Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24 remote commands delayed by several minutes


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 19 February 2013 - 08:38 PM

Remote commands to my HR34 stop working and I continued watching a playback and several minutes later all the commands I had tried earlier came through in rapid succession. This happened 2 days in a row. I reset the box and called DTV service where I was told the following:

You must leave 20% or more free space on the drive.

You should turn off scrolling effects

Change your remote batteries. (I tried 2 remotes)

Reboot your box.

All unacceptable answers.


They refused to replace the box even though I told them it also had frozen twice in the last 2 months and i had to to RBR.

If I need to leave 20% free why would it be available for the consumer to record on?

Spoke with supervisor and then I called corporate HQ's as well with no resolution.

I'm a 15 year DTV customer who has cancelled my service as of April 1st this year. Of course I'm under contract and they want to charge $240 to cancel.


Bye Bye old customer

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,084 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 19 February 2013 - 11:20 PM

To clarify, it was an HR34 or an HR24 ??

#3 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,815 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:22 AM

A number of people here have reported issues with their DVRs when their free space starts getting very limited. So the suggestion to keep 10 or 20% open is not a bad suggestion but also should not be considered a requirement. That should not have caused the issue you saw however, and I highly doubt it would correct it.

Resetting the unit is always a good idea if you are having problems. I would certainly try that even before calling DirecTV. That may or may not help with a problem.

CSRs read from scripts, and if a customer has a problem with remote commands, one of their initial responses is to have you change the batteries. You'd be amazed how many people don't think to try that. Unfortunately, that can be a bit insulting to the rest of us who already checked our batteries, but they are required to follow their scripts.

Of course, none of that fixed your problem. I would ask if this was a one time event, or if you are having recurring problems with the same/similar symptoms? If recurring, then absolutely do call back again (and again as applicable). You should be able to escalate the problem after the second call, and that should get you to someone who can get a replacement unit ordered for you.

You appear to have chosen a course of action that works for you. Enjoy whoever your new service provider is. Quality of equipment and responsiveness varies widely, as does quality of customer service, so you may want to do some up-front research before making a final choice on a new provider.

#4 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:32 AM

It's a HR24.

#5 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:42 AM

A number of people here have reported issues with their DVRs when their free space starts getting very limited. So the suggestion to keep 10 or 20% open is not a bad suggestion but also should not be considered a requirement. That should not have caused the issue you saw however, and I highly doubt it would correct it.

Resetting the unit is always a good idea if you are having problems. I would certainly try that even before calling DirecTV. That may or may not help with a problem.

CSRs read from scripts, and if a customer has a problem with remote commands, one of their initial responses is to have you change the batteries. You'd be amazed how many people don't think to try that. Unfortunately, that can be a bit insulting to the rest of us who already checked our batteries, but they are required to follow their scripts.

Of course, none of that fixed your problem. I would ask if this was a one time event, or if you are having recurring problems with the same/similar symptoms? If recurring, then absolutely do call back again (and again as applicable). You should be able to escalate the problem after the second call, and that should get you to someone who can get a replacement unit ordered for you.

You appear to have chosen a course of action that works for you. Enjoy whoever your new service provider is. Quality of equipment and responsiveness varies widely, as does quality of customer service, so you may want to do some up-front research before making a final choice on a new provider.

This issue occurred 2 days in a row. I had to RBR the 2nd day.

I not excited about changing services. I've liked Directv for the last 15 years. Just don't think this issue was handled properly. I also told them I had the box lockup twice in the last 2 months. In the past when I've box problems I never had resistance to getting a replacement box. I have the equipment insurance package.

I may try callng another day and see if I can get a better response.

#6 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 February 2013 - 01:07 AM

One of my HR24s does this every 10 or 11 days if I don’t restart it regularly. I usually restart it Sunday mornings and that keeps it behaving….

#7 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,538 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 20 February 2013 - 06:07 AM

A number of people here have reported issues with their DVRs when their free space starts getting very limited. So the suggestion to keep 10 or 20% open is not a bad suggestion but also should not be considered a requirement. That should not have caused the issue you saw however, and I highly doubt it would correct it.

Resetting the unit is always a good idea if you are having problems. I would certainly try that even before calling DirecTV. That may or may not help with a problem.

CSRs read from scripts, and if a customer has a problem with remote commands, one of their initial responses is to have you change the batteries. You'd be amazed how many people don't think to try that. Unfortunately, that can be a bit insulting to the rest of us who already checked our batteries, but they are required to follow their scripts.

Of course, none of that fixed your problem. I would ask if this was a one time event, or if you are having recurring problems with the same/similar symptoms? If recurring, then absolutely do call back again (and again as applicable). You should be able to escalate the problem after the second call, and that should get you to someone who can get a replacement unit ordered for you.

You appear to have chosen a course of action that works for you. Enjoy whoever your new service provider is. Quality of equipment and responsiveness varies widely, as does quality of customer service, so you may want to do some up-front research before making a final choice on a new provider.


+1......Many have changed their service provider without researching only to discover that the grass isn't greener.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#8 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 11:47 AM

One of my HR24s does this every 10 or 11 days if I don’t restart it regularly. I usually restart it Sunday mornings and that keeps it behaving….

That works but seems wrong to me. You should not have to do that.

#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,835 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 February 2013 - 11:58 AM

dlugatch, just out of curiosity, how is your HR24 connected to the internet? If there is an ethernet cable, I suggest unplugging it and rebooting. If there is a separate cinema connection kit, I suggest unplugging that and rebooting the HR24.

This isn't a solution obviously but if you find that your speed problems diminish after doing this, you may choose to look at the quality of your internet wiring, as excessive data errors do create some problems with these boxes.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:17 PM

dlugatch, just out of curiosity, how is your HR24 connected to the internet? If there is an ethernet cable, I suggest unplugging it and rebooting. If there is a separate cinema connection kit, I suggest unplugging that and rebooting the HR24.

This isn't a solution obviously but if you find that your speed problems diminish after doing this, you may choose to look at the quality of your internet wiring, as excessive data errors do create some problems with these boxes.

I am using the SWM setup. Internet access through the SWM Ethernet adapter to router.

#11 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:44 PM

That works but seems wrong to me. You should not have to do that.


Agreed - shouldn't need to be done and you shouldn't have to.... At this point it saves me the hassle of getting the thing replaced.

I don't see any way to convince a CSR that the box needs to replaced other than telling them it is completely dead and I don't want to do that either!:nono: That would just pass the trouble on to someone else that gets the box in the future.

#12 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 February 2013 - 12:46 PM

dlugatch, just out of curiosity, how is your HR24 connected to the internet? If there is an ethernet cable, I suggest unplugging it and rebooting. If there is a separate cinema connection kit, I suggest unplugging that and rebooting the HR24.

This isn't a solution obviously but if you find that your speed problems diminish after doing this, you may choose to look at the quality of your internet wiring, as excessive data errors do create some problems with these boxes.


Not sure if it the same issue as mine because mine is so predictable but disconnecting my SWM from the Internet and thus disabling all Internet functions didn't change my situation... Still went into 'pause' mode after 10 or 11 days.....

#13 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 24 February 2013 - 05:23 PM

I had an issue with my Ipad mini app and here's the answer. I had scheduled a service disconnect because of bad experience with customer service on the issue that started this thread.


Doesn't make any sense to me. I'm still paying for all my services until the disconnect date. Why can't I use them? This problem existed before my decision to cancel my service. This is just the attitude that caused me to cancel after being a customer for around 15 years. I had a problem with one of my HR24's and I could not get permission to replace it. I just got illogical answers to my problems. I was told I needed to keep at least 20% free space or I would have issues. To me that is totally bogus. Why would I be allowed to record shows in the space that the DVR needs to use?

Has this been escalated to engineering or not?

Please learn the meaning of the words customer care

Norman Dlugatch

Sent from my iPad Mini

On Feb 24, 2013, at 2:56 PM, "DIRECTV Customer Service" <directvcustomercare@directv.com> wrote:


Subject
---------------------------------------------------------------
iPad mini app not showing any receivers


Discussion Thread
---------------------------------------------------------------
Response Via Email(Justin G (ID 402474)) - 02/24/2013 02:56 PM
Dear Mr. Dlugatch,

Thank you for writing and allowing me the opportunity to help you with the application. I understand your concern with using this great feature on your mini iPad. We work hard to provide reliable streaming and application services for our customers. Upon review I have found that to use this service your account must be fully active and in good standing. I have escalated the problem to our engineering department to investigate the issue.

However, the account has been set for a pending disconnect as of 4/1/13. It appears that this is the cause of the problem you are experiencing as the account has to be fully active to utilize mobile services. If you want to remove the cancellation and call us closer to date to cancel, then please let us know so that we can further assist you.

I understand this is important to you, Mr. Dlugatch. We will continue to strive to provide the best possible experience for you. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,

Justin G (ID 402474)
DIRECTV Resolution Specialist

P.S. Have a question? Anytime, any topic, instant answers - support.directv.com The Answer Center provides you helpful information, 24/7, all at your fingertips.

Response Via Email(Lendsey D. - 100405394) - 02/24/2013 03:09 AM
Dear Mr. Dlugatch,

Thank you for writing.

I am sorry to learn that your receivers are not listed on the iPad mini app. We are eager to get this resolved for you and to best assist you, I have forwarded your email for special handling. One of our highly-trained specialists will respond to you as soon as possible (likely within 24 hours).

We appreciate your patience, Mr. Dlugatch.

Sincerely,

Lendsey Ann D. - 100405394
DIRECTV Customer Service

P.S. Have a question? Anytime, any topic, instant answers at support.directv.com. The Answer Center provides you helpful information, 24/7, all at your fingertips.

Customer By Web Form (Norman Dlugatch) - 02/23/2013 09:00 PM
It used to work. Now if I click on settings button none of my boxes are listed. I've deleted and reinstalled the app. Also reauthorized all boxes and set the external devices setting on all boxes

Help


[---001:001963:62380---]

#14 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 24 February 2013 - 06:13 PM

Your iPad streaming service will absolutely not work if your account is in a pending disconnect or pending suspension status. CSRs have no way to override this. It is apparently just built into the system that way.

Your best bet on fixing this is to call back in to customer care, cancel your pending disconnect, then call back the day you want to disconnect and process it for same-day if you still decide this is the best way to resolve the issue with your HR-24.

Hope this helps :)

Edited by Lugnut, 24 February 2013 - 06:24 PM.

"People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care" - John C. Maxwell

DIRECTV Employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

My Equipment:
2x HR-24-100
1x HR-22-100
2x H25-100

#15 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 24 February 2013 - 06:32 PM

Your iPad streaming service will absolutely not work if your account is in a pending disconnect or pending suspension status. CSRs have no way to override this. It is apparently just built into the system that way.

Your best bet on fixing this is to call back in to customer care, cancel your pending disconnect, then call back the day you want to disconnect and process it for same-day if you still decide this is the best way to resolve the issue with your HR-24.

Hope this helps :)

Still doesn't make sense to. How come the "resolution specialists" don't have this information?

Do you actually work in the Office of the President?

#16 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 24 February 2013 - 07:26 PM

Still doesn't make sense to. How come the "resolution specialists" don't have this information?

Do you actually work in the Office of the President?


Yes, I do work in the Office of the President.

To my knowledge, that specific issue is not dealt with on a regular basis. It's something I learned when I was still working in the cancellation department, just passed via word of mouth. Our systems have thousands upon thousands of pages on every technical issue that could imagine, but not everyone has been there long enough to know where all the hard to find troubleshooting tips are. Most of the cancellation agents are VERY well versed in technical issues. I'm not sure why you wouldn't have been given the option of a receiver replacement to save your account from cancellation, but my main concerns with this issue (because it is not well documented) are:

1. There is no guarantee that a receiver replacement is going to fix your issue with the receiver. All pieces of electronic equipment have their individual idiosyncrasies, and having your receiver swapped out could potentially land you with another receiver that has an issue that you find even more annoying.

2. There is absolutely no guarantee that you will get another HR-24. It is well known that the previous iterations of the HD-DVR series are marginally slower (varies per receiver) than the HR-24. What receiver model you get when you process a replacement is based on luck of the draw, what receiver types are in stock at the point of your order being placed, and it will be a reconditioned receiver.

3. You will lose all your recordings.

If all of the above are acceptable risks, I would try calling the cancellation department again and see if you can get an agent willing to order one for you.

It's a really difficult situation that you're in. I have had (and still do to some extent) issues with my SWM network and playback on my H25 receivers, but a red-button reset fixes it. If you aren't willing to reset your receivers occasionally to resolve this, then I'm out of suggestions for you. I can tell you that the issues I've had with other providers' equipment has been a lot worse than having to reset my DirecTV receivers on a regular basis.

I wish you luck on whichever option you decide to go with :)

EDIT: Also, just to clarify, do you have an HR-24 or HR-34? Your post title states HR-24, but in your first post it says HR-34. If you have an HR-34, please disregard concern #2. Thanks.

Edited by Lugnut, 24 February 2013 - 07:46 PM.

"People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care" - John C. Maxwell

DIRECTV Employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

My Equipment:
2x HR-24-100
1x HR-22-100
2x H25-100

#17 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 24 February 2013 - 08:15 PM

Yes, I do work in the Office of the President.

1. There is no guarantee that a receiver replacement is going to fix your issue with the receiver. All pieces of electronic equipment have their individual idiosyncrasies, and having your receiver swapped out could potentially land you with another receiver that has an issue that you find even more annoying.

2. There is absolutely no guarantee that you will get another HR-24. It is well known that the previous iterations of the HD-DVR series are marginally slower (varies per receiver) than the HR-24. What receiver model you get when you process a replacement is based on luck of the draw, what receiver types are in stock at the point of your order being placed, and it will be a reconditioned receiver.

...If you aren't willing to reset your receivers occasionally to resolve this, then I'm out of suggestions for you. I can tell you that the issues I've had with other providers' equipment has been a lot worse than having to reset my DirecTV receivers on a regular basis.


Wow – for someone that claims to work in ‘The Office of the President’ these little snippets are quite telling…. Because your statements seem so negative I’m inclined to believe you really do work for DirecTV… Sadly:(….

So in your ‘insider’ view he should live with having to reset his receiver regularly because a replacement could have other problems (maybe worse), may not be an HR24 and he will lose his recordings?

I hate to say it but I think I may agree.:lol:

#18 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 24 February 2013 - 08:18 PM

Wow – for someone that claims to work in ‘The Office of the President’ these little snippets are quite telling…. Because your statements seem so negative I’m inclined to believe you really do work for DirecTV… Sadly:(….

So in your ‘insider’ view he should live with having to reset his receiver regularly because a replacement could have other problems (maybe worse), may not be an HR24 and he will lose his recordings?

I hate to say it but I think I may agree.:lol:


Sorry, I'm certainly not trying to be negative. I'm just trying to make sure he is completely aware of the possible results of his choice at this point. As a retention agent, I ordered plenty of replacements for issues such as this and they seem to have resolved it for the most part, but it's not always a guarantee. No piece of electronic equipment works perfectly forever :)

I have often suggested that we implement some sort of repair process that involves the defective piece being swapped out and the receiver sent right back to the same customer without having to roll the dice and get a completely different unit, but that would probably be very expensive to implement.
"People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care" - John C. Maxwell

DIRECTV Employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

My Equipment:
2x HR-24-100
1x HR-22-100
2x H25-100

#19 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 24 February 2013 - 08:33 PM

I have often suggested that we implement some sort of repair process that involves the defective piece being swapped out and the receiver sent right back to the same customer without having to roll the dice and get a completely different unit, but that would probably be very expensive to implement.


Uhh....we've already begun this for the HR24 if you have Protection Plan Premier (in some situations).

I was told they could do this for mine when I called in a few days ago and asked about it (I have two HR24s and the PPP, don't know what other requirements there are for it or if it's only a pilot for certain PPP customers).

Also as per something you posted earlier, an HR24 will be replaced with an HR24, H24 will be replaced with H24+, H25 will be replaced with H25+ (this is as of the past month or a bit more due to these specific receivers having built in DECAs/H25s having an external power supply/etc).

Edited by JBv, 24 February 2013 - 08:38 PM.

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#20 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 24 February 2013 - 08:47 PM

Uhh....we've already begun this for the HR24 if you have Protection Plan Premier (in some situations).

I was told they could do this for mine when I called in a few days ago and asked about it (I have two HR24s and the PPP, don't know what other requirements there are for it or if it's only a pilot for certain PPP customers).


Yes, only available to protection plan premier agents, not my department. Also, he has to be eligible and subscribe to the PPP. It definitely never hurts for him to call and ask, but assuming that our call routing is working properly, if he had the PPP, he would have been routed to said agent when he called in with the technical issues.

Also as per something you posted earlier, an HR24 will be replaced with an HR24, H24 will be replaced with H24+, H25 will be replaced with H25+ (this is as of the past month or a bit more due to these specific receivers having built in DECAs/H25s having an external power supply/etc).



Thanks for letting me know this. They never give us this kind of info here lol.

Edited by Lugnut, 24 February 2013 - 09:40 PM.

"People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care" - John C. Maxwell

DIRECTV Employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

My Equipment:
2x HR-24-100
1x HR-22-100
2x H25-100




spam firewall