Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Genie question...


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rpe33

rpe33

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 05 April 2013 - 01:24 PM

Hi guys, I currently have 2 HR22's and an H25. I would like to replace the H25 for an HR24, but I was thinking of maybe getting a Genie and 2 C31's. Aside from the space saving aspect of the smaller receivers, are there any other advantages of going with the Genie setup over 3 DVR's? Would it be cheaper for me to get the Genie in regards to the monthly fees? Thanks for you help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,395 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 05 April 2013 - 02:02 PM

The primary advantage of clients over the existing DVR's is the ability to set a recording on the Genie through the client. With a DVR, you can only set a recording on the DVR that you are watching.

There is no monthly cost savings if you replace the DVR's with clients.

If you keep the DVR's, you will need to have your dish and/or your multiswitch upgraded. You will need a non-SWM dish and a SWM-16 multiswitch since you will have 9 tuners.

#3 OFFLINE   rpe33

rpe33

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2011

Posted 05 April 2013 - 02:49 PM

Ok, so I guess I'll just go with the HR24 to replace the H25 then. Thanks!

#4 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,395 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:07 PM

I wasn't suggesting that. I'd replace the H25 with a Genie and keep the two HR22's.

DirecTV will take care of changing your dish/multiswitch setup.

#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,557 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 April 2013 - 08:43 PM

IMHO, I would never replace an HDDVR with a client. I see no benefit
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   Volatility

Volatility

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 436 posts
Joined: May 22, 2010

Posted 05 April 2013 - 09:06 PM

IMHO, I would never replace an HDDVR with a client. I see no benefit


why would anyone want to do such a thing? blasphemy!!! lol.

#7 OFFLINE   ts7

ts7

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2011

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:22 AM

With a DVR, you can only set a recording on the DVR that you are watching.


You can also set recordings, choosing which DVR, online.

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,557 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:54 AM

why would anyone want to do such a thing? blasphemy!!! lol.


that was the OP question. I am just giving my opinion!!!!
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 April 2013 - 08:38 AM

I would say the other main advantage of using Clients is that you can maintain your Series List and ToDo List on the Genie via the Clients.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,557 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 April 2013 - 09:07 AM

I would say the other main advantage of using Clients is that you can maintain your Series List and ToDo List on the Genie via the Clients.

- Merg


I rather have the "inconvenience" of an HDDVR
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,239 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:29 PM

IMHO, I would never replace an HDDVR with a client. I see no benefit


Agreed, I'd much rather have a DVR than a client.

Rich

#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:32 PM

Agreed, I'd much rather have a DVR than a client.

Rich

If you happen to move around between rooms/TVs, a client can do things a DVR won't.
A.K.A VOS

#13 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,239 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 06 April 2013 - 01:10 PM

If you happen to move around between rooms/TVs, a client can do things a DVR won't.


Everything except record content. I joined D* and found DVRs, had no idea they existed before that. We do move from room to room and nobody complains. Any exercise is good... :lol:

Rich

#14 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:28 PM

Everything except record content. I joined D* and found DVRs, had no idea they existed before that. We do move from room to room and nobody complains. Any exercise is good... :lol:

Rich

I actually wasn't referring to recorded content. Live TV and moving rooms was more to the point, as not everything I watch needs to be recorded.
Turn off one and move to another and can even start from the beginning in some cases.
A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   n3vino

n3vino

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 364 posts
  • LocationLeon Valley(San Antonio), Texas
Joined: Oct 02, 2011

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:22 PM

So then you can't set a recording from an HR24 to a Genie and vice versa? But can you watch a recording from a Genie on an HR24 and vice versa? If you have an HR24 and a Genie, can you set and watch recordings from an H25 to both the Genie and HR24?

1 HDR 34

1 HDR 24-500
2 HD 25's
Slimline Dish 3LNB
Whole Home DVR

 

Epa, Epa, Andale, Andale, Arriba, Arriba, Eeeha


#16 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:23 PM

So then you can't set a recording from an HR24 to a Genie and vice versa? But can you watch a recording from a Genie on an HR24 and vice versa?

Correct
A.K.A VOS

#17 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,557 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:15 PM

Turn off one and move to another and can even start from the beginning in some cases.


This is what commercials were made for. Watching the ball game on my HR24 in the DEN, commercial break, move to the HR34 in the master Bedroom. :lol:
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#18 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:33 PM

This is what commercials were made for. Watching the ball game on my HR24 in the DEN, commercial break, move to the HR34 in the master Bedroom. :lol:

With your setup, you need to have them recording, or you'll miss part of the game if you take a "pit stop" on the way.

Genie and client means it can be an "extended pit stop", and it doesn't need to be recorded.
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   Volatility

Volatility

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 436 posts
Joined: May 22, 2010

Posted 06 April 2013 - 08:07 PM

that was the OP question. I am just giving my opinion!!!!

I was actually agreeing with you in that I also see no benefit in doing so.

#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,557 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 April 2013 - 08:51 PM

With your setup, you need to have them recording, or you'll miss part of the game if you take a "pit stop" on the way.


It takes me 2.5 seconds to move and another 30 seconds to turn on the gear. commercial breaks are usually 3 minutes long. Plenty of time
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall