Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Why is SWS splitter full?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rynning

rynning

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2007

Posted 04 March 2013 - 10:04 AM

Hi. I've searched the forums, but I still can't figure out why all 4 outputs on my SWS4 splitter are being used. I have two receivers, one with a DVR and one without. (Install is only 6 months old.)

What I was hoping to do was use an available output to extend my home network with coax, putting a DirecTV DECA on the other end.

Will this be possible?

Thanks,
Scott

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,955 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 March 2013 - 10:28 AM

You'll need to look into it more.

"Maybe" your 4-way has:
1 port to PI
1 port to DVR
1 port to receiver
1 port to CCK
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   rynning

rynning

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2007

Posted 04 March 2013 - 10:39 AM

Thanks. If that is what is connected (I'll check tonight), will I then need to get an 8-way splitter to extend my home network with a DirecTV DECA?

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,955 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 March 2013 - 10:48 AM

Thanks. If that is what is connected (I'll check tonight), will I then need to get an 8-way splitter to extend my home network with a DirecTV DECA?

It sort of depends on where everything is and if it can be reconfigured.
You might be able to connect the CCK [or a receiver] to the output of the PI, or move the PI before the splitter.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   rynning

rynning

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2007

Posted 04 March 2013 - 11:20 AM

My actual application is to connect an iAquaLink pool controller to my network with Ethernet (instead of wifi), and it just happens to be about 5 feet away from my 4-way splitter! My router and receivers are not close.

Will this do it? http://www.amazon.co.../dp/B0032UU762/

Thanks again.

#6 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,231 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 March 2013 - 11:37 AM

My actual application is to connect an iAquaLink pool controller to my network with Ethernet (instead of wifi), and it just happens to be about 5 feet away from my 4-way splitter! My router and receivers are not close.

Will this do it? http://www.amazon.co.../dp/B0032UU762/

Thanks again.


No;


The "Green Label" type optimized to pass the DECA network signal (MoCA) between its output ports such as here;

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409002084

#7 OFFLINE   rynning

rynning

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2007

Posted 04 March 2013 - 12:04 PM

Glad I asked the experts. Thanks!

#8 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,491 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 12:39 PM

If it's easier, you can get a 2 way splitter and split one of the coax cables that are already going to the two DVR's, and continue the new run from that location, rather than running a new home run back to the 4-way splitter.

#9 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,225 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 05 March 2013 - 12:57 PM

If it's easier, you can get a 2 way splitter and split one of the coax cables that are already going to the two DVR's, and continue the new run from that location, rather than running a new home run back to the 4-way splitter.

You may be better off splitting the PI port since the PI won't suffer from signal loss.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,955 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 02:10 PM

You may be better off splitting the PI port since the PI won't suffer from signal loss.

While the PI "won't care", whatever is connected to the other port of the added splitter "will care".
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,225 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 March 2013 - 09:15 AM

While the PI "won't care", whatever is connected to the other port of the added splitter "will care".

Since that whatever would be an adjacent DECA radio, I'm thinking it is the lesser of evils.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,955 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 March 2013 - 09:30 AM

Since that whatever would be an adjacent DECA radio, I'm thinking it is the lesser of evils.

I was guessing that was what you were thinking, but if the added 2-way splitter is a green labeled, the DECA loss would be greater, than the loss to a receiver for SWiM.
As it turns out, if you wanted to add a 2-way off of a 4-way, for the PI and a DECA, using a non green labeled splitter would have the lowest loss.
Given the PI has an output, using it to feed another DECA would be the better option as you wouldn't have the added loss of a 2-way splitter.
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,231 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 March 2013 - 10:00 AM

I was guessing that was what you were thinking, but if the added 2-way splitter is a green labeled, the DECA loss would be greater, than the loss to a receiver for SWiM.
As it turns out, if you wanted to add a 2-way off of a 4-way, for the PI and a DECA, using a non green labeled splitter would have the lowest loss.
Given the PI has an output, using it to feed another DECA would be the better option as you wouldn't have the added loss of a 2-way splitter.


Ironic isn't it?

While a "green label" splitter is optimized to pass the DECA (MoCA) network signal between its output ports, this feature actually causes a loss to the DECA signal when it has to traverse the splitter going from its output to input to reach its destination.

This is a good reason why, convenience notwithstanding, to try and avoid any splitting downstream of the main root one in WH installs.

EDIT: Rather I should say that if splitting downstream of the root splitter is necessary a standard non-green label SWiM one is better to use unless communication of the DECA signal across the output ports is needed. Then a "green label" SWiM splitter is required of course, greater losses to the DECA signal when traversing from output to input notwithstanding.

Edited by HoTat2, 07 March 2013 - 12:22 PM.
PM info. from VOS





Protected By... spam firewall...And...