Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Vip722k external hdd 1tb wd not working


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Oltimer

Oltimer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 03 April 2013 - 09:27 AM

After using my external WD 1TB HDD without any problems
It won't recognise it today . It tells me it is an unrecognizable
Devise any suggestions on how to repair ? Have a few shows
on it still boots but my 722k can't reconnect
Help

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,286 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 April 2013 - 11:15 AM

search and follow posts with a keyword "DishArc"

#3 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 905 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 03 April 2013 - 12:40 PM

What is the error message number you see in the upper right hand corner of the error box? Please let me know. Thanks.

After using my external WD 1TB HDD without any problems
It won't recognise it today . It tells me it is an unrecognizable
Devise any suggestions on how to repair ? Have a few shows
on it still boots but my 722k can't reconnect



#4 OFFLINE   Oltimer

Oltimer

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 03 April 2013 - 01:50 PM

What is the error message number you see in the upper right hand corner of the error box? Please let me know. Thanks.
Hi


Code 850 is displayed any help would be greatly appreciated . Is there anyway to save my recording?
I have seen blogs about DishArc.
Help

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,286 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 April 2013 - 02:22 PM

then grab Linux CD and start recovering ...

#6 OFFLINE   Oltimer

Oltimer

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 03 April 2013 - 02:34 PM

then grab Linux CD and start recovering ...


I've looked an find only bits an pieces about DishArc do you have
Directions or step by step how to recover and what software to buy or download. All I have is a win 7 older notebook with 160 hd
Thanks in advance
Help

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,286 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 April 2013 - 02:49 PM

not just myself, many guys did the recovery .. you don't need to install Linux on the notebook, just download Ubuntu, burn CD, boot from it; then play with it to be familiar

also you'll need two USB enclosures - one is your old EHD and new one - for recovering EHD's recordings

and read all posts how-to

#8 OFFLINE   sliderbob

sliderbob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2007

Posted 03 April 2013 - 03:07 PM

I've had similar experiences with external drives. Try to reboot the dvr-WITHOUT the external drive plugged in, and try again. After a successful boot, plug in the external drive to the front usb port-I've had problems with the rear one.




spam firewall