Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 Genie, 0x067E - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
119 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,016 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 12 March 2013 - 08:32 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for HR34, version 0x067E

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=213493

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 12 March 2013 - 09:02 AM

Happened approximately 2:30AM AZ time. Big download... Took awhile. System is much quicker.... Lag issues seem almost gone. Just caught it as i was heading to bed.... Quick look seems encouraging.
Everything is more smooth period. My pause and not starting up seems to be gone, yet that happens more random. Couldn't get that to happen though flipping around stations. Will see more later but things looking better for sure at this point.

Edited by Datagg, 12 March 2013 - 09:07 AM.


#3 OFFLINE   Ed Campbell

Ed Campbell

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,270 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 12 March 2013 - 10:38 AM

Didn't notice the download until picture disappeared just after startup, this morn. RBR and all seems smooth. Download @ 2:19 AM, usual time.


Most irksome need-to-fix still hasn't happened: disappearing audio when Dolby ON during SD broadcasts. Otherwise, seems OK.

#4 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 794 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 12 March 2013 - 06:36 PM

I've had this for about a week, and I've noticed it's come up with a DVR buffer when powering it on for me every time. I don't have any C31s in my setup.
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#5 OFFLINE   mdpeterman

mdpeterman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 12 March 2013 - 09:53 PM

Well I am not sure if this is because of this update the the first episode of Hell's Kitchen tonight recorded black. And I found out why. It tried recording Channel 5 WNYW from New York city. Im in Columbus OH so it should have recorded 28. I have Hell's kitchen as a smart search. How would it even find that channel. Its frustrating to come home and find a worthless recording.

#6 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 13 March 2013 - 12:39 AM

Lag, non responsive remote is definitely gone on my unit thus far. Pause, resume, play issues have ceased to act up also... yet will need to wait a few days for confirmation on that as that particular issue is random and increases as time goes on.

Thus far im really pleased though.... They finally got an update that makes me give Kudos.

#7 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 13 March 2013 - 06:00 AM

mdpeterman - do you by any chance, have an AM21 hooked to your HR34??
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#8 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,676 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 March 2013 - 06:42 AM

Well I am not sure if this is because of this update the the first episode of Hell's Kitchen tonight recorded black. And I found out why. It tried recording Channel 5 WNYW from New York city. Im in Columbus OH so it should have recorded 28. I have Hell's kitchen as a smart search. How would it even find that channel. Its frustrating to come home and find a worthless recording.


When you setup the Series Link for Hell's Kitchen did you do it as a "Far In Advance" deal? If so it appears as though the HR34 chose the national FOX feed, found in the 300's, and not your actual local FOX feed. That was a bug that's been reported in the past.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#9 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,230 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 13 March 2013 - 07:50 AM

Well my 3D is back to normal with this release and this is the first Wednesday that I havn't had to reboot the HR34. :joy: Good Job.

I didn't have a live buffer coming out of standby, no big deal.

I think most of my network far in advance recorded the east coast feeds.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#10 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 13 March 2013 - 11:32 AM

Wait a minute. Another release? I never even got the release that came out last month.

I'm still stuck on 0x5fd

#11 OFFLINE   captaink5217

captaink5217

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2011

Posted 13 March 2013 - 01:35 PM

Wait a minute. Another release? I never even got the release that came out last month.

I'm still stuck on 0x5fd


I'm right with you, I'm stuck on 0x5fd as well
Genie HR34-700
H24-200
C31-700

#12 OFFLINE   austen0316

austen0316

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
  • LocationRobbinsville, NJ
Joined: Jun 21, 2006

Posted 13 March 2013 - 01:52 PM

I'm still stuck on 0x5fd...... is 0x067E a national release?

#13 OFFLINE   larry55

larry55

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2010

Posted 13 March 2013 - 02:40 PM

I did a force download on the hr34 and got the new software up date.reboot the hr3r 34 and when it start up on your remote click on 02468and should find the software and download it.

#14 OFFLINE   bsather

bsather

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 13 March 2013 - 02:43 PM

http://www.redh.com/dtv/?r=HR34-700

Wait til you see 67E n the stream, usually around 9 eastern.

#15 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 9,016 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 13 March 2013 - 02:46 PM

I'm still stuck on 0x5fd...... is 0x067E a national release?


This is expected and you will get the new release when DIRECTV sends it to you. I would recommend that you do not force download firmware as others will suggest, it's not worth the risk.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#16 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 13 March 2013 - 02:48 PM

The new Version Ox067E needs to be in the stream in order for you to DL the newest national release. It is NOT currently in the stream, so doing a forced DL will result in the same version that you currenly have.

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C31 Clients and 1 C41 Client


#17 OFFLINE   jappleboy

jappleboy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2010

Posted 13 March 2013 - 02:49 PM

Just did a force download I 06B1 now I am back to 05FD.

#18 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 13 March 2013 - 03:20 PM

Everyone should stop trying to force the download.

As always it's a staggered push. Different areas will get it at different times.

Have some patience and everyone will get the push.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#19 OFFLINE   mdpeterman

mdpeterman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 13 March 2013 - 04:51 PM

mdpeterman - do you by any chance, have an AM21 hooked to your HR34??


No AM21 hooked up.

#20 OFFLINE   mdpeterman

mdpeterman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 13 March 2013 - 04:52 PM

When you setup the Series Link for Hell's Kitchen did you do it as a "Far In Advance" deal? If so it appears as though the HR34 chose the national FOX feed, found in the 300's, and not your actual local FOX feed. That was a bug that's been reported in the past.


Yes, did it as far in advance. Must have not been smart enough to realized to use my local channels. Grr




spam firewall