Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24 remote commands delayed by several minutes


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
  • LocationEagle, Idaho
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:27 PM

Just to let you I have the Protection Plan Premium. Didn't seem to help

Norm


I've PM'd you a solution. Let me know how that works out for you.

Previous DIRECTV Employee


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 February 2013 - 12:28 PM

One of my HR24s does this every 10 or 11 days if I don’t restart it regularly. I usually restart it Sunday mornings and that keeps it behaving….


Yeah, but you are Cursed... :lol:

Rich

#28 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 February 2013 - 12:48 PM

Just to let you I have the Protection Plan Premium. Didn't seem to help

Norm


About the 20% Available question: I haven't seen any problems with the one 24-500 that is always around 15% available. I keep it there just to see if that problem exists with a 24. I know the problem did exist with all the previous HRs (maybe not the 20-100s, 21-100s or 22-100s. I've never had one of those that worked) and was most noticeable with an eSATA attached. I've never seen any such problems with a 24. So, whatever your problem is, I kinda doubt that the HDD being full is a problem. But if it is, a reboot will solve that problem. How full is your HDD usually?

Have you tried to flush your Guide data? That is one problem I do have occasionally with my 24s. To flush the Guide data, reboot, and then reboot again within 30 minutes. That might solve your problems.

Rich

#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 February 2013 - 12:55 PM

I really take issue with item #1

I've done component level repair of all types of electronics for 45 years. Electronics products don't have idiosyncrasies unless they are not working properly.


Not looking to argue, but all the HRs seem to have their little oddities. I have 12 of them and each one acts slightly differently than the others. I would think that means QC is lacking or there is no oversight from D* on the manufacturing end. Probably a bit of both. I will say it's certainly improved since the fall of '06 (had to improve, couldn't have gotten worse). The HRs seem to be much more stable than they were just a couple of years ago.

Rich

#30 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 February 2013 - 01:01 PM

Yes, I do work in the Office of the President.


If you get a chance to talk to him, could you bring up the subject of letting us use any HDD on any HR within our accounts? This is really a sore spot with a lot of us. I would think allowing this would bring D* a whole lot of good publicity and, perhaps more subs.

Rich

#31 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:56 PM

About the 20% Available question: I haven't seen any problems with the one 24-500 that is always around 15% available. I keep it there just to see if that problem exists with a 24. I know the problem did exist with all the previous HRs (maybe not the 20-100s, 21-100s or 22-100s. I've never had one of those that worked) and was most noticeable with an eSATA attached. I've never seen any such problems with a 24. So, whatever your problem is, I kinda doubt that the HDD being full is a problem. But if it is, a reboot will solve that problem. How full is your HDD usually?

Have you tried to flush your Guide data? That is one problem I do have occasionally with my 24s. To flush the Guide data, reboot, and then reboot again within 30 minutes. That might solve your problems.

Rich

I'm usually running between 2% to 5% free. I've never flushed my guide data on any of my 4 HR's. 2 HR22's and 2 HR22's.

#32 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
  • LocationEagle, Idaho
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 25 February 2013 - 07:13 PM

If you get a chance to talk to him, could you bring up the subject of letting us use any HDD on any HR within our accounts? This is really a sore spot with a lot of us. I would think allowing this would bring D* a whole lot of good publicity and, perhaps more subs.

Rich


Heh, I wish :P

It's just called Office of the President because we take calls on behalf of executives and handle escalated issues above and beyond a normal call center scope.

I couldn't agree more, either. I have no idea what the reason behind that decision is. From what we've been (unofficially) told, it's a copyright protection measure to keep people from offloading their DVR contents to their computer and uploading them wherever, but what is to stop someone with a PC TV tuner from doing the same?

Previous DIRECTV Employee


#33 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 26 February 2013 - 07:02 AM

Heh, I wish :P

It's just called Office of the President because we take calls on behalf of executives and handle escalated issues above and beyond a normal call center scope.

I couldn't agree more, either. I have no idea what the reason behind that decision is. From what we've been (unofficially) told, it's a copyright protection measure to keep people from offloading their DVR contents to their computer and uploading them wherever, but what is to stop someone with a PC TV tuner from doing the same?


They could still keep strong encryption using a key that is per account rather than per receiver just as Dish Network does. I suspect it was a short sited decision made early in the design stages of the HR20 years ago and now changing it is considered a low priority.

As for getting an HR24 replaced – sounds like a risky thing… Unless DirecTV fixes their inventory process (or should I say lack-of inventory process?) I’ll hang on to the HR24 I have that needs to be restarted every week…. For that matter I’ll stay away from the HR44 for the same reason.

#34 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:14 PM

I'm usually running between 2% to 5% free. I've never flushed my guide data on any of my 4 HR's. 2 HR22's and 2 HR22's.


Give it a try, nothing will be harmed by doing it. It will take awhile to repopulate the Guide data. That's usually the first thing I try if I have a problem with an HR. Usually works. If you're gonna maintain those levels of capacity you really should give it a try.

Do you use external drives?

Rich

#35 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,438 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:20 PM

+1......Many have changed their service provider without researching only to discover that the grass isn't greener.


My grass is much greener in the past 17 months with FiOS.

However, this board is much more lively and interesting than the FiOS board.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#36 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:39 PM

Heh, I wish :P

It's just called Office of the President because we take calls on behalf of executives and handle escalated issues above and beyond a normal call center scope.

I couldn't agree more, either. I have no idea what the reason behind that decision is. From what we've been (unofficially) told, it's a copyright protection measure to keep people from offloading their DVR contents to their computer and uploading them wherever, but what is to stop someone with a PC TV tuner from doing the same?


Dish does it. If nobody else was doing it, I probably wouldn't keep asking for it, but Dish must have the same constraints as D* does, no? I realize most people don't use the eSATA function, but that number seems to be growing as people realize how much more they can record on an HR.

What we fear is D* telling us which external devices and HDDs we have to use. On this forum, we've settled on external devices and HDDs that we know work (this doesn't pertain to the Genies) and we recommend them in good faith.

Rich

#37 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:45 PM

My grass is much greener in the past 17 months with FiOS.

However, this board is much more lively and interesting than the FiOS board.


We don't get FIOS, but we're surrounded by towns that do and if it ever gets here, I'll probably give it a try. The last time I called them and asked if it would be possible to replicate my system, they laughed at me. Perhaps they've changed, it's been a long time since I talked to anybody at FIOS about it.

One thing I will say about Dish, they also laughed at me when I asked the same question, but they sent me a voucher for ~ $600 to get me started on purchasing equipment if I chose to go with them. Thought that was a nice thing to do.

Rich

#38 OFFLINE   Jacob Braun

Jacob Braun

    King of Awesome

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,152 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 26 February 2013 - 02:06 PM

Dish does it. If nobody else was doing it, I probably wouldn't keep asking for it, but Dish must have the same constraints as D* does, no? I realize most people don't use the eSATA function, but that number seems to be growing as people realize how much more they can record on an HR.

What we fear is D* telling us which external devices and HDDs we have to use. On this forum, we've settled on external devices and HDDs that we know work (this doesn't pertain to the Genies) and we recommend them in good faith.

Rich


That's why I just don't understand why D* can't/won't enable this. Dish's implementation is pretty awesome. Maybe it's a patent thing? I mean anything on the drive is encrypted just as the satellite signal is, and as that hasn't been broken (again) I don't see how piracy would be a valid concern.

Edited to say this: I'm probably oversimplifying this, knowing that the E* implementation is the raw satellite feed recorded and encrypted with their smart card, and they manage to transfer things back and forth.
Now I have no idea if the D* implementation operates similarly (in regards to DVR recordings), and it's highly possible there are technical reasons that D* cannot do this.

Edited by JBv, 26 February 2013 - 06:34 PM.

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.


#39 OFFLINE   mikellie

mikellie

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2009

Posted 26 February 2013 - 02:31 PM

I'm on day 12 of constant resets, 1 minute lags, missed recordings, and partial recordings. Have called tech 3 times and sent 2 emails to no avail. All I keep getting is that it is a known issue and they are working on it. 12 DAYS!! I think they need better software engineers or else they need to work more. It takes 60+ hours and counting to figure out a problem with the HR34 that they claim to be their top of the line receiver? 13 year customer with protection plan and premier package and this is the first time I have seriously thought about leaving. Between Netflix and Hulu Plus, I can pretty much get all my shows anyhow and it would only cost me $15 a month. Only thing keeping me around is NFL Sunday Ticket.
HR34-700, HR22-100(x2), 46" Samsung 3D LED, Samsung 32" HDTV. Whole Home DVR.

#40 OFFLINE   mikellie

mikellie

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2009

Posted 26 February 2013 - 02:48 PM

In reading about the newest HR44, it claims to be the fastest DVR ever! It also has mostly the same features as the HR34. So if that's the case, why can't the same software that drives the 44 be put into the 34 to fix all the 34's lag problems?
HR34-700, HR22-100(x2), 46" Samsung 3D LED, Samsung 32" HDTV. Whole Home DVR.

#41 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
  • LocationEagle, Idaho
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 26 February 2013 - 05:01 PM

I just got a response back from dlugatch. He spoke with one of my friends here in OOP. He cancelled his pending disconnect and his HR-24 replacement has been ordered. :icon_bb:

Previous DIRECTV Employee


#42 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 26 February 2013 - 06:13 PM

I just got a response back from dlugatch. He spoke with one of my friends here in OOP. He cancelled his pending disconnect and his HR-24 replacement has been ordered. :icon_bb:

Thanks to Lugnut for the assist.

My only options are Time Warner or Dish. Neither was cheap or exciting.

I have confirmed that IPad does not work when you have a disconnect scheduled. No rational reason why

#43 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:01 AM

I need to do some troubleshooting to see If this issue is the HR24 or my AVR. I'm using a Pioneer VSX-31. I'm using HDMI for video and audio. I'll also a reboot when I can tomorrow as well.

If I rewind the audio works. Several times in an hour show from 2 different networks.

I decided to not replace the box until I have repeat issues as replacement is a PITA. This may be reason to replace it.

#44 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,250 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:23 PM

Pioneer receivers are notorious for HDMI issues. If you continue to see the problem I would recommend trying to bypass the Pioneer and run HDMI straight to the TV, and run an optical cable from the DirecTV receiver to the Pioneer and see if that takes care of the audio issues.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#45 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:24 PM

That's why I just don't understand why D* can't/won't enable this. Dish's implementation is pretty awesome. Maybe it's a patent thing? I mean anything on the drive is encrypted just as the satellite signal is, and as that hasn't been broken (again) I don't see how piracy would be a valid concern.

Edited to say this: I'm probably oversimplifying this, knowing that the E* implementation is the raw satellite feed recorded and encrypted with their smart card, and they manage to transfer things back and forth.
Now I have no idea if the D* implementation operates similarly (in regards to DVR recordings), and it's highly possible there are technical reasons that D* cannot do this.


Certainly be nice if they at least tried. Instead of just ignoring our pleas.

Rich

#46 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:30 PM

Pioneer receivers are notorious for HDMI issues. If you continue to see the problem I would recommend trying to bypass the Pioneer and run HDMI straight to the TV, and run an optical cable from the DirecTV receiver to the Pioneer and see if that takes care of the audio issues.


Every time you post, every single time, I want a beer! Haven't had one in ~13 years and the first thing I go to when I see you've posted is your signature. I liked the Kipling quote better than the present one, but the effect is still the same.... :lol:

Roich

#47 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,250 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:55 PM

Every time you post, every single time, I want a beer! Haven't had one in ~13 years and the first thing I go to when I see you've posted is your signature. I liked the Kipling quote better than the present one, but the effect is still the same.... :lol:

Roich


Thanks, or maybe I'm sorry, not sure which :lol:

That did remind me that it has been a while since I changed my quote, so I just got a new one.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#48 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,420 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 February 2013 - 02:11 PM

Thanks, or maybe I'm sorry, not sure which :lol:


No, I do enjoy the quotes.

That did remind me that it has been a while since I changed my quote, so I just got a new one.


When you think about your latest quote, the beer industry in this country is really in good shape. Good excuse to quaff a beer or two tho... :lol:

Rich

#49 OFFLINE   dlugatch

dlugatch

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 27 February 2013 - 03:34 PM

Pioneer receivers are notorious for HDMI issues. If you continue to see the problem I would recommend trying to bypass the Pioneer and run HDMI straight to the TV, and run an optical cable from the DirecTV receiver to the Pioneer and see if that takes care of the audio issues.

Rebooted fixed the issue so far. Seems like it was the HR24 and not the Pionerer.

#50 OFFLINE   THX

THX

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 105 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2004

Posted 27 February 2013 - 06:36 PM

Just when I was thinking about upgrading my HR20-100 to fix the remote lag issue I coime and find this thread. Ugh...So much for the HR24 fixing that glitch...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...