Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can a swim 16 cause static on a cat5 line?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tonyc

tonyc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 192 posts
  • LocationAnaheim,CA
Joined: Jun 12, 2006

Posted 18 March 2013 - 08:30 PM

I have static on my phone (voip) every since DTV installed my Genie, the swim 16 multiswitch was installed right next to the Cat5 line for my computer,
I already determined that it is not the phone adapter. Can the multiswitch be causing the static on the line?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,317 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 March 2013 - 09:18 PM

check AC voltage between a case of each device (switch, PC, DVR, etc) and ground contact in near power outlet

#3 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,372 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:14 AM

Easy test .... unplug the AC power to the SWM16. Does your "static" go away?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   Wisegoat

Wisegoat

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 803 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:06 AM

I have static on my phone (voip) every since DTV installed my Genie, the swim 16 multiswitch was installed right next to the Cat5 line for my computer,
I already determined that it is not the phone adapter. Can the multiswitch be causing the static on the line?


Try an actual analog phone. That is one that does not need a power supply. In other words, not a cordless. That all tell you if the line is the issue..




spam firewall