Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA question along with 512 receiver


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ladyharley

ladyharley

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2008

Posted 24 February 2013 - 08:12 PM

I was wondering... I cancelled dish because they raised their prices again. I own the 512 DVR. I currently have a good HDTV antenna and get great local channels. Is it possible some way to have the 512 receiver record OTA programming since I no longer subscribe to dish? Is there some way to get the 512 receiver to do this?

Thanks..

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,436 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 24 February 2013 - 08:36 PM

IIRC, the 512 does not have an OTA tuner in it.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 OFFLINE   ladyharley

ladyharley

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2008

Posted 24 February 2013 - 08:40 PM

It has TV antenna cable in connector. I had the OTA antenna connected to it and I couldn't get reception until I turned on the 512 receiver. It just won't record what is showing.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,697 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:48 PM

I was wondering... I cancelled dish because they raised their prices again. I own the 512 DVR. I currently have a good HDTV antenna and get great local channels. Is it possible some way to have the 512 receiver record OTA programming since I no longer subscribe to dish? Is there some way to get the 512 receiver to do this?

Thanks..


Nope. Not one chance !

#5 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,415 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 25 February 2013 - 01:24 PM

The 512 just has a pass-through... it doesn't have a digital tuner... so it really isn't doing anything (except apparently blocking the signal when it is off).

-- I like to go fast (not really)





spam firewall