Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 Genie, 0x067E - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
119 replies to this topic

#101 OFFLINE   keithtd

keithtd

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 296 posts
  • LocationMid Atlantic
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 26 April 2013 - 09:53 PM

Beyond the lag this software version is notorious for, the last two days I have come home to the DVR being on for no reason.  I know this because I turn off the front panel lights and they are back on as if an update has taken place.  Its not a power loss reboot either because its on a UPS.


____________________
HR34/HR24/H23/DCAW

Linksys EA4500
All Powerline Connected


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#102 OFFLINE   jcwest

jcwest

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 299 posts
Joined: May 03, 2006

Posted 27 April 2013 - 04:46 AM

This A.M. was the second time since 67e came down that the HR34 was on in the morning.

We always leave it in standby @ bedtime.

 

J C


HR20-700
HR34-700 AM21
HR21-200 AM21N
HR21-200


#103 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 27 April 2013 - 02:42 PM

Yah mine was on this morning too. And I know it restarted b/c i keep the front panel lights off and they were on too. 



#104 OFFLINE   tonydi

tonydi

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2010

Posted 28 April 2013 - 01:20 AM

Glad I checked in here.  The last two days I've come into the room and seen the front panel lights on and wondered how bad of a job I'd been doing shutting everything off. :)  Weird that this just started even though the update has been on mine for 6 weeks.



#105 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,220 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 30 April 2013 - 09:26 AM

Minor annoyance here;

 

But is anyone else recently noticing the invalid key press "bonk" sound on the Genie every time the SELECT button is pressed on the remote even for valid entries?


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#106 OFFLINE   tonydi

tonydi

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2010

Posted 30 April 2013 - 12:56 PM

Yeah, I'm getting the extra tones with the Select button press. It eventually became annoying enough that I disabled the remote sounds completely and I don't really miss them at all!



#107 OFFLINE   dnelms

dnelms

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2006

Posted 01 May 2013 - 02:44 PM

Has anyone seen on the longer you have the receiver on, some shows looks as if the people are moving in slow motion? Looks like it's similar to dropping frames while watching a movie.

 

My HR34 has been on the last 3 mornings when I know we turned it off.



#108 OFFLINE   Windshadow

Windshadow

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 07 May 2013 - 03:42 PM

I just upgraded to the HR34/700 software 0x67e,sat 5/4, 12:43p which was when the installer came and installed and forced the update
Issues (which the installer would clear after 24/48 hours) are on the remote unit in the bedroom use of the 30 sec advance will skip ahead to the live position even when it is an hour behind live and then the bedroom remote unit will freeze frame the picture and lock up it then has to be power cycled to unfreeze and of course the skipped content is lost.
The iPad app which was working with the old 32/500 and even the old 32/100(both of which were replaced by the new 34/700 and its remote slave) can not find the new equipment on the home network I tried inputting the ipaddress manually taking the 192 address from the network services page but that too is not found. Also if I hit the connect now button on the net serv page I get starting network services ..... Unable to start network services (301) this even though I am able to use the on demand to get shows ( though about every hour or 2 while downloading these shows I will get a network connection missing. Msg on screen with the option to test now or ignore I go with ignore and I can see that the do resumes in a bit.
I am on road runner 50/5 via time Warner. I have seen this pause in DL on my computer as well but time Warner says that when the speedtest.net is run we get 49/4.95 results it is not a problem on their end of course it is intermittent and so not seen when the cable tech is here.

So if this was the wrong place to ask this please let me know where to move it
Cheers and thanks for looking

#109 OFFLINE   Windshadow

Windshadow

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 07 May 2013 - 04:31 PM

Also running the connect to the Internet (I am using the directv supplied wifi unit) I runs down as far as network Ethernet connected then Internet not connected
(22)
Result code 86- 219 and none of the sug items are of any use and I can still download but not all the time

#110 OFFLINE   Bogey62

Bogey62

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2002

Posted 08 May 2013 - 12:15 PM

I have had an HR34-700 and a H25-100 since July 2012 and it has been pretty much one disappointment after the next. I came from Dish after 10 years of "beta testing" for them (DVRs: 721, 622, 722) and now it looks as though I am doing the same for DirecTV.

 

I have software 0x67e and here is a list of all the issues I am having with the latest and greatest setup from DirecTV (I even waited last year to cancel my Dish service until the HR34 was available -- be careful what you wish for, I guess).

 

Of course, just as with Dish, the DirecTV tech support reps tell me that this is the first time they are hearing of the issues I am having *yawn*.

 

All issues are with the HR34, unless otherwise noted:

 

* Periodically loses audio when I first turn it on and needs to be rebooted to get audio back.

 

* Recordings will sometimes freeze the video during playback, but the audio keeps playing. after a while normal playback of both audio/video resumes.

 

* Recordings will sometimes freeze audio and video for about a minute or so and then resume playback at some point after the freeze, but with a missing section of the show.

 

* Bedroom receiver (H25) will lose contact with the HR34 during playback of a recording and both units need to be rebooted. An error will popup saying that there is no active play list or that the connection has been lost, etc. This only happens randomly and only when the FF or Skip Ahead buttons are being used on a recorded show being played back in the bedroom from the HR34 in the living room. The picture will freeze for a few seconds, at that point either it will FF/Skip Ahead or I'll get the aforementioned error message.

 

* Sometimes when manually entering a channel number via the remote, the numbers will appear at the top of the screen but the receiver will ignore this and stay on the original channel. It can take up to 3 tries to get it to accept the channel change. Yes, I have a direct LOS to the receiver and my batteries are fine.

 

* Receiver can be very sluggish to respond to commands such as scrolling playback list, channel guide or other button presses. I'm guessing this is either the software programming or most likely the choice of a CPU for this unit that can just barely run the system and nothing more (sorta like running Windows with the minimum hardware requirements -- a joke to be sure).

 

* When playback of a show ends, sometimes the screen and progress bar will be frozen on the screen and it takes several presses of the FF and/or Play buttons to get it to popup the menu asking if I want to delete the episode.

 

* Setting timers to record only first run events regularly results in multiple episodes being recorded that are a mix of first run and reruns.

 

The Suze Orman Show, Saturdays 9 PM on CNBC is a perfect example of this. Unless I set a Manual timer, I regularly get 5 or 6 recordings of this show per week. This also happens on other shows like the F1 Extra show on NBCSports. I just want the ONE NEW episdode per week of these shows, but this wonderful Genie insists on recording everything no matter how I set the timers. I have tried deleting the timers and setting them up from scratch, rebooting the HR34, etc., but it makes no difference.

 

The only workaround I have found is either setting a manual timer (I hate this option as DirecTV thinks it's a good idea to name all manual timer shows: "Manual Timer: Show Ttile", instead of just the show's title). Or, I can spend the time each week going through the To Do list and deleting all duplicate shows that it shouldn't be recording anyways.

 

* The HR34 regularly skips recording a show that is clearly a new episode. Honestly, I really hate this entire recording setup. There is NO indication as to why a show is not going to be recorded. If you look in the guide at a show's entry that you know you have a timer set for, DirecTV will show nothing beside that show's title when it decides it doesn't need to record it. I have to manually check the original air date or set a manual one-off timer to record the new episode that the system decided it didn't want to record. How about the record symbol beside the show with a slash through it? Dish has this part down. They show a symbol beside the show in the guide to indicate it is not going to be recorded and I can go to their version of the To Do list and select "show skipped" and this will show me EVERY show on my record list that is and is not going to be recorded via my set timers. The skipped shows tell you why they are being skipped: exists in DVR, not a new episode, not correct program title, etc.

 

* Receiver will record the same episode over and over again even though that same exact episode exists in the DVR already. I think this stems from my last two bullet points above.

 

* Many times series timers will completely ignore an episode that it should be recording when checking the To Do list and the Series Manager (will show zero upcoming events). I have to manually set a timer to get it to record the show that should be covered by the existing series timer.

 

* Banner is stuck on the same channel info no matter what channel it is actually tuned to. I had this happen on a Friday afternoon. The banner was stuck on my local NBC affiliate and the show title was Days of Our Lives. No matter what channel I tuned to, the banner would stay the same. A reboot fixed this issue.

 

After dealing with all of these issues for MONTHS, I decided to call DirecTV for about the fifth time to demand some kind of solution. The tech support rep said I had to either pay for a tech to come out or sign up for their "extended warranty" since my whopping 90 days was long up. I begrudgingly signed up for the monthly fee for the warranty. They sent a tech out and he replaced the LNB, splitter (4-way to an 8-way -- I only have the two units in the house) and he replaced the HR34 with a brand new one.

 

Guess what...

 

I have 100% of the exact same issues that I mentioned above.

 

My best guess, DirecTV has a major flaw in their HR34 hardware and or software. Like Dish, they will keep adding all these "wonderful" new features and ignore the underlying ugliness that even a moderate or power user experiences with these units. Sorry for the sarcasm and negativity, but I've been on this ride for over 10 years now and I had C-band satellite TV for 15 years before the small dishes took over. I've seen it and I've heard it all before.

 

Someone, please give me the magic fix for all of these issues -- if not for the Sunday Ticket, I'd be gone back to Dish or somewhere else (and DirecTV knows this).


Edited by Bogey62, 09 May 2013 - 08:43 AM.

Bill (Bogey62)
Hopper w/Sling + Joey
Sirius Sportster 4 Replay


#111 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 08 May 2013 - 04:25 PM

I have had an HR34-700 and a H25-100 since July 2012 and it has been pretty much one disappointment after the next. I came from Dish after 10 years of "beta testing" for them (DVRs: 721, 622, 722) and now it looks as though I am doing the same for DirecTV.

 

I have software 0x67e and here is a list of all the issues I am having with the latest and greatest setup from DirecTV (I even waited last year to cancel my Dish service until the HR34 was available -- be careful what you wish for, I guess).

 

Of course, just as with Dish, the DirecTV tech support reps tell me that this is the first time they are hearing of the issues I am having *yawn*.

 

All issues are with the HR34, unless otherwise noted:

 

* Periodically loses audio when I first turn it on and needs to be rebooted to get audio back.

 

* Recordings will sometimes freeze the video during playback, but the audio keeps playing. after a while normal playback of both audio/video resumes.

 

* Recordings will sometimes freeze audio and video for about a minute or so and then resume playback at some point after the freeze, but with a missing section of the show.

 

* Bedroom receiver (H25) will lose contact with the HR34 during playback of a recording and both units need to be rebooted. An error will popup saying that there is no active play list or that the connection has been lost, etc. This only happens randomly and only when the FF or Skip Ahead buttons are being used on a recorded show being played back in the bedroom from the HR34 in the living room. The picture will freeze for a few seconds, at that point either it will FF/Skip Ahead or I'll get the aforementioned error message.

 

* Sometimes when manually entering a channel number via the remote, the numbers will appear at the top of the screen but the receiver will ignore this and stay on the original channel. It can take up to 3 tries to get it to accept the channel change. Yes, I have a direct LOS to the receiver and my batteries are fine.

 

* Receiver can be very sluggish to respond to commands such as scrolling playback list, channel guide or other button presses. I'm guessing this is either the software programming or most likely the choice of a CPU for this unit that can just barely run the system and nothing more (sorta like running Windows with the minimum hardware requirements -- a joke to be sure).

 

* When playback of a show ends, sometimes the screen and progress bar will be frozen on the screen and it takes several presses of the FF and/or Play buttons to get it to popup the menu asking if I want to delete the episode.

 

* Setting timers to record only first run events regularly results in multiple episodes being recorded that are a mix of first run and reruns.

 

The Suze Orman Show, Saturdays 9 PM on CNBC is a perfect example of this. Unless I set a Manual timer, I regularly get 5 or 6 recordings of this show per week. This also happens on other shows like the F1 Extra show on NBCSports. I just want the ONE NEW episdode per week of these shows, but this wonderful Genie insists on recording everything no matter how I set the timers. I have tried deleting the timers and setting them up from scratch, rebooting the HR34, etc., but it makes no difference.

 

The only workaround I have found is either setting a manual timer (I hate this option as DirecTV thinks it's a good idea to name all manual timer shows: "Manual Timer: Show Ttile", instead of just the show's title). Or, I can spend the time each week going through the To Do list and deleting all duplicate shows that it shouldn't be recording anyways.

 

* The HR34 regularly skips recording a show that is clearly a new episode. Honestly, I really hate this entire recording setup. There is NO indication as to why a show is not going to be recorded. If you look in the guide at a show's entry that you know you have a timer set for, DirecTV will show nothing beside that show's title when it decides it doesn't need to record it. I have to manually check the original air date or set a manual one-off timer to record the new episode that the system decided it didn't want to record. How about the record symbol beside the show with a slash through it? Dish has this part down. They show a symbol beside the show in the guide to indicate it is not going to be recorded and I can go to their version of the To Do list and select "show skipped" and this will show me EVERY show on my record list that is and is not going to be recorded via my set timers. The skipped shows tell you why they are being skipped: exists in DVR, not a new episode, not correct program title, etc.

 

* Receiver will record the same episode over and over again even though that same exact episode exists in the DVR already. I think this stems from my last two bullet points above.

 

* Many times series timers will completely ignore an episode that it should be recording when checking the To Do list and the Series Manager (will show zero upcoming events). I have to manually set a timer to get it to record the show that should be covered by the existing series timer.

 

* Banner is stuck on the same channel info no matter what channel it is actually tuned to. I had this happen on a Friday afternoon. The banner was stuck on my local NBC affiliate and the show title was Days of Our Lives. No matter what channel I tuned to, the banner would stay the same. A reboot fixed this issue.

 

After dealing with all of these issues for MONTHS, I decided to call DirecTV for about the fifth time to demand some kind of solution. The tech support rep said I had to either pay for a tech to come out or sign up for their "extended warranty" since my whopping 90 days was long up. I begrudgingly signed up for the monthly fee for the warranty. They sent a tech out and he replaced the LNB, splitter (4-way to an 8-way -- I only have the two units in the house) and he replaced the HR34 with a brand new one.

 

Guess what...

 

I have 100% of the exact same issues that I mentioned above.

 

My best guess, DirecTV has a major flaw in their HR34 hardware and or software. Like Dish, they will keep adding all these "wonderful" new features and ignore the underlying ugliness that even a moderate or power user experiences with these units. Sorry for the sarcasm and negativity, but I've been on this ride for over 10 years now and I had C-band satellite TV for 15 years before the small dishes took over. I've seen it and I've heard it all before.

 

Someone, please give me the magic fix for all of these issues -- if not for the Sunday Ticket, I'd be gone back to Dish or somewhere else (and DirecTV knows this).

 

The only thing I disagree on above is the font size. Other than that I agree 110%. I could go on and on, but all i will say is its shame, just a pure shame DTV cant get there act together.


Edited by Datagg, 08 May 2013 - 04:27 PM.


#112 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,845 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 May 2013 - 08:01 PM

 

 

 

The only thing I disagree on above is the font size. Other than that I agree 110%. I could go on and on, but all i will say is its shame, just a pure shame DTV cant get there act together.

 

While you disagree with the font, and so do I, you decided to "repost it" again… !rolling


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#113 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 08 May 2013 - 11:23 PM

While you disagree with the font, and so do I, you decided to "repost it" again… !rolling

 

Damn your right.  My Bad.



#114 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,928 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 May 2013 - 06:23 PM

<< Snipped bits out >>

 

 

The only thing I disagree on above is the font size. Other than that I agree 110%. I could go on and on, but all i will say is its shame, just a pure shame DTV cant get there act together.

 

Rather than reposting the whole thing, you could let those who have trouble reading it use their browser's increase font size. Please. 

 

DIRECTV is a corporation, so it'd be "its act", not "their" and surely not "there". And DIRECTV's

 act is pretty together. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#115 OFFLINE   Bogey62

Bogey62

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2002

Posted 12 May 2013 - 07:03 PM

Rather than reposting the whole thing, you could let those who have trouble reading it use their browser's increase font size. Please. 

 

DIRECTV is a corporation, so it'd be "its act", not "their" and surely not "there". And DIRECTV's

 act is pretty together. 

I beg to seriously differ, Laxguy.

 

I was a Dish customer for 10 years. I waited and waited last year for DirecTV to release their bad-boy HR34 so I could see if the grass was indeed greener...

 

They (D-TV) do NOT have their act together. The bugs I listed above are a sad joke and noticeable by any serious user of their equipment. I have dealt with this for 10 straight months. They continue to add bells and whistles to their flagship unit, but they neglect to fix the issues I mentioned -- and those are not obscure issues.

 

I have a long history with tech support at DirecTV regarding this and they have let me out of my 2-year contract due to it. I'm saying hello to a Hopper/Joey combo tomorrow afternoon.

 

I am well-aware that Dish has its own issues, but at least they fix most of the glaring issues in a fairly timely manner.

 

BTW, if D-TV had it all togehther, as you said, then why are they releasing a brand new flagship model less than one year after the release of their previous flagship model? Something stinks in Denmark... my D-TV installer told me that they are having all kinds of issues with the HR34 and have been replacing them left and right (me included).

 

Frankly, AFAIC, D-TV has oine and only one thing over Dish and that's the Sunday Ticket.


Bill (Bogey62)
Hopper w/Sling + Joey
Sirius Sportster 4 Replay


#116 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,928 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 May 2013 - 07:26 PM

Sorry your experience has been bad.

 

But I didn't say DIRECTV has it all together. No company has. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#117 OFFLINE   Smooth Jazzer

Smooth Jazzer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 183 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 23 May 2013 - 12:26 PM

On 5/14 @ 0501 EDT I got the Ox6be. I hate to ask but where is the thread for this new software?

Thanks



#118 OFFLINE   PAJeep

PAJeep

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2008

Posted 01 June 2013 - 08:50 PM

Hr34 connected to Samsung plasma pn58c8000 no longer recognizes hdmi and have to use component.

#119 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,845 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 June 2013 - 09:19 PM

Hr34 connected to Samsung plasma pn58c8000 no longer recognizes hdmi and have to use component.

Have you tried connecting other devices to this TV?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#120 OFFLINE   PAJeep

PAJeep

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2008

Posted 02 June 2013 - 08:19 PM

Have you tried connecting other devices to this TV?


BluRay and game consoles work hdmi. The HR34 worked first few days I had it. Verified input does work.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...