Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Any way to activate a DTV DVR w/o a dish?


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,193 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 May 2013 - 04:46 PM

My HR21 goes through the self startup receiver check and then looks for the satellite signal.  I get a 775 code.  I then use the menu button to get to the recorded programs which work fine until the receiver begins a new self check.  Anyway to stop that?  Right now that is my only problem.


Is your DVR connected to the satellite dish?
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 16 May 2013 - 06:18 PM

Not to argue dishrich, but as an installer myself, often customers moving from another state they bring the receivers that have been off the satellite for a week or two. after installation the receiver gets a 722 message. "your authorizations have expired. Please call DirecTV" So it will appear that a receiver off DirecTV's "grid" might not work after an "X" amount of days, weeks…

 

The key words here are "AFTER INSTALLATION" meaning the receiver gained access to the satellite data stream.  These folks are talking about pulling the satellite signal BEFORE the shutdown command and NEVER LETTING IT SEE A SATELLITE SIGNAL AGAIN.


3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#28 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,193 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 May 2013 - 06:52 PM

The key words here are "AFTER INSTALLATION" meaning the receiver gained access to the satellite data stream.  These folks are talking about pulling the satellite signal BEFORE the shutdown command and NEVER LETTING IT SEE A SATELLITE SIGNAL AGAIN.

This is of course assuming that the moment I connected the receiver to the satellite, DirecTV resend the disconnection signal at the same time.  Wow, talk about timing….what are the chances of this happening???


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#29 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 May 2013 - 09:13 PM

chances are high, the unsub cmd spooling for half year or so



#30 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 16 May 2013 - 09:30 PM

chances are high, the unsub cmd spooling for half year or so

Peds means if they sent the signal to deactivate your receiver entirely, it would have to happen in the split second it was actually connected to the dish(it's not like a text message that waits until your phone reconnects).  The error you would see at that point is "Receiver Identification Error" and noithing would work at all.


My posts, whether fact or opinion, are my own and in no way represent DirecTV or any affiliated enterprise or corporation.

#31 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,193 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 May 2013 - 05:29 AM

Peds means if they sent the signal to deactivate your receiver entirely, it would have to happen in the split second it was actually connected to the dish(it's not like a text message that waits until your phone reconnects).  The error you would see at that point is "Receiver Identification Error" and noithing would work at all.

EXACTLY


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...