Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Flying with UPS


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,940 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 01 March 2013 - 11:56 PM

I'm moving. Flying out on Sunday. I'd like to take my UPS with me instead of shipping it, if possible. I'd have it in my checked luggage. Is this fine/safe? Of course, all the UPS companies are closed during the weekend. Delta is too, and I have a feeling if I asked them about flying with a UPS, they wouldn't have a clue what I was talking about. So if a TSA agent finds a 25 pound electronic in my checked luggage, is there going to be an issue?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,122 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:08 AM

My inclination would be to ship it UPS. But I guess if you want it there with you....

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#3 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,940 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:11 AM

My inclination would be to ship it UPS. But I guess if you want it there with you....


I kinda wanna use it immediately. However, I don't want another situation like when I flew in January when they made me throw away 3 bottles of unopened/sealed water lol "Yeah, just throw away your $200 UPS" lol

#4 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    Not the Fist of Goodness

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,043 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:48 AM

At the very least, the battery would need to be disconnected. If you try to fly with it, you should be prepared to leave the battery behind.

#5 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,822 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 01:01 AM

Fedex it. I Fedex all my luggage now. The TSA risk is too great at the gate and the guys sifting through your luggage have first dibs on all electronics under the plane.

I carry my laptop and my Kindle and two days worth of clothing.

#6 OFFLINE   tgater

tgater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 02 March 2013 - 04:20 AM

Fedex it. I Fedex all my luggage now. The TSA risk is too great at the gate and the guys sifting through your luggage have first dibs on all electronics under the plane.

I carry my laptop and my Kindle and two days worth of clothing.


2nd

#7 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:03 AM

3rded. Whether or not you're actually permitted to bring batteries of that size on a passenger plane, even disconnected, it's one of those things the nice untrained folks at the TSA would freak out about. FedEx it and save yourself the pain.

Edit: The answer's no. Anything larger than a drill battery is not supposed to be on the plane.

http://www.faa.gov/a...d_batteries.pdf

Edited by RasputinAXP, 02 March 2013 - 08:09 AM.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#8 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    In Loving Memory of My Beautiful Lisa

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,077 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:22 AM

UPS your UPS ;)

.


~ 12 Year Anniversary Month ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,297 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 March 2013 - 11:18 AM

3rded. Whether or not you're actually permitted to bring batteries of that size on a passenger plane, even disconnected, it's one of those things the nice untrained folks at the TSA would freak out about. FedEx it and save yourself the pain.

Edit: The answer's no. Anything larger than a drill battery is not supposed to be on the plane.

http://www.faa.gov/a...d_batteries.pdf


I see the answer as yes.

By the PDF:

Q. What kinds of batteries are allowed in checked baggage?
A. Except for spare (uninstalled) lithium batteries, all the batteries allowed in carry-on baggage are
also allowed in checked baggage. The batteries must be protected from damage and short
circuit or installed in a device. Battery-powered devices—particularly those with moving parts
or those that could heat up—should be protected from accidental activation. Spare lithium
batteries (both lithium metal and lithium ion/polymer) are prohibited in checked baggage.


Actually, UPS doesn't use Li-Ion battery (check your UPS,perhaps NiMH). All that limits mostly apply to battery with Li content.

#10 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,402 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:02 PM

I'm in the "ship it" UPS or FedEx gang. If you are dead set on having a UPS available immediately upon relocation, spend the extra money, buying one at Sam's or even BB. You will probably always be aable to find a use for it.

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Sony KDFE-55A20 55" LCD RPTV; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVoRoamio Plus, LG BH200 HD DVD/Blu-ray player via HDMI to AVR
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#11 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,881 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:06 PM

Or take the UPS and leave the battery. Find a Batteries Plus where you are going and buy a new one. Overweight baggage fees or shipping fees might make this the cheapest option.

My Setup

 

Why can I get to the "Adult's Only" area faster than I can get to the "ToDo" List?  DirecTV, that is messed up!!!


#12 OFFLINE   PokerJoker

PokerJoker

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 455 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 02 March 2013 - 06:49 PM

I see the answer as yes.

By the PDF:


Actually, UPS doesn't use Li-Ion battery (check your UPS,perhaps NiMH). All that limits mostly apply to battery with Li content.


UPS batteries are almost always of the sealed-lead-acid type. I personally wouldn't ever put them on the plane. Ever see the overcharge fees if you go over 50 lbs per bag? :eek2:

#13 OFFLINE   peano

peano

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 747 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:44 PM

Ship it. A UPS is only needed in rare circumstances. Doubtful you will need it at your destination before your bigger items arrive.

#14 OFFLINE   ts7

ts7

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2011

Posted 03 March 2013 - 07:56 AM

I'm in the "ship it" UPS or FedEx gang. If you are dead set on having a UPS available immediately upon relocation, spend the extra money, buying one at Sam's or even BB. You will probably always be aable to find a use for it.


For what it would cost to overnight on a carrier or to pay the overweight fees on an airline, you could probably just about buy a new one and leave the old one for the next resident.

#15 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,249 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 03 March 2013 - 08:59 AM

They don't like batterys and don't know one from another type so be safe and ship. I have had parts removed from my tool kit.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#16 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,693 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 03 March 2013 - 09:51 AM

+ 1 on the buy a new one when you get there. If you're going to ship one at all - then let it go with your other household goods. In the short term - you can probably get by just fine with a decent surge protector if you don't want to buy a new UPS.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#17 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 04 March 2013 - 09:36 AM

I see the answer as yes.

Actually, UPS doesn't use Li-Ion battery (check your UPS,perhaps NiMH). All that limits mostly apply to battery with Li content.


All of my UPSes are sealed lead-acid. No go for airplanes. They're definitely NOT NiMH.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,297 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 March 2013 - 09:39 AM

All of my UPSes are sealed lead-acid. No go for airplanes. They're definitely NOT NiMH.


Why "no go" ? That regulation didn't prohibit SLA batteries.

#19 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,284 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 04 March 2013 - 10:33 AM

Wow. From the title, I thought this was going to be a whole 'nother discussion, along the lines of booking passage on a "tramp steamer" instead of a passenger ship, back before transoceanic jets.
Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.

#20 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 04 March 2013 - 02:07 PM

Why "no go" ? That regulation didn't prohibit SLA batteries.


Yes it did.

Batteries allowed in carry-on baggage include:
• Dry cell alkaline batteries; typical AA, AAA, C, D, 9-volt, button sized cells, etc.
• Dry cell rechargeable batteries such as Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) and Nickel Cadmium (NiCad). For rechargeable lithium ion batteries; see next sentence.
• Lithium ion batteries (a.k.a.: rechargeable lithium, lithium polymer, LIPO, secondary lithium). Passengers may carry consumer-sized lithium ion batteries [no more than 8 grams of equivalent lithium content or 100 watt hours (wh) per battery]. This size covers AA, AAA, 9-volt, cell phone, PDA, camera, camcorder, Gameboy, and standard laptop computer batteries. Passengers can also bring two (2) larger lithium ion batteries (more than 8 grams, up to 25 grams of equivalent lithium content per battery) in their carry-on. This size covers larger extended-life laptop batteries. Most consumer lithium ion batteries are below this size.
• Lithium metal batteries (a.k.a.: non-rechargeable lithium, primary lithium).


A sealed lead-acid battery is none of those things. As for check baggage, "all the batteries allowed in carry-on baggage are also allowed in checked baggage." There's no allowance for a sealed lead-acid battery there, either.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.





spam firewall