Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do I do this?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Dazed & Confused

Dazed & Confused

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2007

Posted 02 March 2013 - 05:43 PM

I have a 2 receiver system with WH. There is a SWM LNB on the dish with two wires going directly to each of the two receivers. Below is how it is hooked up. How would I hook up an HR24 in place of the HR20? I'm thinking I will have a bunch of extra stuff on the left side of the picture.

I'm guessing everything connected to that splitter (incl. the splitter) goes away, and that wire goes straight the receiver. However, does the broadband DECA go away, and the Linksys connect directly to the HR24, or does that piece stay the same?



Posted Image
_____________________________________________
Sony KDL-40V2500 / HR20-100
Sony KDS-55A2020 / HR22-100

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 02 March 2013 - 05:45 PM

Remove the DECA and the BSF and you're good to go.

Kevin
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup

#3 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 728 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:23 PM

Remove the DECA and the BSF and you're good to go.

Kevin


Don't forget to remove the two-way splitter!
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#4 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:54 PM

Don't forget to remove the two-way splitter!


Good call.

Kevin
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup

#5 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,921 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:02 PM

Are you sure you have an SWM LNB? You say there are two wires coming out of the dish, that can't be correct.......

#6 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,373 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 03 March 2013 - 01:00 AM

SWM LNB has only one coax output. Conventional LNB has four. What do you actually have?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#7 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,936 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 03 March 2013 - 09:54 AM

I would say that there is a 4 way splitter at the dish, the system would not function as drawn unless it is SWM. One question has not been answered, the broadband DECA does not go away, only the HR34 Genie can function as a Ethernet/DECA bridge
My Setup

#8 OFFLINE   Dazed & Confused

Dazed & Confused

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2007

Posted 03 March 2013 - 04:39 PM

SWM LNB has only one coax output. Conventional LNB has four. What do you actually have?


OK, maybe my wording (and drawing :lol:) was not precise. There is a SWM LNB on the dish that feeds a 4-way splitter outside (white splitter w/green tag). The four wires go 2ea. directly to the receivers.
_____________________________________________
Sony KDL-40V2500 / HR20-100
Sony KDS-55A2020 / HR22-100

#9 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,816 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 March 2013 - 04:49 PM

OK, maybe my wording (and drawing :lol:) was not precise. There is a SWM LNB on the dish that feeds a 4-way splitter outside (white splitter w/green tag). The four wires go 2ea. directly to the receivers.


Don't you mean, based on the diagram, one coax run from the splitter for each of the receivers, one to the BB DECA, and the fourth port terminated?

#10 OFFLINE   Dazed & Confused

Dazed & Confused

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2007

Posted 03 March 2013 - 05:14 PM

Don't you mean, based on the diagram, one coax run from the splitter for each of the receivers, one to the BB DECA, and the fourth port terminated?


Well, you guys don't disappoint. Right after I submitted it I realized I should have technically said "to the location of the receivers", and just knew someone would point that out. I decided to leave it alone just to see if I was right, and along comes HoTat2. :lol:
_____________________________________________
Sony KDL-40V2500 / HR20-100
Sony KDS-55A2020 / HR22-100

#11 OFFLINE   Lugnut

Lugnut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 03 March 2013 - 05:36 PM

Good call.

Kevin
__________________
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup


In a completely unrelated topic, I was just curious what your first name is, bro? :grin:
"People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care" - John C. Maxwell

DIRECTV Employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

My Equipment:
2x HR-24-100
1x HR-22-100
2x H25-100

#12 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,249 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 03 March 2013 - 05:42 PM

Then the answer to you question is that you should disconnect the cable going into the box labeled SWM Splitter and plug that cable into the HR-24. You don't need the splitter, DECA or filter that's currently between the 4-way splitter and the HR-20 anymore.

Everything else stays exactly the same as it is.

#13 OFFLINE   Dazed & Confused

Dazed & Confused

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2007

Posted 03 March 2013 - 06:13 PM

Thanks guys. I thought I understood the left side of the drawing, but was thinking I maybe could plug the Linksys directly into the HR24.

On a side note, just out of curiousity does anyone know why the WH would not work with the power inserter on the HR20 side. The installer went crazy trying to make that configuration work a couple of years ago as it seemed to work once, and then just stopped working. I don't remember exactly where he had the PI, but I think it was between the two-way splitter and BSF, but it could have been in front of the DECA. He finally called his office, and they told him to put it on the HR22 side, and then everything worked fine.
_____________________________________________
Sony KDL-40V2500 / HR20-100
Sony KDS-55A2020 / HR22-100

#14 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,373 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 04 March 2013 - 01:00 AM

Because the HR20-100 requires a special configuration for proper WHDVR sharing.

And you don't want to plug your Linksys directly into the HR24. For proper WHDVR sharing nothing should be connected to the HR24's ethernet port.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#15 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,816 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 March 2013 - 05:10 AM

Because the HR20-100 requires a special configuration for proper WHDVR sharing.

And you don't want to plug your Linksys directly into the HR24. For proper WHDVR sharing nothing should be connected to the HR24's ethernet port.


Nah ...

The question was why WH connectivity was lost when trying to connect the PI on the coax run to the HR20 which I assume was placed at some point ahead of the 2-way splitter.

And my guess would be that while the PI should be transparent to all RF signals passing through it in either direction, alas all is not ideal in a real world implementation. The internal DC blocking capacitor on the "To IRD" end of the PI is known not play nice with the strong MoCA network signal emerging from the DECA adapter when it transmits if placed too close, and thereby cause connectivity problems with WH service.

When used on the coax run of the HR22 the PI was probably located further away from its DECA adapter than it was on the run to the HR20's.

Just my speculation FWIW as to what could have happened, otherwise it should function identically (assuming the proper coax switch to the power passing port on the root splitter was made of course :) ) .




spam firewall