Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA channel mapping


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BillM

BillM

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2005

Posted 01 April 2013 - 01:24 PM

I live in a town where the local broadcasters, for reasons unknown, "swapped transmitters" such that the channel that describes itself as "5" broadcasts as OTA "9.1", and channel "9" broadcasts as "5.1". I was hoping that by renaming the OTA station to the satellite channel it corresponds to, the Dish guide would follow, but it does not. Is there anything I can do with the OTA software to reflect these changes, or is it something only Dish can do? The broadcaster told me that they made this switch in the fall of 2009, and "all providers wee notified"; it doesn't sound like this swap was temporary; both stations are owned by the same company and their broadcast equipment is co-located.

Bill

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,706 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 April 2013 - 01:43 PM

contact dish (less likely get any result) and TVguide (probably)

#3 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 716 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 01 April 2013 - 03:51 PM

Did you try rescanning for OTA channels? That might clear it up.
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#4 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,222 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 April 2013 - 04:18 PM

DISH uses the "TSID" that each channel broadcasts along with their signal to match a received signal (regardless of RF channel the signal is received on) to the EPG data they carry on satellite. If the TSID broadcast by the station does not match the one DISH is using for the match the EPG will not be correct.

The San Fransisco channels in question and the channel used for EPG on a DISH receiver are:
5-01 KPIX TSID 0x017B, Subchannel 01 (DISH Channel 6439/8221)
9-01 KQED TSID 0x017F, Subchannel 01 (DISH Channel 6448/8226)
9-02 KQED2 TSID 0x017F, Subchannel 02 (DISH Channel 14016)
9-03 KQED3 TSID 0x017F, Subchannel 03 (DISH Channel 14017)
9-04 KQED4 TSID 0x017F, Subchannel 04 (DISH Channel 14018)

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,706 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 April 2013 - 05:28 PM

I wouldn't worried about the "swap" - each channel has own call sign (and unique number [TSID] for each station's mux);
it would be easy remember by call-sign instead of three numbers: RF channel, digital channel, virtual channel number




spam firewall