Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

What is involved in upgrading from SWM 8 to SWM 16


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,031 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 17 March 2013 - 07:45 PM

A SWM8 is a separate switch. A SWM lnb will support 8 tuners with a SWS8 splitter.


I have had a bad time with wording things badly lately... I am very aware of the difference as I have a SWM8 on the wall in my basement. I just meant the SWM LNB is functionally a 8 tuner switch

My Setup


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 17 March 2013 - 07:51 PM

Was it expensive? Did you need to cash out your 401K to get it done? Is it included as part of the usual $50 install?


If a SWM-16 is required it's included in the $50 install price.
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#23 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,176 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 17 March 2013 - 08:18 PM

If a SWM-16 is required it's included in the $50 install price.

True but only if a receiver comes along with it.

#24 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 939 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 17 March 2013 - 09:36 PM

I have had a bad time with wording things badly lately... I am very aware of the difference as I have a SWM8 on the wall in my basement. I just meant the SWM LNB is functionally a 8 tuner switch


Yes. I just wanted to be sure the other poster wasn't confused by your post.

#25 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 370 posts
  • LocationDover, PA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 18 March 2013 - 07:51 PM

Was it expensive? Did you need to cash out your 401K to get it done? Is it included as part of the usual $50 install?


You could get a SWM 16 off ebay for $50-$60 bucks and have a nice Jackson waiting there to help convince him to install it... :lol:

DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#26 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,399 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 02:09 PM

True but only if a receiver comes along with it.


Yes. But the OP is looking to get a new receiver (Genie) which will put him up to 9 tuners.

The big question is whether the installer is willing to install the SWM-16 at the dish, so the OP can continue to utilize his underground dual coax from the dish to the house or will the installer insist on mounting the SWM-16 at or in the house, which will require 2 additional coax cables, which the OP would need to bury himself (which he has stated that he doesn't want to do).

#27 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,176 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:28 PM

Yes. But the OP is looking to get a new receiver (Genie) which will put him up to 9 tuners.

The big question is whether the installer is willing to install the SWM-16 at the dish, so the OP can continue to utilize his underground dual coax from the dish to the house or will the installer insist on mounting the SWM-16 at or in the house, which will require 2 additional coax cables, which the OP would need to bury himself (which he has stated that he doesn't want to do).

The installer gave me a choice to have the SWM-16 at the dish or on the house. I think all the OP has to do is ask.




spam firewall