Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

multi room viewing


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 10:23 AM

Decas are swapped...lights are the same
LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#42 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 10:39 AM

Decas are swapped...lights are the same

Please explain "the same".
If the clink light is out on the DECA after it's been swapped to the other receiver, "more than likely" this DECA is defective.
A.K.A VOS

#43 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 10:43 AM

Yes the older deca, now on the hr21, still has power and network on, clink off

The new deca, now on the hr22 still has a green power light and an orange network light
LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#44 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 10:51 AM

Yes the older deca, now on the hr21, still has power and network on, clink off

The new deca, now on the hr22 still has a green power light and an orange network light

Orange network light isn't good either.
you may have a cabling problem.

Time to move to the Genie and run a coax networking test from it.

On the front panel, press both the guide and right arrow at the same time. It may take a few tries before you see the screen/menu with "coax" on the left.
Once you get to this, select coax and it will test the loss to all the other DECAs.
The next test is Phy Mesh.

Post the results of these two.

the screens look like this: http://www.dbstalk.c...99&postcount=19
A.K.A VOS

#45 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 11:23 AM

That info I posted earlier, I think it was post #4, Ethernet was still connected at that time
LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#46 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 11:31 AM

That info I posted earlier, I think it was post #4, Ethernet was still connected at that time

If that's still the same, then "you don't have a problem". :lol:

You have a new DECA that is green at one location, but orange at another.

You have an older DECA that doesn't light the clink light.

The one that doesn't light can "just be bad", but the one that changes colors is showing "correctly".

:shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#47 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 12:14 PM

Well, thanks for the input. I have a service call scheduled for Tuesday - any thoughts on things I should ensure the tech is checking?
LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#48 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 12:25 PM

Well, thanks for the input. I have a service call scheduled for Tuesday - any thoughts on things I should ensure the tech is checking?

Right now its a bit of a crap shoot, since there are conflicting results.

Something you might look at is with the DECAs swapped, and still no internet connection, are you still having problems with the HR22 MRV?
A.K.A VOS

#49 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 11:04 PM

I reran the diagnostics...


Node 0 -33
Node 1 -32
Node 2 -23
Node 3 n/a

Phy rate mesh
Node 0. 248 249 248 249
Node 1 246 243 244 245
Node 2 250 250 247 250
Node 3 249 249 246 245

Not sure why diagnostics shows nodes 0 thru 3 now instead of 0 thru 2 like before.

On an unrelated note, watched an hour program on the hr34 streaming from the hr22 tonight with no problems after switching decas...


And, despite no changes whatsoever both decas now have all lights lit and green. For now, anyway.

Edited by garywitt, 16 March 2013 - 11:15 PM.

LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#50 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 March 2013 - 11:41 PM

I reran the diagnostics...


Node 0 -33
Node 1 -32
Node 2 -23
Node 3 n/a

Phy rate mesh
Node 0. 248 249 248 249
Node 1 246 243 244 245
Node 2 250 250 247 250
Node 3 249 249 246 245

Not sure why diagnostics shows nodes 0 thru 3 now instead of 0 thru 2 like before.

On an unrelated note, watched an hour program on the hr34 streaming from the hr22 tonight with no problems after switching decas...


And, despite no changes whatsoever both decas now have all lights lit and green. For now, anyway.

You currently have four DECAs, where before only three were reporting.

The loss & Mesh look good.
Green lights are good too.
Keep an eye on things and check the lights should something cause problems again.
A.K.A VOS

#51 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 02:21 PM

Directv tech just left. Things look good, at least for now. He identified a signal problem with the LNB, leading to even transponders having 50% strength and replaced it, I don't think that was related to my MRV issues but good anyway. Apparently the first installation did not use the approved 3gb coax connectors so he replaced all those. Still had difficulty getting a good clink light on the decas so he replaced the swm16 unit and 4 way splitter I have outside, immediately everything worked. It does seem that the swm and/or splitter may have been the problem.

Fingers crossed, so far, so good...

Also, on the phy and mesh tests I now have 5 locations consistently reporting...I traced the MACs and it is indeed the HR34, the decas for the 21 and 22, the c31, and the deca bb adapter. I'm not sure which ones were not showing before but now all 5 are there each time I test.

Edited by garywitt, 19 March 2013 - 02:33 PM.

LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#52 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 02:31 PM

Seems "unlikely" it was the SWiM-16, and maybe it was the splitter, but either way it sounds like things are working more like they should now.
After things settle down, you can go back to the router connection and see if things keep working.
A.K.A VOS

#53 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 02:34 PM

Thanks for all the help! And things are connected now including the router...if I continue to get drops I will disconnect the router again and see how things go.
LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#54 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 02:41 PM

Thanks for all the help! And things are connected now including the router...if I continue to get drops I will disconnect the router again and see how things go.

It might be of some interest to check the Genie DECA losses and compare them to the earlier test.
A.K.A VOS

#55 OFFLINE   garywitt

garywitt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 03:13 PM

Here ya go...


Node 0. N/a
Node 1 -23. C31
Node 2 -34. Deca BB adapter
Node 3 -32 hr21
Node 4 -32 hr22

Nodes
0 246 248 250 253 253
1 252 250 252 252 253
2 253 244 244 253 253
3 251 246 252 245 253
4 252 244 252 253 243

Thoughts?
LNB3 with SWM16
HR34,HR22,HR20,R22

#56 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,733 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 03:47 PM

Here ya go...

Thoughts?

:shrug:
There doesn't look to be any change, which makes it hard to believe the change of hardware actually did anything.
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall