Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DTV Signal Issues


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bobemac

bobemac

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:33 PM

My current setup is an HR34-700, plus an HR24-100, and an HR 24-200.

I've been using DTV since '98 when they acquired Primestar.
I started DVR with Tivo in '99 and HD in 2001.
I morphed into Mem peg 4 in 2004 with HR 21's. I started using AM 21's
at that time. We were located between Austin and San Antonio and were
getting over 30 channels OTA.


About two months ago we started getting 771 messages, along with 721.
Plus we have freezes, pixel issues, skips, wrong channels, and slow loading.

Our local DTV service tech spent over 4.5 hours at our place yesterday,
but was unable to fix the problem. He replaced every component in the
system except the receivers.

When I called him today he checked with his supervisor, and the DTV "supertechs".
The verdict was the DTV software does not support the AM 21 anymore,
and that means I have to disconnect the AM21 and no more OTA. In reality none of the local DTV tech know anything about the AM 21 nor OTA!

I know that April 1 is a month away, but please somebody at DBS has
got to have seen this fixed before.
Help would be appreciated.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,790 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:44 PM

I know that April 1 is a month away, but please somebody at DBS has
got to have seen this fixed before.
Help would be appreciated.

"My fix" was to remove the AM21 from my Genie.
I just had too many weird things going on.

About the only thing I can suggest is to use the HR24s for the AM21 and watch the recordings on the Genie with MRV.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   242424

242424

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2012

Posted 02 March 2013 - 01:18 PM

My HR-20 is the same way with my OTA channel. The only way I can watch it is if I go to channel 1 and do the RR BB Y G That doesn't help the recorded shows and it sucks to have to do that every time.

#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,843 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 01:48 PM

I'm in the same boat as VOS. I had to remove my AM21 from my Genie to resolve issues I was having but the AM21 on my HR24 is still fine.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   bobemac

bobemac

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:42 PM

FYI Very Old School, The AM 21 is currently connected to one of my HR24s.
It's displaying the exact same issues as the HR34.

BTW, the HR24 without the AM 21 is running properly.

I'm scheduled for another DTV visit on Monday.

#6 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,790 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:55 PM

FYI Very Old School, The AM 21 is currently connected to one of my HR24s.
It's displaying the exact same issues as the HR34.

BTW, the HR24 without the AM 21 is running properly.

I'm scheduled for another DTV visit on Monday.

"we started getting 771 messages, along with 721"

721 Service Isn't Authorized CS needs to authorize. Can also indicate a blackout condition (sports programming)

771 Searching for Satellite Main Check: 1) Peaking 2) Line of sight 3) Connections 4) Distribution system 5) Hardware

If these codes are correct, it shouldn't be related to the AM21.

"I'm assuming" with 9 tuners, that you have a SWiM-16 and not a SWiM LNB.

Edited by veryoldschool, 02 March 2013 - 03:04 PM.

A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   bobemac

bobemac

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 02 March 2013 - 04:31 PM

"we started getting 771 messages, along with 721"

721 Service Isn't Authorized CS needs to authorize. Can also indicate a blackout condition (sports programming)

771 Searching for Satellite Main Check: 1) Peaking 2) Line of sight 3) Connections 4) Distribution system 5) Hardware

If these codes are correct, it shouldn't be related to the AM21.

"I'm assuming" with 9 tuners, that you have a SWiM-16 and not a SWiM LNB.


Yes, the DTV tech installed another Swim-16 yesterday.

The cause and effect relationship between the AM 21 and my service problems was diagnosed by the DTV experts.
I don't believe there is a connection.

#8 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,790 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 06:25 PM

Yes, the DTV tech installed another Swim-16 yesterday.

The cause and effect relationship between the AM 21 and my service problems was diagnosed by the DTV experts.
I don't believe there is a connection.

The Genie & AM21 is one thing [that I too have had problems with] while the HR24 & AM21 would be another and I haven't had any problems with.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,114 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:12 PM

FYI Very Old School, The AM 21 is currently connected to one of my HR24s.
It's displaying the exact same issues as the HR34.

BTW, the HR24 without the AM 21 is running properly.

I'm scheduled for another DTV visit on Monday.


I've never had any issues with the AM21 and my HR24. Which HR24 model do you have?

#10 OFFLINE   bobemac

bobemac

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 04 March 2013 - 09:00 AM

We had two DTV managers, and our tech here this morning.
The problem seems to be fixed.
The DECA switch had been connected incorrectly.

This was a first for our tech.
He had been hooking up the DECA switch the other way for three years.
A good learning experience.

The AM 21 is not implicated in any way.
Thanks for your responses.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...