Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

I'm stumped and need help!


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 22 March 2013 - 07:42 AM

I connect my HR23 via a wireless adapter. The DVR sees the connection and indicates all is well. I can view you tube videos without a problem. However, when I attempt video streaming of movies or tv shows, it only indicates "pending download" but nothing every downloads. What is my problem? Please help!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,559 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 March 2013 - 01:02 PM

what is your download speed? Go to www.speedtest.net and post back
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 22 March 2013 - 02:05 PM

what is your download speed? Go to www.speedtest.net and post back


Just under 15mbps

#4 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,158 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 22 March 2013 - 02:16 PM

Try going into network settings and select "Restore network defaults". This has helped some of the odd networking problems for me in the past.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#5 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 23 March 2013 - 08:06 AM

Try going into network settings and select "Restore network defaults". This has helped some of the odd networking problems for me in the past.


I did that, no help. You Tube works fine. Can't download movies.

#6 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,923 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 23 March 2013 - 10:44 AM

I did that, no help. You Tube works fine. Can't download movies.


What kind of streaming are you talking about? VOD? NetFlix? Hulu?

Rich

#7 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 23 March 2013 - 02:41 PM

What kind of streaming are you talking about? VOD? NetFlix? Hulu?

Rich


DirecTv's downloadable library.

#8 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,923 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 March 2013 - 10:32 AM

DirecTv's downloadable library.


First thing I'd do is get a long Ethernet cable and put that on the 23 in place of the wireless gizmo and see if you can then download VOD. 15mbs is enough to download VOD, but how much other stuff are you running off your router?

I've tried the wireless gizmos such as yours and never had much luck with them. Better to have it hardwired, I think.

Rich

#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 March 2013 - 10:37 AM

The problem is your hr23 does not think it is on the same network as your router. You need to go wired or otherwise simplify your setup.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:38 AM

The problem is your hr23 does not think it is on the same network as your router. You need to go wired or otherwise simplify your setup.


What does it handle YouTube fine? Is it a bandwidth issue?

#11 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:43 AM

First thing I'd do is get a long Ethernet cable and put that on the 23 in place of the wireless gizmo and see if you can then download VOD. 15mbs is enough to download VOD, but how much other stuff are you running off your router?

I've tried the wireless gizmos such as yours and never had much luck with them. Better to have it hardwired, I think.

Rich


You may be correct.

I have one blu-ray player, 1 smart TV, 2 notebooks all connecting wirelessly and the HR23 and another blu-ray player connected via ethernet and a wireless printer plus my Samsung Galaxy III. Of course, all are not active at the same time.

#12 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,923 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:00 PM

You may be correct.

I have one blu-ray player, 1 smart TV, 2 notebooks all connecting wirelessly and the HR23 and another blu-ray player connected via ethernet and a wireless printer plus my Samsung Galaxy III. Of course, all are not active at the same time.


Before you do anything else, please put an Ethernet wire on your 23. That will tell you immediately if the problem is with your wireless gizmo or you have problems elsewhere. I get 56 down on my modem and I've never had one of the wireless things work in one of my rooms. I haven't tried one of the wireless connectors for several years, just gave up and went hard-wire thruout the house.

Rich

#13 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,876 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:14 PM

The problem is less likely an actual throughput problem than it is a error rate problem. Streaming protocols are less forgivving of data errors that file transfer protocols. The YouTube connections adjust to higher error rates, but I don't think the DirecTV servers are as tolerant. If your router supports it, you might take a look at the retransmission rates for the wireless network...I'll bet you're in the 10% or higher range.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#14 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,373 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:15 PM

I connect my HR23 via a wireless adapter. The DVR sees the connection and indicates all is well. I can view you tube videos without a problem. However, when I attempt video streaming of movies or tv shows, it only indicates "pending download" but nothing every downloads. What is my problem? Please help!

How about just getting a Cinema Connection Kit. And Run your Internet via coax?

 

 

 


#15 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:16 PM

Before you do anything else, please put an Ethernet wire on your 23. That will tell you immediately if the problem is with your wireless gizmo or you have problems elsewhere. I get 56 down on my modem and I've never had one of the wireless things work in one of my rooms. I haven't tried one of the wireless connectors for several years, just gave up and went hard-wire thruout the house.

Rich


It's now hardwired and works fine.

#16 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:16 PM

How about just getting a Cinema Connection Kit. And Run your Internet via coax?


I may do that in the future.

#17 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,923 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:31 PM

It's now hardwired and works fine.


Good, at least the 23 works. Now you have to either figure out a way to get a hardwired Ethernet connection or keep trying those wireless things. I had a fairly difficult time getting the Ethernet wires into one room, but I finally did it.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...