Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Turned off Genie


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:33 AM

I've been using HR34 for the last 5 months and had Genie turned on and not once, I've watched any shows that was recommended to me. I find that the recommendations to be way off from the viewing habits.

Does anyone take advantage of this feature?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,900 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:37 AM

I don't use it either.

#3 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,200 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:40 AM

I have used it a few times, I keep it on.

JACK,
 
 


#4 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:42 AM

I found it to be annoying because it's stuff that I would never watch. Plus, it frees up another turner, but I rarely record 5 shows at once <shrug>.

#5 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,200 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:43 AM

I had it turned off in the beginning thought I give it try and just left it on.

JACK,
 
 


#6 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:45 AM

I wished that it will record sport events instead of shows.

#7 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,828 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 18 February 2013 - 03:04 PM

I keep it on and have used it for a couple of suggestions. It's a help picking up premieres too, but not all of them (bug).
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#8 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 18 February 2013 - 03:12 PM

I keep it on and have used it for a couple of suggestions. It's a help picking up premieres too, but not all of them (bug).


You brought up a good point. If it will record all of the premiers, I would totally like that, but in many cases, it just records random stuff that I'm not interested in at all.

#9 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,113 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 19 February 2013 - 12:06 AM

I wish it had two options. ON, anything, On all premiers shows only.

#10 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 19 February 2013 - 12:08 AM

I wish it had two options. ON, anything, On all premiers shows only.


Likes!

#11 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,896 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 19 February 2013 - 04:27 PM

I've been using HR34 for the last 5 months and had Genie turned on and not once, I've watched any shows that was recommended to me. I find that the recommendations to be way off from the viewing habits.

Does anyone take advantage of this feature?

It not used by me.

And that other new icon in Search & Browse/TV Shows is another one I gave up on. I just went thru it -- Top 20 cat has just one show. Wonder what happen to the other 19?

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#12 OFFLINE   mdpeterman

mdpeterman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 19 February 2013 - 11:24 PM

I found it to be annoying because it's stuff that I would never watch. Plus, it frees up another turner, but I rarely record 5 shows at once <shrug>.


Does the Genie feature actually use a tuner? If you have 5 programs set to record do they take priority over Genie recordings?
I honestly don't use the feature, but do have it turned on. I have looked at the suggestions a couple of times. I liked TiVos suggestions better back when I had my HR10-250.

#13 OFFLINE   rynorama

rynorama

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2010

Posted 19 February 2013 - 11:59 PM

Never wanted to use it.
Back with the TiVo version? hated it

I can decide what I want to watch
HR34-700 on a 73" Mitsubishi 1080P
HR22-100 on a 23" Acer Monitor (3 input w/Dual monitor and Home server on KVM )
R22-100 on a 42" Vizio 1080P
R22 on a 32" Sylvania 1080i
R22 on a 32" Sanyo 1080i
H24 on a 26" Westinghouse 1080i
Plus 3 D12's on other TVs

#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,895 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:08 AM

Yes, Genie uses a tuner (or more), but your scheduled recordings (and live viewing) are supposed to have priority. Genie should never prevent something you've scheduled from recording.

#15 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:37 AM

I wonder how much disk space does Genie take up.

#16 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,648 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 20 February 2013 - 08:00 AM

I wonder how much disk space does Genie take up.


On the old Tivos it took up all of the disk space but would delete things if it needed space to record what you programmed it to.

#17 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,828 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 February 2013 - 08:36 AM

I wonder how much disk space does Genie take up.


Genie Recommends recordings supposedly go to DirecTV's reserved portion of the hard drive and do not effect your space.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#18 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,896 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 20 February 2013 - 03:23 PM

Genie Recommends recordings supposedly go to DirecTV's reserved portion of the hard drive and do not effect your space.

Which was increased with the introduction of the Genie feature.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#19 OFFLINE   toobs

toobs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2012

Posted 20 February 2013 - 03:31 PM

If Genie is recording all of these shows all the time, isn't it more wear and tear on the hard drive?

#20 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,476 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 03:40 PM

The 'wear and tear' is negligible. Heat, power fluctuations and g-forces are bigger culprits for hard drives.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!





Protected By... spam firewall...And...