Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Confusion from Dish people


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jimdwest

jimdwest

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2013

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:18 PM

After talking to one agent at Dish for 20 minutes I upgraded to Hopper. Then she mentioned that with the 4 Joeys, only 3 were actually controllable and the 4th would be a clone of one of the others.

Is this correct ? What does it actually mean ? I don't see any answer on Dish site.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,598 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:25 PM

That terminology seems wrong...

But if you are talking about a single Hopper + 4 Joeys... then what she was probably trying to convey was that a Hopper only has 3 tuners... so that 4th Joey can't be watching a live channel different from the other 3 unless you add the OTA module and tune to an OTA channel for that other tuner.

Of course the Hopper is a 5th device in that configuration and it would have the same limitation of not being able to watch something different once all tuners are in use.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#3 OFFLINE   jimdwest

jimdwest

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2013

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:30 PM

So do I read this as the 4th Joey CAN watch any recordings on the Hopper ?

I have the OTA module on order. I assume only one OTA is needed for any Joey to see

#4 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:53 PM

Not sure of your viewing habits, but the OTA will only give you one tuner and you can only have one per Hopper.

#5 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,758 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 23 February 2013 - 10:06 PM

A normal configuration would be one Hopper and up to three Joeys then the next step would be two Hoppers before the forth and final Joey (a total six TVs served).

Many have found having only one Hopper to be insufficient and a second Hopper (at extra cost) is commonly recommended before getting to three Joeys. Some users have two Hoppers and no Joeys.

Personally the only way I would accept one Hopper and four Joeys is if the Joeys were in rooms that were lightly used and I would ONLY be viewing TV in up to three of the five locations at any peak moment. It would be possible to watch the same thing as another room "live" (with shared remote control pausing etc) or anything recorded with completely separate control. But there are limitations having only one Hopper.

#6 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,598 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 23 February 2013 - 10:46 PM

So do I read this as the 4th Joey CAN watch any recordings on the Hopper ?

I have the OTA module on order. I assume only one OTA is needed for any Joey to see


Yes to both.

As James said, this configuration is ok if you aren't needing to watch live TV at multiple locations at the same time. Remember, any recording-in-progress will tie-up a tuner too... but IF you are fine watching DVR recordings at some of the Joey locations, then you might be ok with it.

Most would be much happier, though, with another Hopper so that you have 6 satellite tuners + the possibility of 1 OTA for each Hopper, meaning you could have 8 possible tuners available to your Joeys.

Edited by Stewart Vernon, 26 February 2013 - 10:30 PM.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#7 OFFLINE   lonerwulf

lonerwulf

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2012

Posted 03 April 2013 - 07:10 PM

3 joeys max per hopper and u can not only watch recording but u can also watch another program that one of the other TVA is watching




Protected By... spam firewall...And...