Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

A couple channels not tuning...


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lvrebel

lvrebel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 11:36 AM

I have been experiencing some issues regarding TNTHD, network channels and multiple others not tuning in. It's strange, sometimes it's comes in and others it takes a couple hours to acquire. Anyone know what this could be? It happens on DVR and two non-DVR receivers.

Here are the signal strengths.

101
1-8: 96 95 93 42 95 98 91 98
9-16: 95 96 94 49 96 99 94 99
17-24: 95 100 93 54 97 100 95 100
25-32: 96 0 94 100 96 99 94 100

99©
1-8: 75 83 73 85 72 81 74 83
9-16: 73 81 76 80 77 82 NA NA

99(s)
All NA except 19 and 21, 77 and 86 respectively

103(s)
All NA except 19, 20 and 21, 0 respectively

103(ca)
9-16: 0 across
17-24: 0 across

103(cb)
1-8: 0 across
9-16: 0 across except 15 and 16 NA

SWM
1-8: 100 0 0 98 100 96 96 96
9-16: 96 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

I'm located in West HIlls, California.

I've read it could be a connection or bad LNB?

Edited by lvrebel, 23 March 2013 - 11:47 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,950 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 March 2013 - 11:51 AM

I have been experiencing some issues regarding TBSHD not tuning in. It's strange. Sometimes it's comes in and others it takes a couple hours to acquire. Anyone know what this could be? It happens on DVR and two non-DVR receivers.

Here are the signal strengths.

101
1-8: 96 95 93 42 95 98 91 98
9-16: 95 96 94 49 96 99 94 99
17-24: 95 100 93 54 97 100 95 100
25-32: 96 0 94 100 96 99 94 100

99©
1-8: 75 83 73 85 72 81 74 83
9-16: 73 81 76 80 77 82 NA NA

99(s)
All NA except 19 and 21, 77 and 86 respectively

103(s)
All NA except 19, 20 and 21, 0 respectively


103(ca)
9-16: 0 across
17-24: 0 across


103(cb)
1-8: 0 across
9-16: 0 across except 15 and 16 NA


SWM
1-8: 100 0 0 98 100 96 96 96
9-16: 96 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

I'm located in West HIlls, California.

I've read it could be a connection or bad LNB?


Check or call-in for a service call for your possible dish alignment first.

Your Ka band CONUS signals are nonexistent, and your spotbeams at 103(s) are low.

You should not be receiving many HD channels with those readings except for some nationals and spotbeam locals. And even those are not really acceptable for 99© and especially for the spotbeams at 103©.

Edited by HoTat2, 23 March 2013 - 01:20 PM.
Carefully re-reading noticed 99(C) has passable readings


#3 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,224 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 23 March 2013 - 01:01 PM

TNTHD is on satellite 103ca, so it makes sense you aren't picking it up when you have 0s across the board as you did when you took these readings. If you do sometimes pick it up, you must have signal when that is happening. Something is seriously wrong, a bad LNB is a good guess especially if everything used to be working perfectly for you.

I just had my LNB replaced last week, and read of a good way to check. Go to your signal strength screen and select "signal meters" and look at individual transponders in the problem satellites (103ca and 103cb in your case) In my case, everything worked perfectly 99% of the time, but sometimes I'd see pixellation and dropouts on channels on 103ca. When that was happening the signal meters would show my signal strength on individual transponders on 103ca jumping around a lot, and sometimes dropping all the way to 0. When things were working fine I'd have rock steady readings like I always did on 99c, so it was intermittent. Your problem looks to be worse than mine since you had all 0s on all transponders at the time you took these readings, but perhaps you might see something different in the signal meters. It is worth checking if you're curious. If you do, let us know what you find, I'm kind of curious myself since I just went through this :)

Your readings on 99c are also a bit low, if they were taken in clear weather you might want to get your dish re-aligned as part of getting the main issue fixed, as numbers in the 70s mean that it could be improved. Those numbers aren't low enough to be a problem unless you experience some fairly heavy rain, however.

Your quickest path to resolution would be to call Directv and ask them to get a tech out, and mention you think you may have a bad LNB.

#4 OFFLINE   lvrebel

lvrebel

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 02:27 PM

Ok. So here is some additional information which might throw your responses for a loop. Evidently, the DVR is receiving CBSHD but the non-DVR receivers are not. If I record CBSHD using the DVR and replay it on a non-DVR receiver, the channel comes in fine.

So I am back to thinking this is an issue with SWM or connection. Why would DVR be able to tune in channels and not non-DVR receivers? Why would the non-DVR receivers be able to acquire the signals on occasion and lose it again if turned off?

#5 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,356 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 23 March 2013 - 03:14 PM

Check the satellite signal strengths on the receiver that is getting the channels and compare them to the ones you have already posted.
It is possible that the signals are almost the same and the receiver that is getting the channels just a an ever so slightly better tuner in it.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#6 OFFLINE   lvrebel

lvrebel

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 03:39 PM

Ok. More info. Sorry, but as we try and diagnose the problem we are learning more.

We checked transponder measurements individually; HR24-500, HR24-100 and HR24-100.

Upstairs where HR24-500 is located, we get all channels and transponder measurements are all strong. Downstairs both HR24-100 get zero on satellites 103(s), 103(ca) and 103(cb). Why would HR24-100 get zeros while the HR24-500 get strong signals.

At first thought, we thought it could be the lines, but we moved the HR24-100 to the location (upstairs where HR24-500 located) and switched out receivers. HR24-100 still gets zeros on 103(s), 103(ca) and 103(cb). Also lower numbers on 101 transponders 4,8 and 12. So....this leads me to believe there is something wrong with receivers?

#7 OFFLINE   lvrebel

lvrebel

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 04:43 PM

Check the satellite signal strengths on the receiver that is getting the channels and compare them to the ones you have already posted.
It is possible that the signals are almost the same and the receiver that is getting the channels just a an ever so slightly better tuner in it.


As mentioned I response above, HR24-100 are getting zero's on 103(s), 103(ca) and 103(cb) where as the HR24-500 is getting strings numbers on these satellites and transponders. We have moved swapped locations of the receivers with the exact same readings.

#8 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,224 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 23 March 2013 - 04:45 PM

A problem with the receivers is possible, though less likely when you have two with the exact same symptoms. A few years ago I had an H20-100 that one day decided to stop receiving HD. Signals on 101 sat were fine, but signals on 99 and 103 sats were all 0. I messed around with resetting it and pulling power overnight but it never recovered, so it got replaced.

Did you try moving the -500 downstairs where the other two have trouble? The more data the better when you have weird problems like this one.

Do you have a SWM LNB (one line from dish) or a legacy LNB (four lines from dish) and a SWM-8 or SWM-16 multiswitch?

#9 OFFLINE   lvrebel

lvrebel

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 05:39 PM

A problem with the receivers is possible, though less likely when you have two with the exact same symptoms. A few years ago I had an H20-100 that one day decided to stop receiving HD. Signals on 101 sat were fine, but signals on 99 and 103 sats were all 0. I messed around with resetting it and pulling power overnight but it never recovered, so it got replaced.

Did you try moving the -500 downstairs where the other two have trouble? The more data the better when you have weird problems like this one.

Do you have a SWM LNB (one line from dish) or a legacy LNB (four lines from dish) and a SWM-8 or SWM-16 multiswitch?


Interesting. We've now deduced that this issue is also tied to the time of day. We used to think that if the receiver was on long enough it would eventually acquire a signal. Now we realized that around 4 PM the signal gets strong enough and all of a sudden 103(ca) and 103 (cb) has signal when before it was zeros. This was confirmed on two separate HR24-100's (the HR24-500 would always get signal).

So here is a recap of the issue:

1. (2) HR24-100's located on first floor in separate locations has zero signal on 103(ca) and 103(cb).
2. HR24-500 located on second floor has good signal on all satellites (weak on 101 transponder 4,8 and 12)
3. Swapping locations of all receivers displayed same strengths issues (ruled out wiring issue)
4. At or around 4 PM, satellites were suddenly acquired and HR24-100 were able to pick up once dropped out satellites (103(ca) and 103(cb)).

What does all this mean? I have no idea other than to believe that the tuner in the HR24-100 is weaker and cannot acquire the signal UNTIL something changes in the satellite position. We noticed the line of sight of dish is tremendously close to a neighbors chimney. Does the satellite change position throughout the day?

#10 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,849 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 23 March 2013 - 07:37 PM

Your first and possibly only problem is dish alignment. Your signal strengths on 99 and 103 are unacceptably low.

The signal readings you get on a receiver or a DVR are actually indications of bit errors as opposed to actual signal levels. Because your levels are so low, any given receiver could be just above, or just below a threshold which gives you all of the zero's.

Until you get signal readings in the 90's on 99 and 103, all of the other checks you are making really are not going to tell you anything.

Just for information, the low transponders you are seeing on 101 are spot beams which you are not in the beam to receive. That is not a problem.

Solution: Get your dish aligned. Then check everything.

#11 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,224 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 23 March 2013 - 07:58 PM

The 4pm thing fits with what carl6 is saying. During the day the sun shining on the LNB could be heating it up and pushing a signal already on the edge (due to a misaligned dish and probably a bad LNB to compound it) into the 0s. At 4pm shade or a lowered sun angle allows it to cool off just enough to get back on the 'good' side of the edge. If you're correct that around 4pm something happens (and it has been that way for more than just a couple days) you'd presumably see no problems at night, then see problems begin sometime in the morning once the sun heated things up enough.

In my case, I had a dish that was slightly out of alignment, a bad LNB, and just to complicate things further, a couple bad jumpers between the LNB and multiswitches that would change their effect when I'd touch them in the process of changing things around during testing :eek2: You can only hope you have only one problem, when you get two it's a pain, when you get three you start thinking you've gone nuts :lol:

When I was debugging the first thing I did was get the dish aligned. It was only after I knew my signal was as good as it can get that I was able to find the issue with the jumpers - seeing different satellite/transponder pairs having signal problems after I 'touched' the cables was the clue there. After I swapped all the jumpers out and that problem went away, I still had some of the same intermittent pixellation/dropout issues on certain channels that started my original debugging effort. I discovered they were all on satellite 103ca, and since I knew everything else had been addressed, replaced or ruled out at that point it pretty much had to be the LNB that was at fault by process of elimination.




spam firewall