Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Worth getting Genie?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,901 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 09:22 AM

Don't have to worry about a program running over by a minute.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   JimAtTheRez

JimAtTheRez

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: May 08, 2008

Posted 19 March 2013 - 10:59 AM

I currently have 4 HD DVR's and an HD Receiver (9 tuners). In my family room, I have both an HD Projector and TV, and was leaning to move one of the other DVR's in there to stack them. I would like to have different programs on each. Right now, I have a switch and I can watch on either the TV or projector or both, but only the same program. I need some expert advice. Is stacking DVR's the answer, or adding the Genie (which I may do anyway since I am not under contract and don't plan on leaving D*), or simply adding some kind of HD splitter? I do have 2 coax cables coming to the family room (wired a few years ago), and of course, I am only using one. Give me some ideas, guys and gals. As always, thanks in advance.

“The problem with quotes from the internet is that you cannot always verify the authenticity.”

---------Abraham Lincoln


#23 OFFLINE   Jon J

Jon J

    Grouch Extrordinaire

  • Registered
  • 1,155 posts
  • LocationMusic City, USA
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:07 AM

DirecTV's commercials for the Genie show the receiver and arrows to other rooms in the house graphic seeming to indicate the Genie will play directly to the TVs in the other rooms. But, actually, don't you still need some sort of receiver (for a monthly fee) at each TV?
When news breaks...we fix it.

#24 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:15 AM

DirecTV's commercials for the Genie show the receiver and arrows to other rooms in the house graphic seeming to indicate the Genie will play directly to the TVs in the other rooms. But, actually, don't you still need some sort of receiver (for a monthly fee) at each TV?


Yes - you would need the Genie 'client' or a TV with RVU built into it. Either way you still have to pay for each monthly....

#25 OFFLINE   JimAtTheRez

JimAtTheRez

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: May 08, 2008

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:21 AM

Wow, so the Genie does NOT work directly with the HD DVR's? Sad for me.

“The problem with quotes from the internet is that you cannot always verify the authenticity.”

---------Abraham Lincoln


#26 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,115 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:28 AM

You can play back a recording from the Genie on another DVR, and vice versa. What you can't do from a DVR is to set something to record on the Genie. Only from a C31 or RVU TV can you access the Genie's Todo list etc.

#27 OFFLINE   JimAtTheRez

JimAtTheRez

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: May 08, 2008

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:48 AM

Oh ok. So I can watch what is recorded on the Genie in another room where I have a DVR. IOW, the Genie's playlist will be a part of the whole home total playlist? Right/wrong?

“The problem with quotes from the internet is that you cannot always verify the authenticity.”

---------Abraham Lincoln


#28 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,867 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:53 AM

Our setup includes 4 HR2x DVRs, 2 H25 receivers and Genie (15 tuners total, 13 recordable and a total of 4.5TB of disk space). We schedule recordings from one of the H25's since you can pick which DVR to make a recording on from there. From a DVR you can only schedule a recording on THAT DVR.

The software only provides a unified playlist - the recording management must still be done at the individual DVRs. That said, we schedule most things on the Genie, and have yet to have a conflict. You can, however, watch ANY recording from ANY DVR on ANY TV.

The Genie was a great addition. We'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#29 OFFLINE   JimAtTheRez

JimAtTheRez

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: May 08, 2008

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:01 PM

Thanks so much for the help. I think I will add the Genie. Now to look for a solution to my separate picture feeds for my projector and TV (football season will here soon!).

Again, thanks.

“The problem with quotes from the internet is that you cannot always verify the authenticity.”

---------Abraham Lincoln


#30 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 19 March 2013 - 02:20 PM

Wow, so the Genie does NOT work directly with the HD DVR's? Sad for me.


What do you mean it doesn't work directly with the HD-DVRs? If you mean can they share recordings between the DVRs and Genie, then yes they can. But as far as being able to share to do lists, series manager, etc. that can only be done between the Genie and it's clients.

Edit/sorry missed the other responses that covered this.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




Protected By... spam firewall...And...