Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

CableOne DVR's Capacity


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,373 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 26 February 2013 - 02:00 PM

I was looking around at the local cable company's DVRs and just cant help but laugh. If I only had the capacity to record 10 HD hours on my DVR I wouldnt have one lol.

Recording Capacity
The recording capacity on the DVR depends on the video format of the programming. Here are some guidelines to use when determining recording capacity:

Limited Cable (channels 2-99) - up to 25 hours
Digital & Premium Networks (channels 100 - 610 excluding HDTV) - up to 60 hours
High Definition TV (channels 421 - 500) - up to 10 hours
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,090 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 26 February 2013 - 03:22 PM

Dang, even Time Warner allows 20 HD I think.

But why can you record fewer hours of SD ABC than SD Discovery?

#3 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 26 February 2013 - 03:42 PM

MPEG2 vs MPEG4?

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#4 OFFLINE   LI-SVT

LI-SVT

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 648 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 27 February 2013 - 02:16 PM

Dang, even Time Warner allows 20 HD I think.

But why can you record fewer hours of SD ABC than SD Discovery?


Bet those channels are analog and the A/D conversion is not that efficient.

Ultimate plus movie channels

One Genie

Two HR21P





Protected By... spam firewall...And...