Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

iPad 3 retina display screenshots


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:23 PM

The screen resolution of the iPad 3 with retina display is 2048x1536, yet when a coworker takes a screenshot from such an iPad and I open it in Photoshop, it's only 1280x960 - exactly half size. How do we get a full 2048x1536 screenshot?

Or could the issue be app dependent?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,968 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:39 PM

http://www.tonymacx8...-2048x1536.html
"hold down top button and home button"
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 02 April 2013 - 01:43 PM

Yes that is what we are doing, but we are only getting 1280x960 screenshots. Is there a setting somewhere in the iPad that adjusts the screenshot resolution?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#4 ONLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,323 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 02 April 2013 - 02:44 PM

I just took a screen shot and emailed it to myself. It was full resolution.

How are you importing the photo?

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#5 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,576 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 02 April 2013 - 02:51 PM

I just took a screen shot and emailed it to myself. It was full resolution.

Ditto. iPad 4 screen grab is attached below. You can "save link as" to download it.

From the properties of that image, as reported by Chrome:

<img style="-webkit-user-select: none; cursor: -webkit-zoom-out;" src="http://www.dbstalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=31654&d=1364935888" width="2048" height="1536">

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0264.PNG

/steve

#6 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:04 PM

We've tried to copy and paste it into an email message as well as going to the camera roll and sharing via an email message. Is there a setting somewhere in the iPad? It's got iOS 6.1.3. Everything he's sent me has been at half of full resolution.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#7 OFFLINE   Brandon Wedgeworth

Brandon Wedgeworth

    Icon

  • Administrators
  • 563 posts
  • LocationAlabaster, AL
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:33 PM

We've tried to copy and paste it into an email message as well as going to the camera roll and sharing via an email message. Is there a setting somewhere in the iPad? It's got iOS 6.1.3. Everything he's sent me has been at half of full resolution.


The only thing I can think of is that you have it set to reduce the image size. After attaching an image in the ios email app, touch the word images (right below the addresses on the right side). This should open up the options of what size to send. I've attached screenshots to show what I'm talking about. Can't say for sure this is it, but don't know what else it could be.

Attached Thumbnails

  • ipad1.png
  • ipad2.png

DBSTalk Site Administrator

U-Verse U450 w/Whole Home DVR

Cisco ISB7500 (upgraded to 1TB) >> 32" LG LCD
Cisco ISB7000 >> 60" LG Plasma
Cisco IPN330HD 46" Sharp Aquos LCD
Cisco ISB7005 (Wireless) >> 42" Philips LCD
2Wire/Pace 3801HGV Gateway

LIVESTRONG_logo_small.png - 2 Time Cancer Survivor


#8 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 04 April 2013 - 11:19 AM

The only thing I can think of is that you have it set to reduce the image size. After attaching an image in the ios email app, touch the word images (right below the addresses on the right side). This should open up the options of what size to send. I've attached screenshots to show what I'm talking about. Can't say for sure this is it, but don't know what else it could be.

Sending them "actual size" did the trick! Thanks!
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#9 OFFLINE   Brandon Wedgeworth

Brandon Wedgeworth

    Icon

  • Administrators
  • 563 posts
  • LocationAlabaster, AL
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 04 April 2013 - 04:38 PM

Sending them "actual size" did the trick! Thanks!


Cool! Glad I could help!

DBSTalk Site Administrator

U-Verse U450 w/Whole Home DVR

Cisco ISB7500 (upgraded to 1TB) >> 32" LG LCD
Cisco ISB7000 >> 60" LG Plasma
Cisco IPN330HD 46" Sharp Aquos LCD
Cisco ISB7005 (Wireless) >> 42" Philips LCD
2Wire/Pace 3801HGV Gateway

LIVESTRONG_logo_small.png - 2 Time Cancer Survivor


#10 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,600 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 04 April 2013 - 08:48 PM

The screen resolution of the iPad 3 with retina display is 2048x1536, yet when a coworker takes a screenshot from such an iPad and I open it in Photoshop, it's only 1280x960 - exactly half size. How do we get a full 2048x1536 screenshot?

Or could the issue be app dependent?


Glad you solved your problem... I am surprised no one picked at your math, though... 1280x960 isn't exactly half size for 2048x1536.

1024x768 would be half size... but that's a moot point since you got it working.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...