Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

HR44s are here! (Was: HR44 delayed...again)


  • Please log in to reply
666 replies to this topic

#101 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,178 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:42 PM

C41W could be both wireless and wired. Then the customer/tech just hooks it up in the most convenient manor. A wifi chip should not add much to the cost of an RVU client (although who knows how much more directv would charge for it).


Maybe it will. But don't forget that they also need to make room for internal antennas in the box which might also change the physical size of it. Plus when you're talking about hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of boxes that "doesn't add much to the cost" starts to add up.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#102 OFFLINE   AppAlum2003

AppAlum2003

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:42 PM

Still can't get this new remote to power off/on TV-HR44-Denon Receiver at same time. It will control audio to Denon Receiver and power TV off/on, but power button doesn't affect Denon Receiver. It did while I was programming the remote - turned the receiver off/on flawlessly, but the "OFF" only turns TV off and HR44 off.

#103 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,178 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:44 PM

Still can't get this new remote to power off/on TV-HR44-Denon Receiver at same time. It will control audio to Denon Receiver and power TV off/on, but power button doesn't affect Denon Receiver. It did while I was programming the remote - turned the receiver off/on flawlessly, but the "OFF" only turns TV off and HR44 off.


Yep, that's the way it works, you'll still need your Denon remote to power the box on/off. Stupid isn't it?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#104 OFFLINE   AppAlum2003

AppAlum2003

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:48 PM

Oh well, guess this remote is going into the drawer. Back to my Harmony One.

I was going to use my One in another room and try to use this new remote, especially because it has RF built-in. But, if I can't power off and on everything with one remote, it's a deal-breaker for me.

#105 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,880 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:56 PM

Yep, that's the way it works, you'll still need your Denon remote to power the box on/off. Stupid isn't it?

It is stupid. Don't know why, when you press the on/off buttons, it couldn't power on/off the AV receiver as well? You'd think they would have fixed that by now.

#106 OFFLINE   bananfish

bananfish

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:59 PM

Maybe it will. But don't forget that they also need to make room for internal antennas in the box which might also change the physical size of it. Plus when you're talking about hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of boxes that "doesn't add much to the cost" starts to add up.


The extra cost would be counter-balanced somewhat by savings in time for their customer service department and techs in making sure customers get the right box for their setup (or swapping them out). And we all know that time = money. Not sure if those savings would end up completely offsetting the extra costs of the wireless chip, but it wouldn't surprise me in the least if they did. Plus giving customers the flexibility of doing either makes for happy customers.

#107 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,199 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:00 PM

Still can't get this new remote to power off/on TV-HR44-Denon Receiver at same time. It will control audio to Denon Receiver and power TV off/on, but power button doesn't affect Denon Receiver. It did while I was programming the remote - turned the receiver off/on flawlessly, but the "OFF" only turns TV off and HR44 off.


My RC71 only power toggles my HR44 and TV, not my Onkyo. That's the same behavior as my RC65's though so it was no surprise.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#108 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,199 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:00 PM

It is stupid. Don't know why, when you press the on/off buttons, it couldn't power on/off the AV receiver as well? You'd think they would have fixed that by now.


You can't "fix" something that is intentional though.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#109 OFFLINE   AppAlum2003

AppAlum2003

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:00 PM

I keep hitting buttons and doing the "ok, this should happen in 3 seconds wince" and then freaking out when the guide actually moves immediately. It's going to take awhile to release that conditioning.

Another strange thing I noticed is the new remote blinks the top LED green every 3 seconds. I haven't seen a setting to turn it off.

#110 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,199 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:01 PM

I keep hitting buttons and doing the "ok, this should happen in 3 seconds wince" and then freaking out when the guide actually moves immediately. It's going to take awhile to release that conditioning.

Another strange thing I noticed is the new remote blinks the top LED green every 3 seconds. I haven't seen a setting to turn it off.


There isn't a way to turn that off. It's the two-way communication between the HR44 and the RC71.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#111 OFFLINE   AppAlum2003

AppAlum2003

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:02 PM

My RC71 only power toggles my HR44 and TV, not my Onkyo. That's the same behavior as my RC65's though so it was no surprise.


Eh, I was hoping that remote redesign would incorporate this. A geek can dream, right?

#112 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,107 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:02 PM

The extra cost would be counter-balanced somewhat by savings in time for their customer service department and techs in making sure customers get the right box for their setup (or swapping them out). And we all know that time = money. Not sure if those savings would end up completely offsetting the extra costs of the wireless chip, but it wouldn't surprise me in the least if they did. Plus giving customers the flexibility of doing either makes for happy customers.

If the U-Verse wireless setup is any indication of how DirecTV's might be, there will be more to the WC41 than a stand alone receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#113 OFFLINE   bananfish

bananfish

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:10 PM

If the U-Verse wireless setup is any indication of how DirecTV's might be, there will be more to the WC41 than a stand alone receiver.


I'm not familiar with the U-Verse wireless setup - what else is included?

#114 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,178 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:20 PM

The extra cost would be counter-balanced somewhat by savings in time for their customer service department and techs in making sure customers get the right box for their setup (or swapping them out). And we all know that time = money. Not sure if those savings would end up completely offsetting the extra costs of the wireless chip, but it wouldn't surprise me in the least if they did. Plus giving customers the flexibility of doing either makes for happy customers.


They've got that issue now, SD receiver, SD DVR, HD receiver, HD DVR, Genie, Genie MiniClient (C31/C41). So just add another one, Genie Wireless MiniClient.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#115 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,107 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:25 PM

I'm not familiar with the U-Verse wireless setup - what else is included?

U-Verse uses a bridge for their wireless receiver.
The DVR & other receivers are either coax or ethernet connected to the router, and then the [wired] bridge is an exclusive access point for the wireless receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#116 OFFLINE   mrfatboy

mrfatboy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 322 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:31 PM

Does anybody know if the HR44 is in San Diego yet? I don't want to waste the installers or my time getting one until I know I can get one. My hr23 is dying so I would like it ASAP.

thx
DirecTV since '99, Grandfathered DNS Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox | HR24-500 | HR23-700 | Unsupported MRV

My Network Setup

My Computer Setup

#117 OFFLINE   jappleboy

jappleboy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2010

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:43 PM

I love new things, I have the HR34 now I am ready for the HR44. When do you think Solid Signal. will get the HR44.

#118 OFFLINE   Freakyshiat

Freakyshiat

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:56 PM

i hope the C41W has a lan port then. I am using my C31 over lan and it works perfect, but have to use the deca. If it was built in, it would give consumers all kinds of options.

#119 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,178 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:00 PM

i hope the C41W has a lan port then. I am using my C31 over lan and it works perfect, but have to use the deca. If it was built in, it would give consumers all kinds of options.


I'd guess it wouldn't since DIRECTV want's to 'own' all parts of the signal path and allowing for using ethernet doesn't fit that plan. That's assuming there will be an external device like VOS says U-Verse uses or the wireless component in the HR44 to use a a bridge.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#120 OFFLINE   tpm1999

tpm1999

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 323 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:03 PM

Or the possibility that the HR44 already has a bridge/router chip built in
HR44-500 Genie
2 C41W-100 Wireless Genie Minis and WVB
Genie Go
SWM Dish

#121 OFFLINE   AppAlum2003

AppAlum2003

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:17 PM

Or the possibility that the HR44 already has a bridge/router chip built in


I don't understand all of the technical aspects of my setup, but I was told this:

C41's connect to HR44 via coax and coax only. The HR44 then connects to my wireless router via wireless - there is no media center connection involved.

#122 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,107 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:18 PM

Or the possibility that the HR44 already has a bridge/router chip built in

The wireless feature of the 44 is "only for" internet access.
A.K.A VOS

#123 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,107 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:19 PM

I don't understand all of the technical aspects of my setup, but I was told this:

C41's connect to HR44 via coax and coax only. The HR44 then connects to my wireless router via wireless - there is no media center connection involved.

What your new 44 has is the wireless CCK built in, so you don't need an external.
A.K.A VOS

#124 OFFLINE   kram

kram

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 555 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:20 PM

HR44 just installed. Encountered bugs. If you are in one of the beta-test markets and have an HR44, I have started a new thread for reporting bugs.

SlimLine w/SWM-16 // HR44-700 w/Samsung UN55HU8550 UHD 4K TV and Samsung Blu-ray BD-H6500 // HR24-200 w/Sony KDL-46XBR9 TV, Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH A/V Receiver, and Sony Blu-Ray BDP-S3100 // HR24-100 w/Samsung UN40ES6100 TV // DirecTV since 2001
 


#125 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,107 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:21 PM

HR44 just installed. Encountered bugs. If you are in one of the beta-test markets and have an HR44, I have started a new thread for reporting bugs.

You might want to give it 24 hours for the updates.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...