Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Swapping Hopper with Sling for Original Hopper


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   waxdonuts

waxdonuts

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: May 28, 2002

Posted 21 February 2013 - 04:47 PM

I just received a new Hopper with Sling and am replacing my original Hopper.

I have five Hopper remotes programmed for the original Hopper and dont want to have to program them again for the Hopper with Sling. Also, is there a way to save the original Hopper settings and timers and transfer them to the new Hopper?

Is there a good step by step approach to making this replacement go well?

Example:

1. Move all recordings to EHD
2. Unplug all cables from original Hopper
3. Remove power from Joey
4. Remve power from original Hopper
5.
6.
.
.
.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

George

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 21 February 2013 - 08:51 PM

I just received a new Hopper with Sling and am replacing my original Hopper.

I have five Hopper remotes programmed for the original Hopper and dont want to have to program them again for the Hopper with Sling. Also, is there a way to save the original Hopper settings and timers and transfer them to the new Hopper?

Is there a good step by step approach to making this replacement go well?

Example:

1. Move all recordings to EHD
2. Unplug all cables from original Hopper
3. Remove power from Joey
4. Remve power from original Hopper
5.
6.
.
.
.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

George


Press and hold zero on one remote then choose back up. Then at the new receiver press and hold zero again and choose restore.

Or use the remote manager.

Edited by some guy, 21 February 2013 - 10:44 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 22 February 2013 - 05:46 PM

I just received a new Hopper with Sling and am replacing my original Hopper.

I have five Hopper remotes programmed for the original Hopper and dont want to have to program them again for the Hopper with Sling. Also, is there a way to save the original Hopper settings and timers and transfer them to the new Hopper?

Is there a good step by step approach to making this replacement go well?

Example:

1. Move all recordings to EHD
2. Unplug all cables from original Hopper
3. Remove power from Joey
4. Remve power from original Hopper
5.
6.
.
.
.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

George


Do as some guy said about the remote backup but the order I did it was :-

1. Backup to remote
2. Move all recordings to EHD
3. Remove power from Joey
4. Remove power from Hopper
5. Remove cables from Hopper
6. Attach cables to HwS
7. Power up HwS
8. Restore from remote
9. Attach EHD to HwS
10. Power on Joey
11. Link Joey
12. Enjoy

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#4 OFFLINE   waxdonuts

waxdonuts

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: May 28, 2002

Posted 22 February 2013 - 05:55 PM

Thanks. Is there anyway to ensure that I don't have to reprogram all the remotes with the learned commands for other devices?

#5 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 22 February 2013 - 06:05 PM

Thanks. Is there anyway to ensure that I don't have to reprogram all the remotes with the learned commands for other devices?


Just use the same remotes. They're the same. You can link them to the new Hopper by pressing SYSTEM INFO on the front panel and hitting the SAT button on each remote until they beep.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#6 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:14 PM

Just use the same remotes. They're the same. You can link them to the new Hopper by pressing SYSTEM INFO on the front panel and hitting the SAT button on each remote until they beep.



You also need to delink them before trying to pair them to the new receiver, if you don't, they won't pair to the new receiver since they are still paired to the old one. There is a way to manually delink the remotes using just the remote, but the quickest way is to hit system info and choose unpair, the remote will confirm with three beeps. After that is done, it should pair with the new hopper as described above.

#7 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 22 February 2013 - 11:06 PM

You also need to delink them before trying to pair them to the new receiver, if you don't, they won't pair to the new receiver since they are still paired to the old one. There is a way to manually delink the remotes using just the remote, but the quickest way is to hit system info and choose unpair, the remote will confirm with three beeps. After that is done, it should pair with the new hopper as described above.


I've managed to link them before without delinking. Matter of fact the installer took one of my old Hoppers, I managed to get him to let me keep the old remote, paired up with the new HWS fine.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#8 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 23 February 2013 - 12:58 AM

Here's a page describing the different ways to link/unlink the remote :-

http://www.mydish.co...to-receiver-922

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)





Protected By... spam firewall...And...