device only cost me $99 and if I return the hotspot, I will receive the $99 back. FreedomPop uses the same network at netzero (Clear).

My Setup
Directv '98


#13 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:52 PM

Thanks for the suggestions but unfortunately it can't be moved.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#14 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 03:02 PM

Thanks for the suggestions but unfortunately it can't be moved.


Would the remote controlled outlet I linked to work?

#15 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,916 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 February 2013 - 03:10 PM

or X-10 gadgets ?

#16 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 03:12 PM

Would the remote controlled outlet I linked to work?


Actually, yes for something else I have. Thanks!
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...