Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

HR44s are here! (Was: HR44 delayed...again)


  • Please log in to reply
666 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   jmbrooks

jmbrooks

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 01:41 PM

I live in Chandler, AZ (south suburb of Phoenix) and have a "genie" install scheduled for Monday 3/25. Any chance that will be a HR44?? If not can I cancel and request one specifically??
Russ

Tim "the tool man" Taylor is my hero!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 ONLINE   kram

kram

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 556 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 23 March 2013 - 01:54 PM

I live in Chandler, AZ (south suburb of Phoenix) and have a "genie" install scheduled for Monday 3/25. Any chance that will be a HR44?? If not can I cancel and request one specifically??


Depends if they still have 34s in stock and if Phoenix is a test market.

SlimLine w/SWM-16 // HR44-700 w/Samsung UN55HU8550 UHD 4K TV and Samsung Blu-ray BD-H6500 // HR24-200 w/Sony KDL-46XBR9 TV, Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH A/V Receiver, and Sony Blu-Ray BDP-S3100 // HR24-100 w/Samsung UN40ES6100 TV // DirecTV since 2001
 


#53 OFFLINE   raromr

raromr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 213 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 23 March 2013 - 04:19 PM

Just tried to swap my 34 for a 44. No dice. I was told it is very limited.

#54 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 08:29 PM

We got ours in Raleigh yesterday, installed my first HR44/C41's today.

That remote, dawg gone, all the important buttons are missing.

Format(I finnally figgered that out), TV input(used the TV remote), had to use the box to program the TV to the remote(dont like that), its gonna be a slow learning curve.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#55 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,238 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 23 March 2013 - 08:32 PM

We got ours in Raleigh yesterday, installed my first HR44/C41's today.

That remote, dawg gone, all the important buttons are missing.

Format(I finnally figgered that out), TV input(used the TV remote), had to use the box to program the TV to the remote(dont like that), its gonna be a slow learning curve.


You can still use one of the old remotes with both boxes, just only in IR mode, not RF.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#56 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 08:52 PM

You can still use one of the old remotes with both boxes, just only in IR mode, not RF.


Thank you for reminding me but I'm pretty sure DirecTv would be disappointed if the customer didn't get an RC71. The boxes pretty much begg to be setup in DirecTv's new RF standard. Since the customer was in the process of moving I only had a 70" Sharp to work with. I used a splitter and multipule HDMI inputs to connect everything at the same time. I set the HR44 to RF and started on the first C41 thinking I was good to go with a different remote. OOPS! I can bear witness to the fact that an HR44 does both RF/IR at the same time. So do the clients. Sigh.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#57 OFFLINE   Jacob Braun

Jacob Braun

    King of Awesome

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,101 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 23 March 2013 - 08:59 PM

We got ours in Raleigh yesterday, installed my first HR44/C41's today.

That remote, dawg gone, all the important buttons are missing.

Format(I finnally figgered that out), TV input(used the TV remote), had to use the box to program the TV to the remote(dont like that), its gonna be a slow learning curve.


TV Input should be the Enter button.

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.


#58 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:04 PM

Something else that was interesting. The HR44 was on HDMI2, the C41's on 3 and 4. The TV renamed HDMI 2 to something I don't remember, 3 and 4 were renamed to C41-700. I havn't ever seen that before.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#59 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:09 PM

TV Input should be the Enter button.


Tried that, put the one line guide up.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#60 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,896 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:17 PM

Something else that was interesting. The HR44 was on HDMI2, the C41's on 3 and 4. The TV renamed HDMI 2 to something I don't remember, 3 and 4 were renamed to C41-700. I havn't ever seen that before.


What TV, model and year?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#61 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:26 PM

What TV, model and year?


Not really sure, 70" Sharp Aquios(spelling?), had a real nice picture.

Not as good as my Sony or Panasonic of course, They dont auto rename their HDMI inputs though.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#62 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,165 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:39 PM

Tried that, put the one line guide up.

It's a press and hold for the TV input and the format is now part of the banner drop downs.
New remote "sucks" :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#63 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:45 PM

It's a press and hold for the TV input and the format is now part of the banner drop downs.
New remote "sucks" :lol:


I figgured the info banner part out for format. When I got home I checked my HR 24 and see it there too.

So press and hold enter will get me TV input?
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#64 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,165 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:50 PM

I figgured the info banner part out for format. When I got home I checked my HR 24 and see it there too.

So press and hold enter will get me TV input?

It does here.
A.K.A VOS

#65 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:56 PM

It does here.


Thanks. Your Da Man.

This might really suck there are a lot of folks that dont have the remotes for their TV's. The TV's dont have an input button on the front panel. I have to program the remote just to get a picture. I guess it is what it is.

RC65 in the back pocket.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#66 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,165 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 March 2013 - 10:06 PM

Thanks. Your Da Man.

This might really suck there are a lot of folks that dont have the remotes for their TV's. The TV's dont have an input button on the front panel. I have to program the remote just to get a picture. I guess it is what it is.

RC65 in the back pocket.

Some like the new remote, but the missing buttons make it a pain if you're used to the older remote. "Where's my stop button?" :(
A.K.A VOS

#67 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,380 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 23 March 2013 - 10:15 PM

Some like the new remote, but the missing buttons make it a pain if you're used to the older remote. "Where's my stop button?" :(


Smiles, I'm a list and select person, never use stop, didn't even notice till you brought it up. ;)
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#68 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,165 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 March 2013 - 11:32 PM

Smiles, I'm a list and select person, never use stop, didn't even notice till you brought it up. ;)

You can still go list & play, but you now have to exit to stop and then go back to the list and find the recording for deleting.
List-play-stop had you right back to the recording ready for deleting.
A.K.A VOS

#69 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,919 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 23 March 2013 - 11:37 PM

You can still go list & play, but you now have to exit to stop and then go back to the list and find the recording for deleting.
List-play-stop had you right back to the recording ready for deleting.

Or just FF to the end, then select "yes, delete". ;)

#70 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,273 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 March 2013 - 06:23 AM

Tried that, put the one line guide up.


You have to hold it down for a few seconds.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#71 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,273 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 March 2013 - 06:23 AM

New remote "sucks" :lol:


+1000000
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#72 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,273 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 March 2013 - 06:24 AM

Or just FF to the end, then select "yes, delete". ;)


Not if you save recordings. :)

The stop button is a pretty important button, at least for myself and others around here.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#73 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,919 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 24 March 2013 - 08:22 AM

Not if you save recordings. :)

The stop button is a pretty important button, at least for myself and others around here.

Then select "No, don't delete". ;)

But I agree, the stop button should have been kept, along with the color buttons, and an added PIP button

Less buttons on the remote equals to more button presses.

#74 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,273 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 March 2013 - 08:50 AM

Then select "No, don't delete". ;)

But I agree, the stop button should have been kept, along with the color buttons, and an added PIP button

Less buttons on the remote equals to more button presses.


A play button without a stop button is like having an on button without an off button.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#75 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,919 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 24 March 2013 - 09:03 AM

A play button without a stop button is like having an on button without an off button.

We agree, the stop button should have been kept.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...