Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

R15 & DTV iPhone app


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Rivergoat

Rivergoat

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 01 April 2013 - 06:04 AM

I haven't used the iPhone app much; when I first tried it, how nice to program my receiver with it. Choose a movie, show, or what have you, select "record" and the unit is programmed. Well, last night I decided to try it again. Instead it throws "unsupported receiver type" at me. It's the newest version of the app (although maybe that's the problem...they removed or screwed up ability to use the R15?). Sure I restarted the iPhone, even restated to R15....

Anyway, thought I'd toss it out here and see if anyone else had any thoughts on it...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,661 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 April 2013 - 08:23 AM

None of the SD receivers or DVRs have any type of network connectivity. There is no way for the iPhone or Android apps to talk to them.

Edit: I may have misunderstood. If you are just speaking to remote booking via the website, I believe that will be fixed in the near future.

Edited by carl6, 01 April 2013 - 10:26 AM.


#3 OFFLINE   Rivergoat

Rivergoat

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:50 PM

Remote booking is indeed the most probably description. It just tells the DVR to add the program to its "to be recorded" database. It used to work, but if you say that's actually something that will be fixed in the near future, then great.

I'm still in the Stone Age...no HD....not even any high speed connectivity where I live; I must tether my iPhone for data service unless I want to install DTV's satellite internet (not in my budget right now...)

#4 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 01 April 2013 - 05:07 PM

You can program recordings remotely on the R-15 even though it doesn't connect to the internet. The command comes over the satellite.

The only thing the R-15 won't do that the R-22 and HD DVR's can do is remotely schedule a series link (prioritizer) entry.

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#5 OFFLINE   Rivergoat

Rivergoat

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 01 April 2013 - 09:44 PM

Yes, as I say, I have remotely programed in the past, but yesterday it didn't work ("unsupported receiver"). I'm hoping that's a glitch to be mended.....

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,906 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 April 2013 - 08:21 PM

Version 2.4.4 released, "Fixed an issue with setting recordings on SD DVRs".




spam firewall