Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Dish Question - What should i do?


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 748 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 09 March 2013 - 10:31 AM

Hah that was the best thing that could have happened.
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 366 posts
  • LocationDover, PA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 09 March 2013 - 06:21 PM

I glad it worked out the way it did and that it does not matter if the other tenants cut power. We have been here since November of 2010. Since we have been here, we have had a change in neighbors every 3-6 months usually in the middle of the night..lol The last guy that was there was the longest (pushing 7 months) then he passed away. I guess you could blame it on the current state of the economy and people just cant afford stuff but i still find it rude to just move out in the middle of the night rather than leaving the landlord with a heads up.. Then again if i was that hard up i would not have Directv either...

DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#43 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 366 posts
  • LocationDover, PA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 24 March 2013 - 10:16 AM

Just a quick question to add to this.... when the installer was putting in the SWM 16's he told me that i HAD to have a line going from the PWR port to the PI. that left me with a line though my bedroom window. Could i not run the PI though the line that goes to the red port and run all 16 tuners? that's the way the SWM 8 was installed.

DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#44 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,379 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 March 2013 - 10:51 AM

Just a quick question to add to this.... when the installer was putting in the SWM 16's he told me that i HAD to have a line going from the PWR port to the PI. that left me with a line though my bedroom window. Could i not run the PI though the line that goes to the red port and run all 16 tuners? that's the way the SWM 8 was installed.

The -16 can be powered two ways:
1) the PWR connector
2) output #1 marked as SWM PWR
Output #2 can't power the -16
A.K.A VOS

#45 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 366 posts
  • LocationDover, PA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:00 AM

that's what i needed to know.. now i can get this stupid wire out of mt window.

DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#46 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,317 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:19 AM

move PI and make PI insertion with a cable what is connecting to outport#1

#47 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,815 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 March 2013 - 12:57 PM

And that's actually what the SWM #1/PWR combo port is really designed for. For cases of mounting the all weather capable SWiM-16 multiswitch outside while keeping the "non-weather" capable PI protected indoors somewhere.

#48 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 366 posts
  • LocationDover, PA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 25 March 2013 - 11:04 AM

And that's actually what the SWM #1/PWR combo port is really designed for. For cases of mounting the all weather capable SWiM-16 multiswitch outside while keeping the "non-weather" capable PI protected indoors somewhere.


That's what i thought but this installer insisted that the only way to power the SWM was though the middle "pwr" port. he also claimed that it was the only way supported by directv. I knew he was full of himself but, i thought it just be easier to do it his way and fix it later.

DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#49 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,379 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 11:28 AM

That's what i thought but this installer insisted that the only way to power the SWM was though the middle "pwr" port. he also claimed that it was the only way supported by directv. I knew he was full of himself but, i thought it just be easier to do it his way and fix it later.

He might have gotten burned before.
If the PI is too close to the SWiM, it may cause problems.
This was the case with the SWM8, where there either needed to be a splitter between the SWM8 and PI or at least 15' of coax.
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall