Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

SWM Installed On Outside Wall - Ugly - Can I Get It Moved To Attic?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 18 February 2013 - 09:47 PM

Just had whole home DVR and Internet installed. Installer put my 16 port SWM on the outside wall by the dish along with a green label splitter. I thought this hardware would go in the attic where the LNb cables went and the existing SWM was prior to the upgrade. I didn't see this until after the installer left. In addition to being butt ugly on the side of my house I wonder how waterproof this setup is?

How likely is it that Directv will rewire this and put the SWM and splitter in my attic if I complain?

Thank you!

Edited by tenn_, 19 February 2013 - 07:43 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,666 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:13 PM

The only way to find out is to call and ask. If the installer left his contact information, I would call him directly. Otherwise go ahead and call DirecTV.

This is a good post to emphasize to everyone, when you have an installer show up, it is always a good idea to spend a minute or two and walk/talk through what is going to be done and how it is going to be done so you are both on the same page.

#3 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 839 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:14 PM

Is it attached near your power meter? It has to be grounded before goes in your home so even if they move it you need the 4 lines from dish ran to ground (near your meter) with a quad ground block then 4 lines ran up to the attic and attached to the 16 mod.

#4 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 19 February 2013 - 08:13 AM

Is it attached near your power meter? It has to be grounded before goes in your home so even if they move it you need the 4 lines from dish ran to ground (near your meter) with a quad ground block then 4 lines ran up to the attic and attached to the 16 mod.


It's grounded with a green wire to a ground stake driven in to the ground under the dish far away from the meter.

#5 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 839 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 19 February 2013 - 05:53 PM

It's grounded with a green wire to a ground stake driven in to the ground under the dish far away from the meter.


Well then its not grounded properly. Where does the swm 16 run now?

#6 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 20 February 2013 - 06:56 AM

Well then its not grounded properly. Where does the swm 16 run now?


Does DTV normally run a ground wire from the SWM to the house meter regardless of how far away the meter is from the SWM?

#7 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,527 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 07:34 AM

To be compliant with the NEC, all grounds must be bonded. So, if the electrical service panel is gounded, and the dish is grounded, these grounds must be bonded together with a sufficiently large guage conductor to insure that the bond is the lowest impedance path between the grounds. In addition, ANY other exposed ground (e.g. a metal water pipe) must also be bonded to the common ground.

A good overview on grounding: GROUNDING AND BONDING NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE
Dish Network Customer from 1998-2001
DirecTV Customer since October, 2001
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

#8 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,475 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 20 February 2013 - 08:05 AM

10 gauge wire is for static discharge - move it to the attic and you will still have a 10 gauge wire running up the outside of the house.

Leave and Plant an evergreen in front of it.
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#9 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 729 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 20 February 2013 - 09:36 AM

Leave and Plant an evergreen in front of it.

+1

There's a 99% chance you would have to pay $49 to get it relocated (you did sign off on the work, correct?).

As for your question about how waterproof it is, very.
I've had mine like this for nearly a year with no issues whatsoever.

Attached Thumbnails

  • SWiM16.jpg

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#10 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,054 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 20 February 2013 - 10:26 AM

Watch a SWiM 16 install yesterday, tech put it under eave above out door HVAC mess. he did not want it on roof near dish although that would have been an easier install.

The dish and wiring are all on the back side of the house anyhow, so it didn't really matter, although he had to run an extra wire from the SWiM to the dish as the existing clump was one short.

Client is thrilled, MRV on all TVs now and can record 11 shows simultaneously.

Without being asked, D* offered substantial savings on SWiM16, 2 clients, HR-34 and install.

#11 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,820 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 February 2013 - 03:54 PM

+1

There's a 99% chance you would have to pay $49 to get it relocated (you did sign off on the work, correct?).

As for your question about how waterproof it is, very.
I've had mine like this for nearly a year with no issues whatsoever.


Question;

What's up with the "six" coax feeds into the SWiM-16?

Even if you have an additional international dish (for World Direct service) why the coax connections to "both" flexports?

#12 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 8,886 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 20 February 2013 - 05:17 PM

Question;

What's up with the "six" coax feeds into the SWiM-16?

Even if you have an additional international dish (for World Direct service) why the coax connections to "both" flexports?


There are only 5, the sixth one is a shadow. ;)

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#13 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,820 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 February 2013 - 05:38 PM

There are only 5, the sixth one is a shadow. ;)


Ah thanks ....

Shouldn't looked more carefully ... :o

Must have the international dish along with a Slimline then ...

#14 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 729 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 20 February 2013 - 06:15 PM

Ah thanks ....

Shouldn't looked more carefully ... :o

Must have the international dish along with a Slimline then ...


Yep, I do!
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#15 OFFLINE   Talent384

Talent384

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 20 February 2013 - 09:41 PM

Umm... The multiswitch is installed upside down... Not very waterproof
DirecTV Employee since 2006
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DirecTV

#16 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 21 February 2013 - 04:34 PM

My SWM16 isn't grounded and it is in my wiring closet inside the house.

#17 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 839 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 21 February 2013 - 05:17 PM

My SWM16 isn't grounded and it is in my wiring closet inside the house.


There should be a quad ground block on the outside of house connecting the cables from ODU to your ground in your case.




spam firewall