Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Dolby digital?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
35 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jrr4

jrr4

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:21 PM

I've got the stereo receiver set for auto format decode (meaning that whatever the signal coming in is what's put out). Xbox, I've got full DD surround. Blu-ray? Same thing. HR24-200? No surround. The Dolby Digital is turned on, and I can switch between the English DD and the SAP DD, so it screams that it's working.

Any thoughts?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:23 PM

What are you getting?

#3 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:24 PM

Make sure the program is in Dolby. Then toggle the DD off and back on in the setup, and see if anything changes. Sometimes it gets confused.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,291 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:24 PM

How is your receiver connected to the surround sound receiver?

#5 OFFLINE   jrr4

jrr4

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:32 PM

I'm only getting the front speakers. I'm connected by HDMI

#6 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,068 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:34 PM

I'm only getting the front speakers. I'm connected by HDMI


Are you sure the content you are watching is being broadcast in DD?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#7 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:34 PM

I'm only getting the front speakers. I'm connected by HDMI


You may be watching something in DD 2.0, not 5.1.

Are you sure the content you are watching is being broadcast in DD?


DD does not mean 5.1.

#8 OFFLINE   jrr4

jrr4

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:37 PM

Almost certain. Wouldn't Fast Five on HBO (tuned for testing purposes only) be in DD?

#9 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,068 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:39 PM

DD does not mean 5.1.


I'm well aware of that.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#10 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:48 PM

Almost certain. Wouldn't Fast Five on HBO (tuned for testing purposes only) be in DD?


I am getting 5.1 on it here.

#11 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,831 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 February 2013 - 06:03 PM

I've got the stereo receiver set for auto format decode (meaning that whatever the signal coming in is what's put out). Xbox, I've got full DD surround. Blu-ray? Same thing. HR24-200? No surround. The Dolby Digital is turned on, and I can switch between the English DD and the SAP DD, so it screams that it's working.

Any thoughts?


Check the settings for the particular HDMI input that you are using for the HR24. Each connection can usually be customized in the AV receiver. If it can and you have it set to Auto, try chanigng it to 1080i.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#12 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 515 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 11 February 2013 - 12:26 PM

Make sure the INPUT on your receiver is configured for surround -- most receivers require that each input have it's audio configured via a sub-menu.
HS
D* user since 11/94

#13 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,479 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 February 2013 - 12:36 PM

You may be watching something in DD 2.0, not 5.1.

DD does not mean 5.1.


I had a similar Problem where I was just getting DD 2.0 and that was the first time I became aware that there could be such a thing as DD 2.0. :eek2:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#14 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,905 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 11 February 2013 - 12:47 PM

I had a similar Problem where I was just getting DD 2.0 and that was the first time I became aware that there could be such a thing as DD 2.0. :eek2:


I've come across some movies on Blu-ray that are like that. "Casablanca" is mastered in DTS Master Audio English 1.0. "The Green Berets"is mastered in Dolby True HD English 1.0.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#15 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,123 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 February 2013 - 12:56 PM

I've come across some movies on Blu-ray that are like that. "Casablanca" is mastered in DTS Master Audio English 1.0. "The Green Berets"is mastered in Dolby True HD English 1.0.


Is that just the center speaker?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#16 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,905 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 11 February 2013 - 12:57 PM

Is that just the center speaker?


Yes

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#17 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,123 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:11 PM

Yes

That's got to sound weird.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#18 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,596 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:16 PM

That's got to sound weird.


Not at all. That's how it should sound.
DTV = Digital Television

#19 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,905 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:21 PM

That's got to sound weird.


Believe it or not, in both cases it's a improvement over previous versions released on DVD.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,291 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:27 PM

Is that just the center speaker?


http://www.blu-ray.c...-Blu-ray/33623/




Protected By... spam firewall...And...