Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Cancelled Dish


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 727 posts
  • LocationNW Iowa
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:53 AM

Ya know, I've been critical of Dish's customer service (though the DIRT people here have been superb!) but I get requiring a technician installing the Hopper. Think of all of the people who think they know a lot more than they do when it comes to technical stuff. It is in Dish's best interest (and ultimately the customer's) to make sure the Hopper is set up correctly, connected correctly, working right when the tech leaves, etc. Otherwise I can imagine a ton of calls into Dish tech support complaining about their Hopper not being seen by the Joey, or why is the reception on my Hopper so bad, etc. etc.

Get the service plan long enough to get the install.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,325 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 22 February 2013 - 09:26 AM

if something does go wrong with the install due to your inexperience or lack of training or even improper tools, you may go on the Internet and bad-mouth the product as working poorly or whatever. This damage to their reputation would be the problem.

the equipment is not owned, it is leased, and if you damage it by installing it improperly, are you going to pay them full replacement cost for the product?

I know you may be a truly technical genius, but there are enough people who think they are smart enough to do these things on their own who make simple mistakes that I can see Dish saying, "If we send out an installer, we know the the job will be done right, the dish pointing can be verified and corrected if needed, the wiring will be done to code, and the product will work as designed. If we let the customer do it, who knows?"


The truth of the matter is pretty much outlined above. Can't tell you how many service calls I've had to set up because someone thought they were smart enough to do it themselves and ends up royally screwing something up and making more work for the tech than if we had just sent one in the first place. You may know that you're capable of doing the work yourself but Dish's experience shows there's a lot of people out there that think they know what they're doing but really don't.

Edited by tsmacro, 22 February 2013 - 09:32 AM.



"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#28 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:01 PM

I signed back up with dish thanks to their politeness and i got a great customer service agent. I have a question if anyone knows...If I get the Dish latino pack with BEINSPORTSUSA will the channel still be available in english?because the representative said yes it will.
dish network AT250

#29 OFFLINE   comizzou573

comizzou573

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 285 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 23 February 2013 - 03:13 PM

I can think of three reasons for Dish to insist on an installer. The first one is some kind of agreement with the installers. I know most lose money on the typical install, and these kind of "cake" installs (where it truly is plug-and-play) help to offset that loss.

The second is that if something does go wrong with the install due to your inexperience or lack of training or even improper tools, you may go on the Internet and bad-mouth the product as working poorly or whatever. This damage to their reputation would be the problem.

Third, the equipment is not owned, it is leased, and if you damage it by installing it improperly, are you going to pay them full replacement cost for the product?

I know you may be a truly technical genius, but there are enough people who think they are smart enough to do these things on their own who make simple mistakes that I can see Dish saying, "If we send out an installer, we know the the job will be done right, the dish pointing can be verified and corrected if needed, the wiring will be done to code, and the product will work as designed. If we let the customer do it, who knows?"

The protection play is $7/month, and you can drop it after holding it for 6 months, so it's really only $63, which is a bargain compared to the $95. Maybe more than you want to pay, but that's the policy and expecting an online chat to change it is perhaps beyond what online chat is designed to do.



they told me $7 for 4 month, so I don't know who is telling the truth now lol

#30 OFFLINE   comizzou573

comizzou573

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 285 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 23 February 2013 - 03:21 PM

Ya know, I've been critical of Dish's customer service (though the DIRT people here have been superb!) but I get requiring a technician installing the Hopper. Think of all of the people who think they know a lot more than they do when it comes to technical stuff. It is in Dish's best interest (and ultimately the customer's) to make sure the Hopper is set up correctly, connected correctly, working right when the tech leaves, etc. Otherwise I can imagine a ton of calls into Dish tech support complaining about their Hopper not being seen by the Joey, or why is the reception on my Hopper so bad, etc. etc.

Get the service plan long enough to get the install.


Why do they have instructions in the manual to show how to install it. The manual shows the exact parts needed to install it. I found out the parts need like the solo node, rg-6 coaxial, splitter, are already installed on my system. So I am basically doing is just screwing from one receiver to another. I don't want to pay 95 or 28 dollars for a waste of time lol

#31 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:02 AM

they told me $7 for 4 month, so I don't know who is telling the truth now lol

Just got done ordering my Hopper and Joey.
The Protection Plan that you have signed up for is $7.00 per month which includes free shipping on equipment replacement, and reduces the cost of in-home service from $95.00 to $15.00. If you cancel the Protection Plan within 120 days of adding, you will be charged an early termination fee of $25.

Looks like 4 months for the protection plan. Personally I don't have an issue with the protection plan or having an installer come out. Something wrong with the installation, installer has to come out and fix it. Something goes with the brand new receiver, and its early on in the production, Dish is on the hook. I do support work and installations for Iridium based equipment, can't even begin to count the lost production hours due to poor installations by those "who" think they know what they are doing. 1st job out of the Service in 92, was working for Novell, and the amount of Professionals who flat out LIE on the phone about what they did or didn't do during an installation is amazing. Companies have to protect themselves from "experts" sometimes.

#32 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 626 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 24 February 2013 - 04:34 AM

Why do they have instructions in the manual to show how to install it. ...So I am basically doing is just screwing from one receiver to another. I don't want to pay 95 or 28 dollars for a waste of time lol


I've seen an installer reference the manual during an install. Every installation is slightly different, and having that material available in easy reach is just a time saver.

Yeah, $28 may seem like a waste of money to you, and it may be a bit of a pain to deal with, but I think you're ignoring the reasons we've provided you as to why Dish thinks it is necessary. Basically, call it a "stupid tax" - the cost you have to pay because other people are stupid. And hope and pray that you wouldn't be one of the stupid ones if they didn't charge it. Everybody makes mistakes, and a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

#33 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,889 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 24 February 2013 - 09:39 AM

I have to agree. You can keep ignoring the legitimate reasons for a Tech, or not. And I also agree the protection plan is very reasonable, and good way to get it done.

#34 OFFLINE   sb40

sb40

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:32 AM

Had Dish for 3 months promo price already went up 10 bucks, hopper/joey
big pain (its a dvr and 1/2). Billing was never the same price with nothing added. Extra Prime channels did not drop like setup to do online(18.00 extra). Blockbuster (10.00 Extra)
that did not use did not drop as I had setup.

Having to call every month to ask why is the billing jacked up again ?

Customer service @dish stinks.

Back to Directv

 


#35 OFFLINE   eisberg

eisberg

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2013

Posted 24 February 2013 - 02:28 PM

this is another example of poor customer service

Sophia S (ID: AOB): Hi, my name is Sophia S (ID: AOB). How may I help you?
Sophia S (ID: AOB): How are you doing today, ****?
****: hi sophia
Sophia S (ID: AOB): Hello.
****: if you take a look at my account notation, I given an offer to upgrade to dish hopper slingload for $50
Sophia S (ID: AOB): Okay,.
****: i have a question, why do i need an installer to come over, i was taking a look at my current setup and it has everything the hopper needs to be installed
Sophia S (ID: AOB): No, technician is mandatory as the cable run to the Hopper and regular both are different.
****: i have the rg 66 cable
****: i read the manual
Sophia S (ID: AOB): Even then technician is mandatory, We can't ship the receiver. If you wish you can contact the local retailer for the installation.
****: i would upgrade, but you guys are charging for a technician when not needed
Sophia S (ID: AOB): Yes, $95.00 for the technician if you add Protection Plan on your account for $7.00 per month then the technician visit is $0.00.
****: but I do not need a technician
Sophia S (ID: AOB): I am sorry, then we can't ship the Hopper. You can contact the local retailer and buy Hopper.
****: why should i pay 95 dollars or for something that will take 2 minutes
Sophia S (ID: AOB): How many TV's would you like to connect?
****: shows how much you care about you customers
****: i will speak with your supervisor tomorrow
Sophia S (ID: AOB): Okay, no problem.


I am a Dish Network install technician
Actually, unless you already have the Hopper system installed and were upgrading to the Hopper with Sling at the same location as current Hopper, your system is in fact on ready for the Hopper. here are the reason why. And here is why.

1- Need two RG-6 Cables rated at least to 2150 Mhz going to a component called a Node. On this node, there are 2 out ports (for a solo node), one port is for the Host (Hopper) and the other Port is for the Clients (Joey's, if you have more then 1 TV), if No Joey's are being used because you have 1 TV, a Terminator must be used on the Client port.

2- The cable line from the Node to the Hopper must be an RG-6 Cable rated at 3000 Mhz. If your cable does not have it printed right on it as 3000 Mhz or 3Ghz, then it is not a 3Ghz cable.

So no, you are in fact wrong here, the customer service agent was right in telling that a technician was needed, because you system literally has to be changed in order to have the Hopper, not just having any kind of RG6 cable. The cable ratings are very important, otherwise it will cause issues for you.

#36 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 887 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 25 February 2013 - 01:30 PM

If one buys a second receiver to skirt another contract, can you sign up for protection plan for [$28] to get it installed?

thanks

#37 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,562 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 25 February 2013 - 01:59 PM

Absolutely, the protection plan covers all your dish equipment dish to receiver for $7 per month.

Since the term for cancellation is now 4 months, it is probably best to keep it for the 4 months now since the cost is $28 vs $25 cancellation fee plus pro-rated service.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#38 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 887 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 25 February 2013 - 03:34 PM

The tech won't balk because you own the receiver?

Any downside to this? [ besides owning a receiver that breaks]

#39 OFFLINE   bmetelsky

bmetelsky

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2009

Posted 25 February 2013 - 09:04 PM

Can one actually buy and own a DISH DVR or reciever? When I was with the other satellite provider one could only lease most pieces of equipment, even if one purchased it from Best Buy or EBay.

#40 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 25 February 2013 - 09:31 PM

There is some stuff out there to buy to own...but Dish is also primarily a leased model now as well.

#41 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,647 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:27 AM

Can one actually buy and own a DISH DVR or reciever? When I was with the other satellite provider one could only lease most pieces of equipment, even if one purchased it from Best Buy or EBay.



Yes that's another great thing about DISH you can own your equipment and when you do there's no commitment(contract).


For the best price I recommend this site:

www.dishdepot.com ;)


When you own your equipment I recommend adding the DISH Protection Service Plan to your account.If your equipment goes bad they replace it for $15. :)

Edited by Jhon69, 26 February 2013 - 10:33 AM.


#42 OFFLINE   quagmire0

quagmire0

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 01 March 2013 - 12:25 PM

Just cancelled with Dish yesterday. Tried via web chat, Twitter, and on the phone to get them to match DirectTV's current offer (Genie vs. Hopper), but they couldn't. They wanted me to charge 100 or 50 bucks for install of Hopper, plus an extra $10/mo. DirectTV gives me the same package, free hardware, free delivery, free activation, and it'll be about $6 cheaper per month for the first year than my current rate. I did the cost savings over two years and DirectTV still came out less than Dish. I've enjoyed Dish for about 8 years now and never had any issues. Ah well. I figure in 2 years I'll be able to jump back if I want to and get their new customer deals. Seems to be what you have to do these days when it comes to TV/Internet/Cell phone providers.

#43 OFFLINE   quagmire0

quagmire0

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 01 March 2013 - 12:27 PM

Yes that's another great thing about DISH you can own your equipment and when you do there's no commitment(contract).


For the best price I recommend this site:

www.dishdepot.com ;)


When you own your equipment I recommend adding the DISH Protection Service Plan to your account.If your equipment goes bad they replace it for $15. :)


I'm actually wondering if Dish is pulling a fast one on me. I sort of recall paying ~299 for my receiver back when I got it (642). Last I checked on Dish's site, they had me leasing it, and when I called to cancel they mentioned that I'd need to send it back. I'll have to recheck my files and see if I didn't buy it outright when I signed up.

#44 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 01 March 2013 - 02:18 PM

Just cancelled with Dish yesterday. Tried via web chat, Twitter, and on the phone to get them to match DirectTV's current offer (Genie vs. Hopper), but they couldn't. They wanted me to charge 100 or 50 bucks for install of Hopper, plus an extra $10/mo. DirectTV gives me the same package, free hardware, free delivery, free activation, and it'll be about $6 cheaper per month for the first year than my current rate. I did the cost savings over two years and DirectTV still came out less than Dish. I've enjoyed Dish for about 8 years now and never had any issues. Ah well. I figure in 2 years I'll be able to jump back if I want to and get their new customer deals. Seems to be what you have to do these days when it comes to TV/Internet/Cell phone providers.


dish doesn't need customers like you anyway.

#45 ONLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,550 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 01 March 2013 - 03:34 PM

Please watch the personal attacks.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#46 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 887 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 01 March 2013 - 04:15 PM

There is some stuff out there to buy to own...but Dish is also primarily a leased model now as well.


Are you saying you can't buy your own receiver now? { Not reffering to hopper, just the rest of them]

My contract will be up soon, and If I decide to stay, I may want a DVR. If I can't have that without another contract, it is possibly a deal breaker.

To quagmire0:
I've seen this issue come up before [as far as your receiver goes] You need a receipt to prevent a dispute from Dish. Personally, I would have made sure it was not listed as leased [ on your account] from the get.

#47 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 626 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 02 March 2013 - 05:21 AM

Tried via web chat, Twitter, and on the phone to get them to match DirectTV's current offer (Genie vs. Hopper), but they couldn't.


Yeah, Dish can't make a DVR as slow as the Genie. Dish can't remove PTAT. Dish can't disable auto-hop. Yeah, you might save a few bucks with DirecTV (most people don't), but you might end up with a 2-year contract sticking you with a heap of frustration with their horrible hardware. I can't remember being so happy about sending a box via UPS as I was in returning that hunk of junk HD DVR of theirs. Hope yours isn't a lemon.

#48 OFFLINE   supermod38

supermod38

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
  • LocationCentral VA.
Joined: Jan 16, 2013

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:41 AM

Yeah, Dish can't make a DVR as slow as the Genie. Dish can't remove PTAT. Dish can't disable auto-hop. Yeah, you might save a few bucks with DirecTV (most people don't), but you might end up with a 2-year contract sticking you with a heap of frustration with their horrible hardware. I can't remember being so happy about sending a box via UPS as I was in returning that hunk of junk HD DVR of theirs. Hope yours isn't a lemon.



be nice now...........................................................really not much diff between the two..............just sayin:D:D:D

I'm not here for a long time, just a GOOD time!
HR34 lease- Vizio 26"
C-31-lease-32" Emerson
HR24-owned-RCA 46"

H24- owned- :righton:


#49 OFFLINE   Skeeterman

Skeeterman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2003

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:15 AM

I was a C-Band (BUD) person from 1978 till 2008. I also had Dish Network since 1997 and use Dish for two years('97-'99) when I canceled out. I bought all my Dish equiptment... Dish 500 antenna, PVR 508, 301 and installed all this myself from a small dish satellite dealer for $128.85, plus $49.99 for 250 channels. In 2008 I purchased from ebay a VIP211K and installed it. Called Dish to have it activated with no problems. I've cancel Dish twice since during those years to go back to the old C-Band subscriptions. Never paid any fees for cancellations or restarts.
Just checked my Dish account and it shows I have a VIP211K and VIP211 as
"purchased" for my equipment. I would think it showing purchased, means I own the receivers, although I did call Dish in 2011 and had them to send me the VIP211. I never question their error on the "purchased" of the VIP211.

#50 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,686 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:55 AM

be nice now...........................................................really not much diff between the two..............just sayin:D:D:D


Well I agree with the 'be nice', but there are significant differences between the two, especially in speed of operation. The slowest Dish DVR will run circles around the fastest Direct DVR and that has always been true.

Otherwise each does things differently, with neither being sole owner of the 'best' way to accomplish different tasks. I've had both and there are things that D* does better than E* and vice-versa. It's a trade off.

Cost wise, the only way to save significant money with SAT service is to switch every two years or so as the retail costs are nearly identical since the last price increases and fee twiddling they both did.

Customer service is a wash with neither having a leg up, and that has been shown every time there is a new poll of customer satisfaction ratings. Both get pretty low scores with the spread between the two being nearly nil. When trying to get 'deals' with either the Magic 8 Ball is often used it seems in spite of all the fanboi bleating to the contrary.

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...