Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

I love DTV customer service!!


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 18 March 2013 - 11:09 AM

Called to ask for a Genie upgrade and they said $299.99 and you can have it. I asked if there was anything they could do for a long time customer and they said "no cost" for you!!! And there are giving me a DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit, but I don't think I need that....do I?

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x808
(1) HD DVR HR24-500 - 
(1) HD DVR HR22-100
(3) HD H24-100

Dell Studio XPS 8300 - Intel Core i7 2600 3.40GHz
Memory: 16GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 (Not Used) 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win7U x64


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,508 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 18 March 2013 - 02:08 PM

And there are giving me a DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit, but I don't think I need that....do I?


Officially, you do need it. Practically, if you have a live Ethernet connection at the location where the Genie will be located, you don't need it.

#3 OFFLINE   maerativo

maerativo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
  • LocationN. California
Joined: Jul 23, 2008

Posted 18 March 2013 - 03:58 PM

Are they going to upgrade you to a 34 or 44 Genie? What is the time line for this upgrade? Just asking as I'm waiting for the 44 so I can upgrade from a HR22-100.

DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1996
 

HR44-500
HR24-500
Roku 3


#4 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,890 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 18 March 2013 - 04:30 PM

Called to ask for a Genie upgrade and they said $299.99 and you can have it. I asked if there was anything they could do for a long time customer and they said "no cost" for you!!! And there are giving me a DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit, but I don't think I need that....do I?


Now that's a good deal!

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#5 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,826 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 18 March 2013 - 05:04 PM

Why wait? The HR34 is the original 5 tuner box and as it's firmware evolves it gains benefit of its origins and the refinements it spawns to make newer renditions possible. up to 5 channels recording at a single time or up to 3 clients viewing programming at the same time.

I've several HR22-100s in my realm and believe me the 34 all but does away with some of the things that bother me about the 22. Pull up a menu item and the posters appear nearly immediately no more foot tapping when paging thru menu options. Suppress the blue ring of light in the center without an act of congress and having to exit out of the display the 22 leaves you in.

Waiting for the as yet vapor DVR 44 could be setting yourself up for a disappointment if it doesn't meet the anticipated speed in operation you have set yourself to expect.

HR34 is here NOW! It works well, its a light years jump from the HR22 and it runs pretty darn well thank you. I love mine.

Don "waiting makes me very angry, very angry indeed YMMV" Bolton

Are they going to upgrade you to a 34 or 44 Genie? What is the time line for this upgrade? Just asking as I'm waiting for the 44 so I can upgrade from a HR22-100.


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#6 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 18 March 2013 - 05:28 PM

Officially, you do need it. Practically, if you have a live Ethernet connection at the location where the Genie will be located, you don't need it.


I have Ethernet injected where the HR34 is going....

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x808
(1) HD DVR HR24-500 - 
(1) HD DVR HR22-100
(3) HD H24-100

Dell Studio XPS 8300 - Intel Core i7 2600 3.40GHz
Memory: 16GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 (Not Used) 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win7U x64


#7 OFFLINE   Mcmiller519

Mcmiller519

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2010

Posted 18 March 2013 - 05:56 PM

I have been testing the 44 and 41 for about 2 months now and love it very few bugs during the whole testing process runs smooth and fast

#8 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 408 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:32 AM

I have been testing the 44 and 41 for about 2 months now and love it very few bugs during the whole testing process runs smooth and fast


Does the C41 have Optical/TOSLINK vs that Digital Coax. I know they added back the Optical/TOSLINK to the HR44 after all the people here on DBS said it was useless and unnecessary anytime anyone said anything about its absence on the HR34.

#9 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,991 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 19 March 2013 - 09:52 AM

Since we haven't seen a "first look" on the C41 yet, he probably isn't supposed to be talking about it at all, so you might not get an answer.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#10 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 938 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:19 PM

Since we haven't seen a "first look" on the C41 yet, he probably isn't supposed to be talking about it at all, so you might not get an answer.


The C41 is [externally] identical to the C31 if you look at the C41-700 publicly available FCC documents.
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#11 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,340 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:46 PM

Since we haven't seen a "first look" on the C41 yet, he probably isn't supposed to be talking about it at all, so you might not get an answer.


Did you see Nick's new avatar? Made me want a beer so badly I almost went out and bought a six-pack... :lol:

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...